We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Authentic”
Review of Valenti & Co

Valenti & Co
Reserve with OpenTable
Valenti & Co is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in San Anselmo
Price range: US$20 - US$60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Farm-fresh authentic Northern Italian restaurant from chef Duilio Valenti and his family. Freshness is what it's all about here and chef Valenti makes extensive use of local and Italian products, and even grows several of his own herbs, vegetables and fruits. "I cook and eat here every day" says Chef Valenti, "so I only want the best and most wholesome". The wine list is crafted around the cuisine and features small production Northern Italian and California wines some of which you'll be thrilled to discover. On any given day at least 20 wines are offered by the glass and on-tap from $6 and up.
Reviewed November 7, 2018

The owner of Valenti, a native Italian, still cooks in the kitchen every night. I've never had a bite of food at this neighborhood favorite that wasn't delicious. The staff remember your name and are generous with a terrific wine list. The place feels both family run and yet elevated. The menu doesn't change a lot, but the dishes are clearly taught by hand by Nonna. Our go-to date restaurant. My husband orders the Pappardelle, which is both rich and brightened by the rosemary, pretty much every time we go. That is, unless he gets the Gnocchi, also amazing, or they have Amatriciana as a special. I love any of their salads followed by the meatball appetizer, or the cod.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank natashainnocenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 102 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2018

This family run Italian restaurant is excellent. We were taken here for dinner by my cousin, who is a regular. The place is very popular so we had to wait a little while for our table, which was fine since it gave me a chance to enjoy the lively vibe. The waiters all very polite and friendly and ever so efficient. The food was amazing. Super fresh and delicious and so well presented. It was a most enjoyable evening and I would definitely visit again. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LOUZO L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

This was a return visit to this exceptional restaurant. Both of us ordered the baked crusted halibut which was served on a bed of spinach surrounded by a wonderful lemon and olive oil sauce. The taste was amazing. Wife also enjoyed a bowl of squash soup with sour cream and a hazelnut ice cream dessert. Service was friendly and attentive. Noise level not at all bad; however we dined early, shortly after opening. Not sure they have off-street parking but we found a slot right in front of the door. Prices a bit on the high side for fine dining; $30 and up per entrée. Caution: only a somewhat small plaque on the building wall identifies the restaurant, so drive slowly and watch for the plaque.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

As previously, great staff, beautiful tomato salad and good vino. Love the raised seats opposite the open kitchen.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank bd1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2018

We eat here fairly regularly as it is a friendly neighborhood place with food that is a cut above. The pastas are homemade, the specials are great and the rabbit dish is wonderful. The service is friendly and the staff is very knowledgeable about what they offer. We love sitting at the bar and chatting with Bianca; she always steers us right re food and wine choices.
We took a friend from out of town to watch the Warriors game a few months back and she was a bit shocked (delightedly) to find that Valenti was not the sports bar she was imagining and that the food was SO great (considering that you can watch the game there too!).

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mcbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valenti & Co also viewed

 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Anselmo, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 

Been to Valenti & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing