We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they can be surly if you're late”
Review of Caymus Vineyards

Caymus Vineyards
Ranked #7 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manila, Phils
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“they can be surly if you're late”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

aside from that, the wines were great. great views, patio.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cat2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    71
    33
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
239 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great tasting of great wine”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stopped into the Caymus Winery without appointment and enjoyed their standard flight tasting. Received outstanding service with explanations of each wine (and some extra pours). Thoroughly enjoy this wine and the tasting. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank bemison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
914 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Great tasting”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We had an appt for a tasting durnig Valentine's weekend. Took the wife. This was a very nice experance. The price is a bit much for the tasting, but you get a ton on info about the wine and you are tasting great wine. I would suggest it. We did have a driver for the day. Its important. I knew where to go, but did not want to drive myself. You must have an appt. call a couple weeks in advance.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Terrific wine tasting”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We go to Napa annually and try to get to several, mostly premium wineries. We've been to Caymus before and knew we would be tasting wonderful wines. But this tasting exceeded our expectation. The host was very informed about the history of the Wagner family, the winery and its wines, and Napa in general. His hosting alone would have made the visit worthwhile. But, of course, there were the wines. We started with a five year old Sauvignon Blanc that blew us away. I'm not a huge fan of this varietal and didn't know you could successfully age a Sauvignon Blanc for that long--but Caymus proved what a great winery can do. After two other very fine wines, we ended up with the Special Selection. All I can say is "Wow" and I can't wait to return.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad experience at Caymus”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Seven of us went to the Caymus vineyard for a wine tasting, not the private tasting just the tasting room for $25.00 each. I was looking forward to this tasting. The girl who did the pour barely gave you enough for one sip of wine. She was rude and unfriendly. They were a little overun from the groups that were coming out of the tours so it was crowded. Why weren't there more people working there? Another person come to help her but he ended up running the cash register and was not available to pour. The women next to me, not with our group,someone who just came out of a group tour asked for a taste of one wine that she intended to buy a bottle of and they said no. What kind of winery says no when you are going to purchase the bottle. Our group did not like any of the wines they poured and thought the overall experience was not worth the $25.00. We went to many other winerys over our three days in Napa and had wonderful experiences in all of them but Caymus. Thumbs down in my book.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelwithKCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caymus Vineyards also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
Oakville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Caymus Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing