We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooo Goooood!!!!”
Review of Market

Market
Reserve with OpenTable
Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spring and Adams
Description: Market Restaurant offers an elegant yet comfortable dining experience. Located on Main Street in St. Helena, the historical building features exposed stone walls and an antique bar dating back to the turn of the century. The menu features American classics with a fresh seasonal approach and the wine list offers a diverse selection of wines to complement Chef's creations, with an emphasis on wines from local Napa Valley vintners. In addition to a locally inspired and reasonably priced wine list, Market never charges corkage.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Cozy, charming restaurant. We had a large group and were seated pretty close to our reservation time. Our server, Alfie, was energetic and friendly. He had some great suggestions and he was attentive. Definitely first class service. It's been 4 days since our dinner there and I still can't stop thinking about the delicious crab cake. Best I've ever had. Some other top notch items, the lobster rolls, the chopped salad, the baby back ribs which fall right off the bone and the adult macaroni and cheese. We also indulged in the butterscotch pudding. Sounds crazy but it was fabulous. Market may have just become our new favorite restaurant in the valley. The combination of service, food and atmosphere, just perfect.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jlluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback! We so appreciate your kind words across the board. We're delighted to hear our crab cake was the "best you've ever had!" You certainly made wonderful choices. We'll look forward to seeing you much more.

Best,
Ernesto, Chef/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 132 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2017

We had a large family dinner at Market on a Saturday night and it was wonderful!! The staff was excellent, we never felt rushed, and the food was delicious - would highly recommend!

Thank Marietta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Thanks so much for sharing, Marietta! We're so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We'll look forward to seeing you again.

Best,
Ernesto, Chef/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017

Last time we were in Napa Valley, our innkeepers recommended Market. They indicated that they frequently eat there, as do a lot of locals. So we had breakfast there at that time. It was so memorable that we ate dinner there this time we visited the area. And so glad we did! The menu is very innovative, the food is fantastic, and the staff who work there are absolutely top-notch -- professional, knowledgeable, helpful and personable. We will definitely go back next time we are in the area and we highly recommend it to others.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lovemytravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Thanks so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you decided to join us once again! We so appreciate the recommendation of both you and your innkeepers. We're already looking forward to next time!

Best,
Ernesto, Chef/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Market had a nice crowd on a Tuesday night. We were recommended by new friends we met at our BnB that was walking distance to the restaurant. Crab cakes were excellent and we heard the meat loaf and pasta were great, too!

Thank Joanne43081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Hi there. Thanks for sharing! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have you back!

Best,
Ernesto, Chef/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017

We all learn how the food business in Napa is competitive and only the good restaurants keep working. Market has a great reputation. It is a charming place with very good service. But the food was not as great as we expected. I was very happy with my scallops, but my partner had a just Ok Caesar Salad and had to return the chicken vegetable soup because the amount of pepper on it was unbearable, big mistake for a good kitchen.

Thank paulo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing