We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alan”
Review of Slapfish

Slapfish
Description: Slapfish is an honest flippin’ seafood brand serving craveable, well-sourced seafood in a fast casual setting. Slapfish brings a truly refreshing and honest approach to sourcing and a fresh, exciting menu that rotates daily. As the only fast casual seafood restaurant providing guests with transparency and authenticity, Slapfish’s philosophy is rooted in passion and purpose, with the goal of creating meaningful experiences for guests and saving the oceans one Lobster Grinder at a time. The brand currently has 14 units open, with over 150 more locations in development both domestically and internationally. As the nation’s fastest growing seafood restaurant and largest fast casual seafood concept, Slapfish has received numerous accolades, most recently coming in at number 11 in the “2018 Fast Casual Top 100 Movers & Shakers” list. Chef Gruel has also received top honors in Restaurant Hospitality’s “18 Innovators to Watch in 2017”, and in Nation’s Restaurant News’ “2017 Power List.
Restaurant details
Description: Slapfish is an honest flippin’ seafood brand serving craveable, well-sourced seafood in a fast casual setting. Slapfish brings a truly refreshing and honest approach to sourcing and a fresh, exciting menu that rotates daily. As the only fast casual seafood restaurant providing guests with transparency and authenticity, Slapfish’s philosophy is rooted in passion and purpose, with the goal of creating meaningful experiences for guests and saving the oceans one Lobster Grinder at a time. The brand currently has 14 units open, with over 150 more locations in development both domestically and internationally. As the nation’s fastest growing seafood restaurant and largest fast casual seafood concept, Slapfish has received numerous accolades, most recently coming in at number 11 in the “2018 Fast Casual Top 100 Movers & Shakers” list. Chef Gruel has also received top honors in Restaurant Hospitality’s “18 Innovators to Watch in 2017”, and in Nation’s Restaurant News’ “2017 Power List.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Small, adequate menu. Had a citrus shrimp salad. A nice portion of shrimp but, needed more lettuce. Wife had garlic shrimp with pineapple. Very tasty and excellent portion. Soda selection was craft style. Quick food preparation and service.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 23 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2018

While shopping at the Outlet Mall we stopped into Snapfish for a quick bite. The menu has tacos, salads, lobster rolls, etc... Overall it's a pretty extensive menu with lots of shrimp and fish choices. The grilled fish tacos were quite delicious as well as the sautéed vegetables. The Smothered French Fries were shared with mixed reviews. The fries are covered in New England Clam Chowder and topped with Bacon. I added some Old Bay seasoning and loved them. My wife was not a fan.

Service was pleasant and quick with no problems. We were there during a busy time and at first the line turned me off, but we got through it quickly and the food was out to our table within about 5 minutes of ordering.

Prices were good and definitely a good place to eat when at the Outlets.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bubuflu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2018

Today was my second visit to the San Clemente Slapfish. The first time I ordered fish and chips. They did not have cocktail sauce. Today, I ordered a lobster roll. Lobster seemed fresh and tasty, but the serving was small. Salad was fresh. Fries were cold when the plate was served. Staff was a bit obnoxious, particularly a large young guy. This guy used the same broom that was used for sweeping food off the floor to clean seats. Lots of loud joking and goofing off among the staff. Don't know that I would return.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

A friend and I had volunteered for a disadvantaged children's fair in the morning and were deciding on a place for lunch. I suggested Slapfish because I have wanted to try it and my friend also likes fish.
It being noon, the place was busy, but the line moved fairly quickly. We took a table out in the mall courtyard and the food was delivered promptly. I had the Epic Shrimp Burrito and my friend had the Power Fish Bowl.
The burrito was loaded with good sized shrimp, flavored rice, fries, sauce etc. I liked it very much. My friend was very well pleased with the bowl.. It contained salmon, flavored rice, vegetables and whatnot.
It is a great place for a quick seafood meal. The service is great, and the food very good.
A large burrito with chips and sauce was $11 and the bowl was $13. Both meals were enough to satisfy your hunger.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Not super impressive but an easy go for people who like fish and/or shrimp. Lots of options in how you want your fish/shrimp - grilled, battered, fried ... there was also clam chowder available and fries on the side.

Seating space allowed for groups to eat. We went for dinner mid-week and it was pretty empty so easy to find space to eat and talk.

Lots of condiments available on the side as well, including malt vinegar and ketchup. One thing that was surprising was how big the crispy shrimp roll turned out to be! We did a comparison with the grilled shrimp and it was at least double the size because of the batter.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank imskimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slapfish also viewed

 
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Slapfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing