We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jemma
New York City, New York

Wine country favourite

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 21, 2023via mobile
Pros
Adore the rooms, super peaceful, considered decor, really comfortable
Excellent front desk staff
Beautiful grounds & views
Great gym
Excellent food throughout
Truly relaxing stay
By far the best hotel we’ve stayed in wine country and we’ve tried a lot

Cons
Wish the pool area was larger for the size of the resort. It can feel cramped.
Would love if the pool had a poolside restaurant and/ or bar instead of the only option being to eat on your sun lounger
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil, responded to this review
Responded Aug 15, 2023
Dear cassidyjem,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as a frequent visitor to Napa Valley!

We have additional seating next to the Pool Bar and hope you'll be able to enjoy dining at a table during your next visit.

Thank you,
Bradley Reynolds
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$629
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$635
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$464
  • Hotels.com
    C$635
4.0 km from Auberge du Soleil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$583
  • eDreams
5.2 km from Auberge du Soleil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premium Room
C$569
C$501
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.8 km from Auberge du Soleil
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Lillie Langtree Room at the Inn St Helena
C$559
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.0 km from Auberge du Soleil
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rutherford
Reviews (1,068)
Filter reviews
1,068 results
Traveller rating
908
79
45
15
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
908
79
45
15
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the valley napa valley main restaurant sculpture garden wine country wine tasting beautiful property mercedes spa suite concierge luxury anniversary patio fireplace massage valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,068 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2023 via mobile

Despite numerous up and comers in an area that has exploded with fine restaurants and hotels, somehow Auberge has remained the gold standard in the Napa Valley. Ask any knowledgeable local what is the best hotel in the area, and almost uniformly you will still get the same answer you would have heard 25 years ago, Auberge. And with good reason.

We were upgraded to a valley suite and immediately upon arrival you notice that everything just feels like it is in the right place. . the sitting area with the couch and fridge are framed by an ethereal outdoor space and view. The bedroom is timelessly well appointed and even the bathroom flooded with natural light. In addition to the bed being incredibly comfortable, everything from the charging stations to the closets and dressers were well situated and sizable. Nothing flashy, just white oak and lovely muted colors.

I wouldn't be surprised if the rooms looked exactly the same when they opened the property and somehow the whole property and the rooms still look perfectly up to date today. In fact, we were told that some of the rooms had recently been upgraded and yet we had no idea if ours was one of them. That says it all. It just looked great.

The service is also impeccable. From the valet who showed us to our room to the one made thoughtful suggestions for a run or hike to the fast and attentive service at the restaurant for breakfast to the housekeeping staff, the service was top notch.

We also wish we had utilized the Mercedes' they have sitting around for use by guests as well!

Our one complaint which is why there is an asterisk was the small gym. If you don't use the gym, the pool is beautiful as was the service there. But the "fitness center" was not only a bit run down but far too small for the property. It has a nice combination of indoor and outdoor space that years ago when only a handful of folks used a fitness center, was likely ample. But now just about every time we went during our four days (we went every day) it was somewhere between a bit claustrophobic to uncomfortably packed. Getting access to a Peleton bike was competitive and there was only one sought after bench for use in the same compact area where someone else might be stretching. The gym could be stressful during an otherwise stress free experience.

Bottom line Auberge is still the cult wine region's cult hotel and deservedly so (just maybe take the gorgeous run along the vines on the extension of Rutherford Hill road below the property instead of battling for equipment in the fitness center!). We will definitely be going back.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank maddeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2023

Dear Maddeline,

Thank you for the kind words on your stay and sharing them here. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your view and the amenities available. I hope to welcome you for a return visit and to utilize our complimentary Mercedes vehicles. If you enjoy a class setting, I would recommend attending one of our daily complimentary wellness classes available in La Pagode each morning, but understand when equipment at the gym is preferred.

I look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Bradley Reynolds
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2023 via mobile

This is a great place to stay to relax and use as a base when visiting the Napa Valley. The customer service was excellent as was the accommodation, facilities and food. The bar and restaurant have an comprehensive cellar/wine list, with many wines available by the glass. I would highly recommend staying here and willl definitely stay here again next time we visit Napa

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank N7391XCcharlesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2023

Dear N7391XCcharlesc,

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our location mid-valley. Thank you for the kind words on your stay, and dining with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the wine list, and will share your words with our Director of Wine and team.

I look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Bradley Reynolds
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2023 via mobile

We had a brief one-night stay during unfortunate grey, rainy weather in June 2023, so we didn’t get to make full use of everything we would have liked, like the pools, spa and tennis courts. What we did see was very impressive: the rooms and grounds were in great condition, the staff were all courteous and personable, the amenities were generous and the food quality was good. Wish we had the opportunity to explore further!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dave87fez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2023

Dear dave87fez,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Auberge du Soleil while in Napa Valley. While the weather may not have cooperated, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and seeing the amenities. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for a return visit and hopefully we'll have warm, sunny weather to make use of the pool, and tennis courts.

Best regards,
Bradley Reynolds
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2023 via mobile

We were visiting for our anniversary - they took care of us in every way possible!

The room was fantastic, with hints of Arabian and Oriental design features. It was roomy and comfortable.

The bed was very good and the bathroom was spacious and well appointed.

The views were exquisite!

Room tip: If you aren’t happy with the water flow out of the main shower head, try the handheld shower head, it has a more normal flow.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2023

Dear Jeff,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Napa Valley. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us.

I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Bradley Reynolds
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2023

Oh my, this place is still so, so gorgeous. We returned for our silver wedding anniversary after first visiting on our honeymoon. We are definitely not going to wait another 5 years...
Everything is so perfect. We particularly enjoyed the yoga/Tai Chi classes and the spa with its DIY sauna/plunge pool experience (inc complimentary glass of fizz!).
All the staff are incredibly friendly, the food is good and the grounds just invite you to wander round them and relax.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank louisvuitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2023

Dear louisvuitton,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Auberge du Soleil to celebrate such a wonderful occasion. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your time at The Spa. Thank you for the kind words.

I look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Bradley Reynolds
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews