We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty sheets, ceiling damaged in room #222 - exterior security doors not secured.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty sheets, ceiling damaged in room #222 - exterior security doors not secured.”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Traveled from the Central Valley for an event at Valley Christian School - so the distance was why this room was booked, along with 2 other rooms for additional families.

Pulled down the comforter & there to my horror was a bodily fluid stain. No mistaking it. Had to go down to the front desk & change my own sheets.

Sketchy neighborhood to say the least.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    29
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
18
12
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Very nice hotel, quiet and large. Three floors of 10 rooms on each floor.
The rooms are big enough to host even three to a room.
Multi-channel TV, king-size bed and shower, comfortable and pleasant.
Air-conditioned room coffee and a small kitchenette with microwave and utensils.
Excellent breakfast with great selection (relative to American breakfast).
Close to the airport and the motorways to travel to any site in the region.
In summary a very good hotel, nice and rested.

Room Tip: my room was quit good - 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yossi_Ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I was reluctant to stay after reading some of the reviews of this place. But I was pleasantly surprised, not bad at all. The room was clean and the bed was nice. We stayed a week and housekeeping was superb. The television could use more channels, but we we're on vacation and mostly seeing the sights in and around town. Having a fridge and microwave in the room was a bonus. No bad experiences. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exped97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I was in San Jose on family matters when we made a last-minute booking for this place. The price was very satisfactory for a big room with 2x queen beds. Our relatives even ended up moving in here as well, after being dissatisfied with the Holiday Inn, and were very pleased with their decision to move.

As mentioned, the rooms are quite spacious. The beds are very comfortable, but I found the pillows too soft for my liking. The shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. Everything was very clean.

Front desk staff are friendly and welcoming. When we had a toilet blockage one night, someone did forget to send up the plumb as requested, but the problem was dealt with promptly and efficiently the following morning.

Breakfast included hot beverages, juice, eggs, waffles (self-service waffle maker), cereal, several types of bread, as well as boxes of brownies, mini cinnamon scrolls etc. Tasty and will fill you up well (though of course not as spectacular as what I've been spoiled with at European hotels). Bottles of water can be found in the minifridge in the breakfast room if you need one for the day.

The location worked perfectly for our purposes and activities, which were mostly in the vicinity, and we had a car (for which there was ample, free parking at the hotel). However it may not suit everyone's needs, especially if you don't have a car, as it's a bit out of the way. But then again, San Jose really is a place where you generally do need a car.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms in the main building where reception is also located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geigerin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is one of the worst experiences I have had in a U.S. hotel. I had to step over a large bag of trash by the front door, left there by the employee smoking right by the door. If I hadn't prepaid, I would have left after meeting the desk clerk. She is in the wrong field and has no business working in the service industry. Everything was difficult with her. She barely answered questions (like where is our room, where can we park, etc.) She offered no help and explained nothing. It turns out our room was in a second building and on the upper floor. When I asked if they had a luggage cart, the clerk only said "yes." When I asked where it was kept, she just shrugged. I found it in the hallway of the second building. The elevator is at the far end of the second building and there is no ramp for the cart at that end of the building.

The room had a burned out light bulb. My wife used the bathroom later that night and came out blaming me for not flushing the toilet. I hadn't used the bathroom yet. The toilet had not been cleaned and flushed before we got there. According to my wife it was full of waste. I already knew I would get nowhere with the desk clerk, so I didn't even try.

The neighborhood is not the best. Breakfast was awful and was over by 9:00am. You snooze, you lose.

I will never stay at another hotel in this chain or any of its affiliates again. If this is how lax the company is with its franchises, it is not for me. I'm easygoing and usually don't complain about anything.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Ukiah, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Our family has been coming back to this hotel for many years. Always satisfied!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiTownArendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I recently traveled to San Jose regarding legal business, and I paid for my attorney to travel and stay there as well. I stayed where they leave the light on, and his secretary booked him into the Clarion Inn on Monterey Road. I was going to chide him for booking such a nicer place, but found out it was only twenty dollars more than where I was, and that included breakfast! I thought it would be at least one hundred dollars more from the appearance of the facility. The staff there (desk man Sean and night shift Fred) offered me coffee while I waited, even though they knew I was not a guest, and made me feel as if I were. The people at the motel where I was staying were nice also, but the facility was not as nice in appearance and I was next to a freeway and all of the noise that goes with it, and I spent almost twenty on breakfast at IHOP. The bottom line is that I feel Clarion gives you more for your money, and on my next trip I'll be staying there whether the other place leaves the light on or not.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hbhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.0 km away
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
10.6 km away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#27 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
7.4 km away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#35 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
10.1 km away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#44 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
9.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#45 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Silicon Valley

Property: Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Address: 3200 Monterey Hwy, San Jose, CA 95111-3316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Silicon Valley in San Jose was originally founded as the Presidents Inn in 1989 only a few days before Loma Prieta the World Series of Earthquakes. The hotel has stood through Mother Nature's biggest test and pushes on in the 21st Century. The hotel is easily accessed vi speedway (Capitol Expressway/HWY 101/HWY 87). The hotel is situated in the area of South San Jose only 15 minutes from McEnry Convention Center, Tech Museum, SJ MOMA, HP Pavillion, MLK Library, SJSU Campus, Rose Garden, Egyptian Rosicrucian Museum, Santa Clara County Fairgrounds, Hellyer Velodrome, Oakridge Shoppingtown, Santana Row, Winchester Mystery House and numerous attractions. The current hotel is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Large Pool, Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (Closed Winter), A family sized private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu, A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite guest laundry, and A private Conference Center that can seat 15+ classroom style, and a fitness center suite. Your family and friends are greeted and welcomed in our uniquely grand cathedral ceiling guest reception. We look forward to receiving you on your next trip to events in San Jose and the Silicon Valley. There is a limited service CALTRAIN STATION and VTA Bus Stop directly across the hotel. Staying with us will afford you a very good quality accommodation, reasonable dining and entertainment options, privacy and security in a relaxing locale, all only a short drive away from your main business agenda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley Hotel San Jose
Clarion Silicon Valley
Clarion San Jose
San Jose Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing