We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
158
92
32
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
92
32
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday innocean viewwithin walking distancerestaurants and shopslocation is greatdel marawesome staffcloser to the beachthird floorcomfortable roomsfew blockswould highly recommend this hotelan older hoteljacuzzi tubcomplimentary breakfastsouthern californiabreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 303 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018

I chose this hotel because it had a good room configuration for our party plus the price was fairly good. My room was actually two rooms. When you entered there was a smaller room with a a queen bed along with its own mini fridge, bar sink, and desk. The door closed between it and the main bedroom which had a king bed, a bigger personal fridge and a microwave. This was the only room with a TV in it. There were a TON of stations including many HBO options. I also made sure we were on the ocean view side since it was very quiet.

The lobby is cute and quiet. The rooms aren't quite as pretty. Our room had a weird smell. We ended up buying candles to make it smell better. My throat started to swell halfway into our 6 night stay. The swelling went away when we departed for another hotel. I'm guessing I was experiencing a mold allergy.

The bathroom is outdated. The shower went from hot to cold. Not fun.

The pool is right next to the freeway. So don't expect a chill pool experience!

For the price and the room layout I was satisfied. The staff were super nice.

Oh, and the breakfast is good. But they serve the same exact thing every day! EVERY DAY! It wouldn't be hard to mix up the protein once in awhile.

PROS: Good price. Good room layout. Free breakfast, parking, laundry, staff. Location to downtown and nearby restaurants.
CONS: Ocean view is far away. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean view side are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyhere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie O, Front Office Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overnight accommodations in one of our two room suites on the ocean side, and also our TV channel amenities. Thank you for your compliments regarding our lobby as well. We do want to apologize for any smell that you may have encountered in your room. We will be undergoing a full makeover in the near future, and we hope that you will visit us again, as we think you will enjoy the changes we have planned for the bathrooms and overnight rooms. Thank you also for your compliments regarding our staff and for your suggestion regarding some variety in our breakfast offerings.

Again, we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Katie O.
Front Office Manager
The Volare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018

Ocean view? I don"t think so. Average hotel at best. Way away from the beach and the water was hardly visible from our balcony ocean view room. Would not recommend to anyone. The staff was friendly but it did not make up for the fact that the exercise room was very small and the hot tub was not working.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie O, Front Office Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. We are sorry to hear that our property did not meet or exceed your expectations. We apologize that our hot tub was out of order during your stay, but we are happy to report that the issue has been resolved. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, and we do hope that in the future you would give us a second chance so that we can provide you with a superior guest experience.

Sincerely,
Katie O.
Front Office Manager
The Volare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

The location is great, within walking distance from downtown San Clemente (and one minute from the ubiquitous Starbucks!) The hotel itself is an old construction that looks like it's been refurbished on a shoestring. The beds, TV, elevator are up to today's standards but things like the AC are outdated. Ours rattled quite a bit. The "breakfast room" is actually something to see! The hotel has kept what appears to be a 1950's gaudy decor with gilded glass candelabras, an old bar with stools, right out of a black and white movie.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Valaya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie O, Front Office Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, especially our quick walk over to the neighborhood Starbucks. We will be undergoing a full renovation in the near future, and we think you will enjoy the changes that we have planned. Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast room as well. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Katie O.
Front Office Manager
The Volare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Service at the front desk with Chase was exceptional! He was courteous, helpful, and professional. We appreciate that he helped us with all our needs. Thank you! Great hotel next to lots of shopping and dining, and close to the Main Street that has a farmers market.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie O, Front Office Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank, you so much for your compliments about Chase at the Front Desk. We are always happy to hear feedback from one of our guests. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy San Clemente's Farmers Market as well as some of our amazing restaurants. We hope that you will return again soon!

Sincerely,
Katie O'Donnell
Front Office Manager
The Volare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

We stayed one night at the Volare in San Clemente. I have been wanting to try this hotel for some time since it isn't pricey and it seemed to offer a number of nice amenities. Our check in was smooth and we were assigned to a room on the third floor. The room was adequate with a king bed and a small sofa bed. The room also had a balcony with a sea view although the ocean is not that close so the view is nice but not extraordinary. Our room seemed clean but the carpet did have some spots and the door to the balcony looked like hadn't been cleaned in a while. The hotel seems to have undergone a renovation but apparently they are not there yet. There are many improvements that can still be made. I visited the gym and immediately walked out because it is basically a closet with three or four bikes. It seemed like an afterthought. The lobby has cheesy furniture that looks like something my grandmother threw out 40 years ago. The restaurant is also kind of weird. It looks like it was the hotel bar at one time and it has crystal candelabras and other dated décor. The breakfast consists of sausage and eggs and then some bagels and muffins. Nothing to remember or write home about. The best part of our stay is the main street, El Camino Real, is very close by and we were able to do a nice walk in the morning. But in summary, I just didn't get a good vibe here and I don't think we will return.

Room Tip: Best to stay in the rooms facing south
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews