We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Essence M

Clean and Friendly Staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 1, 2024
We visited LA in January to take my sons to see LeBron James and the LA Lakers play in LA on the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr Holiday. The Hilton LA/San Gabriel was a short distance from the Crypto Arena and LA Live area where we wanted to eat. It was a little longer distance from LAX, especially in traffic when we left early Tuesday morning. We got in late in Saturday and were a little frustrated because our connecting rooms had been given away although I had chosen room assignments in the Hilton Honors app. The hotel management was apologetic but could not remedy the situation that night. The next day they did provide some credit to the bill and the Hilton customer service line gave us some Honors points. The hotel was overall clean and staff friendly. There weren’t a lot of eating options for what we were looking for in the immediate area, so we did drive a little for food. They had a cute little robot in the lobby that will help you around the lobby. My kiddos enjoyed that!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Pool
breakfast is very delicious. bothchinese style and american style,also all kind drink.
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.2 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Free parking
hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Skyscanner.com
1.3 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Pool
Guest room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Curio
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$473
  • Algotels
5.4 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Courtyard
    C$196
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
3.3 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$190
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$135
  • Algotels
2.7 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$151
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in San Gabriel
Reviews (1,023)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveller rating
584
256
100
45
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
584
256
100
45
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asian community front desk monterey park self parking diamond member convenient location complimentary breakfast upon check per day housekeeping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2024

The little gym and pool are the best features. Got drink water, towels, shower, wipes, very few people when I stayed there. Excellent! Wifi needs to sign up to their thing and pay for normal speed connection. Yikes! Seriously?
Location is fantastic. Quiet and convenient. Beds are great. AC is quiet. But no microwave in the room!? Need to go to the lobby in the gift shop to find one! Don't know why this is.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad803576
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 8, 2024

Stephanie was awesome and got me a coffee even though the breakfast was closed and such a kindness is needed in our Hilton world of love and kindness. Thank you Stephanie. We also got additional water in the room which we did not expected and we are grateful for that.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank mudeyschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 24, 2024

We stayed in room 547. The room was quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking is $10/night. I was debating between staying at this hotel versus Sheraton. Hilton was cheaper. There were several stains on the wall, the light switch was dirty, and there was bio-growth in the shower. Towels and sheets were clean. I think next time I’d splurge for somewhere a little cleaner. I expected more from a Hilton.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stacy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 21, 2024 via mobile

TBH I was not sure whether to go for this hotel or opt for an Airbnb since it was going to be a long 17-night stay.
And after a week here, I’m so glad I picked up Hilton San Gabriel.
Though the property is bit old, having some spots that require maintenance, the rooms are spacious, beds comfortable, kept clean, temperature controlled (especially during the cold nights) and has decent food options.
The workout area is but small but takes care of your basic daily regime.
The best part is the staff… very friendly, ready to help and approachable.
I had to call for few stuff (being a long stay) and they were quick to send it to the room.
Breakfast and meals have become quite convenient with Paul’s friendly conversations and a few more people from Trinity.
10 more days to go and I’m sure it’s going to be one of the most comfortable long-stay trip, thanks to the people here.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank v_p_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Navarro-Sigala, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2024

Dear Vishal,
Thank you very much for the kind words and positive review. We love hearing that you are enjoying your stay with us, we are constantly striving to exceed the expectations of our guests and your survey reflects that. We thank you for choosing Hilton San Gabriel as we do know there are many hotels to choose from in the area. If there is anything we can do for you to have a memorable stay experience, please let us know, we are happy to assist!
-Hilton San Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2024 via mobile

While the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean, i would not stay here again. I didn’t care for the area. The service at the bar and restaurant was exceedingly slow, and the menu limited. Hotel very dated in appearance. Glad I used points to stay rather than points.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ajcompass17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Navarro-Sigala, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2024

Good afternoon ajcompass17,

Thank you for taking to time to share your experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept my apologies as you mentioned that you've experienced some issues with the level of service provided to you at our Restaurant/Bar. We encourage you to contact us directly to discuss your stay in further detail. We appreciate the feedback as it gives us an opportunity to continually improve our services to all of our valued guests. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews