We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, old town Sacramento”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
King George, VA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place, old town Sacramento”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A nice older building built when "townhouses" were where the well off lived. High ceilings, nice facilities including a nice large kitchen. If you like hostels, this is a good one!

Room Tip: There are single-gender dorm rooms, and private family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    36
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
19
51
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The building is impressive, the hostel is well equipped and the service was outstanding. No matter what the query or who was on duty our many requests for information or assistance were all dealt with competently and cheerfully.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Having stayed in hostels many years ago, I wasn't completely naive as to what to expect, but the closet (yes, closet!) I was given to sleep in was billed as a "private room" and I paid the best part of $100 for the privilege. The closet was right next to the men's communal bathroom and shower area -- not the choicest of rooms for a female traveling alone. Why I was put here, I have no idea. The hostel was not full. And, I had to traipse to the other side of the house to get to the bathroom -- that was absolutely devoid of any comforts (soap, anyone?) at all. Add to this, as an earlier reviewer noted, the hostel staff were indeed like "androids": I could not get a smile out of any of them. There was supposed to be wifi, but I couldn't get it to connect (and forget trying to get any assistance from the stone-faced hotel personnel). Parking was good, but that's about the only good thing I have to say about the experience. I will never return.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you sign anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I spent two nights at the Hosteling International hostel in Sacramento and was impressed on several levels. First off, the grandeur of the building and the care that went into its restoration is immediately evident. Unlike many hostels, this one doesn't have a "party" feel to it, but instead is a very comfortable place to stay when exploring Sacramento. In the evening, the sitting rooms lend themselves to conversations and enjoyable interactions between the guests. The hostel's manager clearly works hard to make sure the facilities are pleasant for the guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This is a great historic preservation building not uncommon in Sacramento however the staff act like androids without a lick of personality or accommodation. Day one was 90+ degrees with no air conditioning, open windows at night, mosquitoes and noise from outside. Day two they turned the air on but it doesn't seem to cycle on and off to maintain a consistent temperature so it is absolutely freezing in here. I'm well traveled and had hoped to recapture the feel of my backpacking trip through Europe as a kid. I would probably overlook the climate issues, noise and even mosquitoes had I seen a single smile from the staff throughout my stay. For the price of a single room you are much better off at Motel 6. What a disappointment!

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Very clean, quiet accommodation for very low cost in convenient location! The biggest difficulty for me, a midwesterner, is waking at 5 am and wanting to make my instant coffee right away and watch the news -- kitchen & TV room don't open until 7/7:30 am. Staff helpfully directed me to a coffee shop just a block away. A small free breakfast is nice addition. Internet is $2 cash/$3 credit card for 20 min. Printers, included in the charge, are available for boarding passes. Kitchen is clean and well appointed. Seems to be kind of a new operation, still finding out what is necessary in the way of rules. Easy walk to Amtrak Station & city bus to and from the airport. Mall shops & restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Me and my partner like something different and historic so we picked this hostel for a one-night stopover. This is a beautiful and stunning building with beautifully restored original features in the communal areas on the ground floor. I could hardly believe that I was staying in a hostel!

We stayed in a private room. It was fine, perfectly comfortable for one night although I would probably have liked a bigger room with more storage facilities had we been staying any longer. We did not have a bathroom but the communal ones were fine and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and a good source of knowledge about the local area and the hostel itself.

The hostel location is an easy walk away from the downtown and old town areas and is in a safe area. If you like luxury and modern facilities then this isn't for you but if you like to experience something unique and from the past, it's definitely worth a stay.

And finally, to recap on one of the reviews earlier, there were definitely no bedbugs in our room!

Room Tip: Dorms can be very quiet in low season
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,569 reviews
0.8 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
1.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.5 km away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hostelling International Sacramento

Property: Hostelling International Sacramento
Address: 925 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814-1804
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International Sacramento 1.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a rare opportunity to relax in the comfortable elegance of a beautifully restored 19th century Victorian mansion. one of California's best travel deals and America's most unique hostel. The 1885 mansion features lavish sitting rooms, stained glass skylights, elegantly carved stairways and chandeliers, plus amenities including a fully equipped guest kitchen, game room, outdoor patio, internet access, on-site laundry and parking. Located five blocks from the Capitol and six blocks from Golden1 Center Arena. Private and shared rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostelling International Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacramento International Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing