We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait To Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband found the Wine Country Inn online, and we loved our three days there. The hotel has lovely rooms, a generous breakfast and a beautiful pool, where I spam laps one morning. Local wineries pour wines every afternoon, and the owners put out appetizers to go along. We had lovely pre-dinner conversations with guests and really felt like the staff cared about our experience at the hotel. They even stock headphones in the room if you are bothered by the noise from the adjacent winery!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillytraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I've said it before and I'll say it again, I love the Wine Country Inn. All the rooms I have stayed at (3 times) are spacious, comfortable, charming and spotless! The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay so very pleasant, they truly care! The free restaurant shuttle is an added bonus! I will be back soon!

Room Tip: If your budget alloes, go for the cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winedinetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I rarely, if ever, return to an inn or hotel on the theory that the world is too big not to try something new. This Inn, however, is likely to be an exception for me! We arrived late on a Friday night during a torrential rainstorm. We were greeted by a friendly staffer. Our room, a private bungalow, was huge and equipped with a fireplace. Although it didn't generate a lot of heat, it helped throw off the chill in the room until the heat kicked in.
I awoke the next day and walked out to our private patio overlooking acres of luscious grapevines glowing in the morning sun. I was so happy to see during my morning jog that the WCI is situated in between two fabulous wineries. Duckhorn on one side and Freemark Abbey on the other.
Breakfast was delicious with options from healthy to decadent. Evening wine and appetizers in a cozy living room like setting.
We opted for the package that included in room massage and mud bath. Lisa, the masseuse, really worked me over! One of the best 90 minutes ever!!
The room was clean. Bathroom was huge. Loved the shower with three heads. I wanted to stay curled up on the large window seat forever but I finished my book - and it was time for more of the Valley's finest.
Free shuttle to town is a nice touch too. Very nice and romantic.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The staff at the Wine Country Inn sincerely want your stay to be memorable. They greet you warmly, serve wine and substantial hors d'oeuvres every evening, feed you a bountiful breakfast, and offer helpful suggestions about activities. The public areas are comfortable and invite conversations with other guests. Special events, such as honeymoons and anniversaries, are celebrated with romantic surprises.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our king room had a fireplace, small balcony, comfortable reading chairs, and lovely views over the vineyards and hills. A hot tub and pool are a short walk from the main building through terraced gardens. Free WiFi is available.

Our only disappointment was that the promised ride to dinner was canceled because several staff members called in sick.

Room Tip: Specify fireplace, whirlpool tub, or view if any of those is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The Wine Country Inn is on an amazing piece of property nestled in Napa. Honestly, we could not have stayed in a more beautiful location. Driving up to the property is breathtaking. The rooms are older, but well maintained and clean. The decor is quaint and "country" with quilts on the beds. The room is spacious, but I would have liked more room for the bath area. No tv's... But that's not what you come to Napa for, is it? The hot tub was a great way to spend the evening after dinner. Tip: splurge on a room with a private hot tub :) The wine and cheese socials each afternoon are a fun way to meet guests and get ideas for winery visits and dinner plans. Breakfast is amazing! Fresh fruit, granola, waffles, egg casseroles, juices, scones, etc. - the gentleman preparing it and greeting the guests in the morning is so pleasant!

The rest of the staff is nice as well. Deniese (a longtime manager) and her daughter (who basically grew up at the Inn) have a lot of knowledge of the area and can steer you in the right direction. Deniese is very down to earth, and will joke with you and tease. It's not "professional"...but be prepared to be treated like "family". Hugs all around at check out.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melis1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Wow! This place has beautiful gardens to stroll in, and had lovely views of a vineyward. You can walk to the Silverado trail amidst vineyards. Their breakfast is superb, I looked forward to just that. Also their wine and cheese afternoons were great. We met some fun fellow guests and had good conversations over some very fine cheese and wine. The service is impeccable and friendly. Deniese at the front office was very warm and genuinely welcoming. No phoniness here. Our room was exceptionally beautiful, we had a jacuzzi tub and a balcony overlooking the vineyard, but I think we had taken one of the nicest rooms. The rooms are country style but it seems very slighly outdated, but I think its beautiful regardless, and maybe its the country touch.

Room Tip: room 20/24 have incredible views from the main room and bath. cottages are better but more pricey. b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Selected the Wine Country Inn as a girlfriend get away during a recent visit. Spend quite a bit of time searching and we were very excited for our stay. We were both very dissapointed with our accomodations - especially for the price! The room was very tired looking. The shower curtain was drooping and saggy, the bath was in need of a paint job and incredibly cold and sparce. Used the sleep sofa and had a challenging night's sleep - very uncomfortable!!. Breakfast was just okay. Not at all what we were expecting for the price. The positives - the shuttle was very nice. Hearing a rooster in the distance added charm. Location is good.
We would not return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dznr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
5.1 km away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
18.7 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,071 reviews
18.3 km away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,412 reviews
31.2 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,063 reviews
25.3 km away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: $377 - $1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing