We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport hotel near San Francisco that's real value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

As an airport hotel, location is the primary aim combined with a clean, safe, & value for money.  Free Internet, basic continental break, & free parking close to the return car rental center at San Francisco Airport complex.  Lots of places to eat nearby.  We paid $84 for 2x double beds, so if you're not after plush hotel & just need a place to stay until you fly out, then is hotel is for you. Finally, did I mention a free shuttle TO the airport?

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard Rico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Clean and relatively cheap
Centrally located on El Camino Real - easy to go to SFO and San Mateo

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank saiku88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We only stayed at this hotel one night in between flights.We chose this hotel based on the location and free shuttle to/from the airport, The hotel was clean, bed was comfy, staff was polite and the shuttle left on time in the morning for our 6am flight. I have no complaints

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great place! they treat you like family. It is a fairly new hotel, so it is clean, well situated. We were able to walk to eat Chinesse, Filipino, Mexican, Rib bar-b-q, Brazilian, home made food, fast food, and more, within walking distance, Citibank/Bank of America, pharmacy and more, close by, all between 5 minutes walking. Downtown San Bruno also within 5 minutes. You will get a fair continental breakfast, no parking fees, no internet fees. In addition, you have a microwave and small refri in your room and free shuttle to/from the SFO airport.

Room Tip: Since it is situated on the front of El Camino Real Road, you may want to ask for a room on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasPTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have stay on this hotel for the 5th times during few years on my vacation. I just recently stay for a week on my vacation with the family. I was so disappointed during this time. The first room i check in RM308 smoke detector keeps beeping, exchange a different RM 315 the vent keep knocking all night, went to the front desk advise them about the condition they refuse to change a room and no manager on duty during my week staying. Front desk has a nasty attitude toward customer. Room is descent. Definitely wont come back to this hotel again with my family.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay in this hotel, I recommend to stay on 3rd floor due to Breakfast area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chichala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We needed a hotel for an overnight stay between flights. We chose this for location, price, and the fact that they provide a shuttle to the airport.

We arrived in the morning, and the shuttle pickup was quick. When we arrived, a room was available. We checked in and then used the shuttle to go back to the airport to catch the BART into the city. After a day of sightseeing, we took BART back to the airport. We got back to the airport during rush hour, so the shuttle pickup was slow. But that was due to traffic; it wasn't the hotel's fault. If you can time your use of the shuttle to avoid rush hour, it will go faster. Another review commented on the rooms at the back near some houses. We had one of those rooms, but it didn't matter. We close the drapes at night anyhow.The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom had been updated recently. A nice touch was the use of a local source (from San Francisco) for bathroom toiletries.

The room had a cube fridge, a microwave, and a coffee maker. We only used the coffee maker, but for a longer stay the other appliances would come in handy. The continental breakfast was good.

If I had to list negatives, I would say that the room was a bit short of furniture. It was a large room, with space for a small table and chairs or an armchair, but neither of these was there. That's the only minus I can think of.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Convenient to the airport. We were looking for a place to stay one night to catch an early flight back to Texas. We did not have a car so the airport shuttle was very important to us. We had a room with 2 queen size beds. My husband loves Columbia coffee and there was a coffee maker in the room that he could make coffee as he wanted. They were very generous and provided more when he had consumed the 3 packets in the room when we checked in. The staff were all friendly and very courteous. The room and all of the common areas were very clean and up to date. With the security cameras on site, we felt very safe. The room was also very quiet. Would stay here again if we were in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.6 km away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.1 km away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
0.8 km away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range: $154 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing