We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Option on Santana Row”
Review of Oveja Negra

Oveja Negra
Reserve with OpenTable
Oveja Negra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #471 of 2,490 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: US$14 - US$40
Description: Experience a modern twist to traditional tapas with globally inspired shareable dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: Experience a modern twist to traditional tapas with globally inspired shareable dishes.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Santana Row is high energy full of crowds competing for tables on the street. If you want to enjoy the wonderful courtyard in the lobby of the Hotel Valencia with a more relaxed atmosphere, Oveja Negra is a great option for dining al fresco. The menu is tapas inspired and the servings are actually larger than most tapas serving that I have found. The Barbacoa tacos were delicious. We also found the Truffle Mushroom Arancinis to be really flavorful featuring piquillo peppers. Our Curry Tiger Prawn dish was excellent. Don't skip the churros for dessert.

The Spanish wine flight of three wines was a good value option for some drinkable wines that complemented the menu.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan W, Director of Food and Beverage at Oveja Negra, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Hello Roger H,

Thank you so much for visiting us at Oveja Negra! It sounds like you enjoyed some of our culinary team's favorite items. We hope to see you again very soon!

Thank You,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

We booked Oveja Negra for a last-minute dinner while traveling for business and were so glad we changed our reservation from another restaurant! Both the drinks and dinner menus are short but broad, and we sampled both the cocktails and the wine flight, both of which were fantastic. For dinner, we chose the watermelon and stone fruit salads, as well as ceviche and their special, barbacoa. Everything was perfectly prepared and extremely fresh. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. Absolutely recommend if you’re in the area!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank maliace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan W, Director of Food and Beverage at Oveja Negra, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Hello maliace,

We are thrilled to hear your experience was great at Oveja Negra. We always aim to please and our staff is sincerely thankful for your kind words. Please visit our restaurant the next time you are in town. Also, keep us in mind for any business dinners as we have a lovely private dining room!

Cheers,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Located on the 3rd floor of the Valencia Hotel. Great outdoor ambiance if seated by the water fountain. Portions tend to be on the small size as it designed for sharing. Overall foods are very tastefully served with excellence.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank hathanhh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan W, Director of Food and Beverage at Oveja Negra, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Hello hathan h,

Thank you very much for dining with us at Oveja Negra. Our menu items do rotate fairly often, so we hope to see you again soon to try some new dishes.

Sincerely,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018

I've been to Oveja Negra several times, and loved it each time. The chef takes a fresh spin on Spanish Tapas, with unique flavors and presentation. Very good wine selection

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank JamillaCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan W, other at Oveja Negra, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Hello JamillaCamel,

Thank you kindly for dining with us at Oveja Negra and posting your review! Our culinary team has poured their hearts into this restaurant and I am glad you enjoyed it. Please continue to check back as the menu does change seasonally. For the wine list, we are additionally offering tasting flights as well as our tremendous wine selection. Hope to see you soon!

Thank You,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

Nestled just off the 2nd floor terrace of Hotel Valencia in Santana Row in San Jose, Oveja Negra serves a menu of tapas classics with Culinary flare that is a must visit.

In a competitive area, the restaurant is part of the hotel so may get over looked verses the great food options Santana Row provides. But believe me it's worth heading to the 2nd floor lobby of this luxury hotel and tasting the food here.

The service was attentive, and relaxed. They smiled as they introduced the menu.

It says UNRULY TAPAS? So how Unruly is it?

A complementary freshly cooked Brioche Beignet with crispy smoked applewood bacon served with a tube of maple syrup & drizzled in Creme Anglaise.....kicks off your dinner. What's not to like about this! It's delicious, doughy , sweet and savory, bacon and maple. The English custard sauce was a throwback to my youth, so yep! Unruly and loved it.

My first tapas course was a Farm to Table salad. The freshness of the ingredients means that it's worth every penny. A core combination of heirloom tomatoes, jicama strips, mozzarella and fresh herb leaves with a lemon infused vinaigrette is summery and delightful. But Chef Ocean flips the dish with fresh peach slices, fig wedges, candied ginger and the weirdly addictive, taste bud explosion that was the " Fresh as" Passion Fruit powder. I was giggling as I ate, not just because Chef Ocean has managed to take a salad and make it as fun to eat as Pop Rocks... without resorting to pop rocks!!!!

My main dish had to be the Black Sheep inspired Oveja Negra Barbacoa. A slow cooked Lamb shoulder rubbed in chili & epazote herb, served in its dark rich spicy Barbacoa coating, usually used with beef stock, Chef prepares it with Lamb, with the tradition slow cooked cumin sauce etc . Served on a banana leaf with a flame grilled Serrano chili . The twist comes in the form of a marrowbone roasted and filled with sour cream, as part of the marrowbone is used as the fat ingredient to create two light tortilla, which goes perfectly to form a lamb taco.

I found the spicy lamb Barbacoa taco Fantastic. The deep spicy taste from slow cooking did not distract from the flavor of the fresh organic lamb. Quality dish!

Finishing off my solo dining experience, I was tempted by pastry chef Roselyn Vu's Chocolate Smore Creme Brûlée. Which when arrived looked too good to eat. It's a rich chocolaty devils food cake, with toasted meringue, ganache sauce and a crumble base that complements the whole desert experience. Unruly? Yeah described as a Creme brûlée it is lol.

Over all Chef Ocean Orssten has created a fun, quality dining experience that is as good as his BIO implies. With Michelin star experience, working with top chef's such as Michael Mina, you can be assured it's going to be good. This is high end tapas, with a unruly theme and not a crazy price tag. It will ensure diners leave discussing the food and when to come back.

The staff were very hospitable and knowledgeable. I said good night and smiled, not just because the unruly food had given me a giggle, but knowing that many people will walk pass the hotel and miss out on this hidden gem!!

Go on, hit that elevator button at Hotel Valencia

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Neal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oveja Negra also viewed

 

Been to Oveja Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing