We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rose Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rose Garden
Ranked #54 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Not far from the airport or downtown San Jose, beautiful little rose garden just up the road, very nice to relax in the sun. We arrived a bit early and were told the room wasn't ready, which was fine. Came back when they told us and it still wasn't ready, had to wait another half an hour but it was OK with us but I wouldn't recommend getting here until at least 2.30pm. The rooms are large and clean and there is free internet and a nice pool. We only stayed one night but it was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    70
    45
    48
    66
See reviews for
86
40
28
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here one night. It was close to the airport and that was what I was looking for when I booked our room. The room was smelly and the walls paper thin. Our neighbor's woke us up in the middle of the night due to their loud talking. The beds were okay and the bathroom clean. The breakfast was okay - serving cereal, bread, danishes, coffee, and juice. We have come to realize that we will not be booking rooms at any Super 8 as we haven't had good experiences with them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodiR95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

The room was pretty clean, but we had to ask 3 times for them to have the people below us turn off their music or tv. It was about 12:00 pm when they finally did something about it for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linzkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

I stayed at this hotel because I left it too late to book anything and had to sleep somewhere.

The room was a good size, but I could hear the karaoke (or that's what I think it was) from the Mexican club next door. Biggest dissapointment was being able to smell the odour of the pillow. Yeuch!

Breakfast was included, but selection was very limited - there are only 4 tables in the lobby where breakfast is served.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Great Location:
This motel is located on lovely, tree-lined The Alameda in San Jose. I was surprised how nice the surrounded area was - it felt safe. It was a straight shot from the motel down The Alameda to downtown - took about 5 minutes by car. There's a reliable bus line that goes down The Alameda and express lines as well - my partner rode the express bus to the CalTrain station to go to downtown San Francisco, and it made only 2 stops for that distance. It would be a short, easy ride on this bus for $2 to get downtown. Once downtown you've got the HP Pavilion, CalTrain, Children's Discovery Museum, SJ Tech Museum, and more. We went to the Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum which is only a few blocks away and we loved it. There is also a Trader Joe's not far (5 min drive) if you want to stock your fridge like we did.

The Room:
The room was slightly above average for a motel - not the best I've seen, and not the worst. Ours was #105 downstairs, a good size room with two queen beds, a fridge, a microwave, TV, and two sinks - one in the bedroom area, one in the bathroom. Polyester bedcoverings were no surprise, pillows were very thick, sheets were clean (though I did note some ink stains). Everything in our room worked, including fast wireless internet which was a pleasant surprise as I had work to do during our stay. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean-ish - the fixtures are not polished to shiny, there was a small amount of black staining in the grouted corners of the shower, there was a loose floor tile - but it was okay for us (and I'm a pretty fastidious person - I just know what to expect from a low-cost motel). The shower faucet was loose and leaky when on, but it was a nice hot shower with good pressure. We did not hear neighbors other than the person in the room above us who seemed to be doing a lot of pacing. It was slightly annoying but not a big deal. We stayed mid-week, so not sure what the weekends are like.

The Breakfast:
The lobby continental breakfast consisted of cereal (froot loops or raisin bran), 2% milk, wheat or white bread (nice toaster provided), pastries, muffins, butter and jam. We didn't try the coffee. There's a juice machine that dispenses apple and orange juice. No fresh fruit. My kids loaded up on carbs while I had a nice bowl of raisin bran and was good to go.

The Pool:
We used the pool one of the days. It was clean enough (a little bit dusty/leafy, could have used a sweep, but definitely reasonable), there were chaise lounges, tables, and chairs to use. The pool is a medium size (not as teeny as some motel pools I've seen). We had it all to ourselves (this was midday, midweek) and the kids had a great time.

The Summary.
All-in-all, I found this motel to be a good value - it was less than half the price of anything near downtown with a pool and breakfast (for example, the Hampton Inn). You get what you pay for, and this measured up to our expectations (and was slightly better than we hoped in terms of location and comfort).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank practicalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

We were in San Jose visiting friends and Family. We were on a budget so picked a hotel randomly from the lower priced ones in the AAA travel book. We asked to see the room before booking and were immediately sold. Comfy quiet, clean and a bit of a continental breakfast(muffins, toast ,danish,cereal,coffee,tea and juice) the rooms all surround a beautifully kept courtyard with the pool in the middle. We stayed for 4 nights and were very happy. Would definately go back. It was 80.00 and some change for one night all taxes included in July. The Wifi was perfect as well..not spotty like many hotels we've stayed at. Oh, and the rip in the carpet some have mentioned..I believe it's an access panel for something in the below rooms)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnf83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

I never thought I'd give a budget chain like a Super 8 a top rating, but this one deserves it. I've stayed in a few nice Super 8's (and several very crappy ones) and this is the best. It is in a nice area of San Jose just a few blocks from the city limits of Santa Clara and beautiful Santa Clara Universiity. The room I had was spacious, actually like a small suite with a comfy couch and matching upholstered side chair and a small coffee table. Plus a nice wood table with convenient outlets, perfect for laptop & free wireless Internet. Extensive cable TV selections plus microwave and refrigerator. Clean, quiet & comfortable. Nice enclosed inner courtyard with swimming pool. Plus a very good attached Mexican Restaurant, the EL Palenque. A real bargain at 65 bucks a night, and I stayed for 5.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.9 km away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#41 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.6 km away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#34 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#33 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.5 km away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#31 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.8 km away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#47 of 75 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose Garden

Property: Hotel Rose Garden
Address: 1860 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-1781 (Formerly Super 8 San Jose Airport/Convention Ctr. Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rose Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rose Garden is San Jose's newest independent hotel. We have recently converted from Super 8 San Jose and are embarking on a project to develop one of San Jose's premier boutique style motels. The Hotel Rose Garden is located just 1 mile from San Jose's Mineta International Airport. Located on The Alameda off of Interstate I-880, The Hotel Rose Garden is located in The Heart of Silicon Valley offering a perfect place to stay for visitors to San Jose or business travelers looking for a corporate housing in Silicon Valley and The South Bay. With hundreds of rose bushes throughout the hotel, The Hotel Rose Garden invites you to our beautiful San Jose accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rose Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area Hotel San Jose
Super 8 San Jose
Super Eight San Jose
San Jose Super Eight
San Jose Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing