We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, close to CalExpo and shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Ranked #27 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, close to CalExpo and shopping”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is a nice hotel, typical of the Marriott class. The location is good for what it's next to, but in and of itself, the property is clean but unremarkable. The room we had on the second floor of a three floor hotel was large and clean, though there was some apparently unremovable spatter staining a bit of the wallpaper in the bathroom. We had a room with two queen beds, and the mattresses and bedding were superb and very comfortable. The room is equipped with a mini-refrigerator, a coffee maker, a workdesk with internet, and a nice big flat screen television. The bathroom had a very large counter for the sink, which is nice when you have a larger family group. I had forgotten to pack our shampoo, but the desk clerk was readily available and happily provided extras.
We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice and clean, and I noted a fitness room as well. Breakfast is provided - a bit better than pure Continental, as there was a Marriott-branded waffle iron and Jimmy Dean sandwiches in addition to oatmeal, pastries, fruit, and yogurt. The coffee was also very good, and was set out in the attractive lobby all day. There were also complimentary cookies at the front desk during check in. (Yes, I am food-motivated.).
They had provided the proper number of towels and washcloths for our party of four, and we didn't need to engage the staff for anything other than the toiletries we needed.
The Fairfield doesn't have its own restaurant, but is right next door to the Courtyard, which does.
There is one note of caution I want to offer: there is an active train track very near by, and several trains went by during the night. This can cause a problem if you are a light sleeper. The hotel did have complimentary ear plugs in the room already, however. Everything else about the hotel, which looked to be moderately booked, was extremely quiet.
I would definitely stay here again the next time I need a hotel room in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbunny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    58
    32
    5
    4
See reviews for
43
35
21
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Great breakfast at this hotel. Good sized room, comfy, no complaints. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just 8 min. from downtown area. Friendly staff very helpful provided maps and other info. Nice Breakfast. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anomous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
322 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I’ve stayed at this Fairfield Inn several times on business and have never been disappointed. For those who have never stayed at a Fairfield Inn before, this hotel might still have a familiar feel when you walk in – picture a Courtyard by Marriott with slightly downgraded fixtures. The lobby, hallways and rooms are otherwise quite similar.

Service at the front desk was cordial and efficient. My room was clean, spacious and featured a flat screen TV and free wireless Internet. The first time I sat on the bed I was initially concerned about its comfort, but ended up having a great sleep. The biggest downside was the configuration of the rest room – you needed to be a bit of a contortionist when reaching for the toilet paper.

The breakfast area was clean and well-maintained; available items (aside from the usual "continental" fare) included waffles, hard boiled eggs, fruit cups and yogurt, along with microwavable breakfast sandwiches and quiches. This hotel is located deep within a commercial area, so if you don’t have a car the only restaurant serving dinner within immediate walking distance is at the Courtyard by Marriott next door. If you have a car, there are several take-out style eateries within a two-minute drive; sit-down, table service restaurants are a bit further.

If you’re planning to attend the Cal Expo or have business in the area, this is a reasonably priced property with few frills that is worthy of your consideration.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Convenient to downtown without the high cost. Clean and comfortable rooms. Would stay there again. Pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahawus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We arrived late after a long trip from Southern CA. The staff were welcoming and we slept well. Very comfortable beds! Loads of pillows. Love that. Some people had mentioned being awakened by a train. The sound of the train was very faint and I find the sound of a train soothing. In fact the room was actually too quiet. I have tinnitus and like to have white noise like a fan in the background. Breakfast included a variety of options. I especially liked the waffles and coffee. I've been to some hotels in which the breakfast rooms were not set up with human traffic in mind. Everybody ends up crowded in the corner trying to get their coffee and toast. This particular hotel is smartly laid out. We will definitely stay again since our daughter is attending Sac State.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed at this Fairfield Inn for three nights while attending a convention in Sacramento. Although this was a busy time, all of the staff was plesant and helpful while checking us in and during our stay. The hotel was very clean, as was our room. We enjoyed the variety of foods that were offered at breakfast. There was the usual bagels, waffles, toast and cold cereal, but also eggs, yogurt, cheese sticks and microwavable egg sandwiches. The location was convenient to eating out as well as shopping. The grounds were quiet, as was our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 km away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
#10 of 81 in Sacramento
477 reviews
0.1 km away
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo
1.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
2.8 km away
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
2.7 km away
Arden Star Hotel
Arden Star Hotel
#44 of 81 in Sacramento
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo

Property: Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Address: 1780 Tribute Rd, Sacramento, CA 95815-4402
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Fairfield Sacramento
Sacramento Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing