We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
65
76
48
20
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
76
48
20
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth end of townpool and hot tubfree breakfasttwo queen bedssleeper sofadefinitely stay here againbreakfast roomshort drivecerealhighwaycampcalifornia
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 243 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2018

Our hotel suite room was huge and offered two queen beds plus a sleeper sofa and the room was clean, nice and had lots of towels. The pool was small but nice. Breakfast was very good with a nice variety. Plenty of parking and very convenient to the highway! We slept very well at this hotel!

Room Tip: Suite room was awesome!!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

visited san clemente for surfing, the location of the hotel was excellent for this purpose because its proximity to the famous tressels beach point.
the hotel is slightly far from the town it self so getting something to eat in the evening is hard, and most of the paces close at about 10pm.
its proximity to the highway makes it impossible to open your window at night.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Maxim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest
We're extremely sorry that you had to face such difficulties, problems in customer is not something we are known for. As you can see from our other reviews, we pride ourselves in providing great customer service and we'd like to do the same for you. We may not be able to change the past but if you give us a chance, we will completely make it up to you. Just give us a call our number is 714-841-1812. We hope to resolve this to your benefit and earn you back as a customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

Room was adequate size and relatively clean. Breakfast was more than sufficient. Location was 20-minute walk to famous surf spot and 10-minute drive to outlets. Desk staff was reluctant to extend our stay by 2 hours (and wanted to charge me an extra $15). Fitness room was crappy -- exercise bike was broken. Had to take elevator, stairs not an option. I like to take stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S, Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear Valued Guest, we want to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our customers. The reason we do charge extra for late check out is because our housekeeping needs to stay over to finish those rooms not only that we need to have that room ready for any future guests who request the room. So, we hope you will give us and opportunity to discuss this further with you.You can reach out to us on 714-841-1812 or you can email us on visithb@yahoo.com.Mike, our Manager will be taking care of you personally. He should be reaching out to you shortly and we hope to find a solution than makes you smile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017

at check in the front desk agent was not very nice! I used my employee discount and he wasn't nice/welcoming! i had an approach with night shift agent and he was polite! rooms are clean and comfortable! AC needs to be updated! it took a long time for room to cool to a bearable temperature! ac looked very dirty/dusty

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannmorales24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

We're extremely sorry that you had to face such difficulties, problems in customer service. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our customers and this is unacceptable as per the A/C we would like to discuss the situation further and see if there is anyway we can make this up to you. Our phone number is 714-841-1812 and our email is visithb@yahoo.com. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

What was supposed to have been a relaxing one-night stay in San Clemente from our home port in San Diego was marred considerably by our stay at the Comfort Inn. A few points:

-Room 112 is located off the pool. Windows do not secure tightly, thereby allowing noise from late-partying guests around pool.

-The night we stayed was also the night that a soccer and baseball team stayed. Not bad in and of itself, but the mgmnt allowed young, screaming kids to stay in the pool well past 10pm. Poor parenting as well, I know.

-There was a single, circular bar of soap in the bathroom. No shampoo, lotion, etc. I understand that guests are expected to bring their own, but it's a nice perk.

-Small bloodstain on the sheet. Mgmnt seemed surprised but made no offer to change the sheets.

-AC unit faces toward car port, street level. Idling vehicles nearby means exhaust is sucked into vent and directly into face of sleeper.

-Car port acts as an echo chamber, a conduit of noise, which we experienced throughout the night as late-night revelers returned to their rooms, loud and drunk. One "guest" was even shouting, "Echo! Echo!" at 3am as he passed by the AC unit.

-Rooms leading into hallways are not secure in that they do not close automatically. This poses security risk from outsiders. The noise from these same slamming doors [note return of 3 am "guests"] is earth-shattering.

The Inn looks like it has been through hell. Not sure if it is in some manner of transitional. But you should reflect on this prior to a stay. Plenty of accommodations in the area at far below the $200/night price tag.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank modonnell2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S, Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

I'm Mike, I'm one of the managers here at The Comfort Suites in San Clemente. We try to maintain the highest standards of service, but clearly thats not what happened here. I am terribly sorry to hear about your experience. Unfortunately, I was not in at the time. Please give me a call at 714-841-1812 at your convenience. We'd like to discuss the matter further with you and see how we can make things good. If you give us the chance, we will definitely win you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews