We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel/Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel is in a excellent location right off the freeway and walking distance to the beach. Nice small town with great shops. The hotel is very clean and offers a full breakfast. There are wonderful areas outside to lounge around and read or have a glass of wine. Our room and bathroom was good size and it also had a small couch. The balcony faced the ocean which is a few blocks away.

My only complaint is that the previous occupant must have been a smoker (smoking is allowed downstairs in the lounge area) which made the room unbearable. I had a constant headache that interrupted my sleep plus the smell of nicotine covered by Fabreze didn't help. I took medicine but it didn't seem to help. I would stay again making sure to request a room that was absolutely non smoking.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 1rmcbrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Based on many of the reviews that I had read about the Volare, I was a bit apprehensive about staying here with my mother in law on a recent visit. We had a room with an ocean view. It was spacious, clean, and quiet. This hotel has been completely renovated and it shows. I can see how some rooms might be noisy since those without an ocean view face the freeway. The pool area, for example, was very noisy. The elevator requires the swipe of a room card to access the guest room floors, offering a sense of safety. There appeared to be plenty of parking. All of the lovely San Clemente downtown shops and restaurants are an easy walk from the Volare. The only real downfall of the Volare, and it isn't much of a problem, is that the breakfast was very monotonous. During busy times, staff had a difficult time keeping it stocked. Overall all, this was a great stay and I would stay at the Volare again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

This hotel is almost complete in renovations and is easy access to freeway, pier, outlets, and many restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful. Nice continental breakfast and soon a lounge. You will find the rooms spacious, clean and the bathrooms very user friendly. I will stay here again when I am in San Clemente.

Room Tip: If you need handicap accessible this hotel is perfect. Ask for an ocean view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wayneg876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend a beach wedding in town. We were not disappointed by this Hotel. Clean room, comfortable bed and perfect peace & quiet, in a location with easy walk to Downtown and right off the I5 for access anywhere in the area. Couldn't really ask for more - other than they also added exceptionally friendly staff, well stocked free breakfast and a view of the sunset out over the ocean in the mix.
Will definitely be back to stay if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd Floor / Ocean side.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerHolgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Hotel has convenient parking and access for I-5. The rooms are pleasant, comfortable, and clean. If you a lite sleeper, I would suggest not getting a room facing the freeway, unless you like to watch cars speeding by.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BigDMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We booked the room which had a balcony and whirlpool. It was a very nice room with a view of the ocean. A close walk to restaurants and the San Clemente pier. The staff was friendly and resolved an issue I had very quickly. However if booking do not book the add on of breakfast. It has a old restaurant in the facility which they give what they call a free breakfast. Normally I don't expect much but there were no food choices and the area was dirty. I would eat elsewhere. Not what you would expect from a Holiday Inn property. But as far as location I would stay again. You will have freeway noise if you stay on the side opposite of ocean as Interstate runs behind hotel.

Room Tip: Book the third floor
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trouthook69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

This was a surprisingly quiet hotel, despite its proximity to the interstate. The staff were kind and pleasant, the location was convenient, and the price was right for us. There are many great restaurants within walking distance. I strongly recommend South of Nick's for excellent Mexican food for dinner!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank SeattleGWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
238 reviews
0.4 km away
The Patriots Boutique Motel
The Patriots Boutique Motel
#9 of 18 in San Clemente
86 reviews
2.5 km away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 111 South Avenida de la Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92672 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Clemente Resort Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range: $141 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the calming, magnificent beauty of the Pacific Ocean and the surrounding sun, fun and beachside culture at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection® Member hotel in San Clemente, CA. Our non-smoking San Clemente hotel is located in the historic downtown area of town within walking distance to the pier, beaches, boutique shops and restaurants. Nearby attractions include: Outlets at San Clemente Trestles Beach Casa Romantica Cultural Center Dana Point Harbor Mission San Juan Capistrano Invite your friends, family and colleagues to your next work or social event in one of our 3 meeting rooms, which can hold 40 people for banquets and 60 for conferences. Amenities include: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Exercise room Business center Outdoor pool Guest room amenities include a microwave, refrigerator, desk with ergonomic chair, in-room tea and coffee and flat-screen TV. Featured rooms face the Pacific Ocean; and some feature a hot tub and balcony. Let the destination reach you at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. San Clemente hotels like ours help you discover the places, moments and experiences that make each place special. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing