We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Third world armpit experience!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Third world armpit experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I'll never go back to this ashamed hotel again and will not recommend it to anyone either. The room is filthy, the so called "breakfast" is nothing more than some packaged pastries. Oh by the way, if the orange juice or coffee is empty, the owner will ask you to help him to get or make a new one. I wonder who works there, me or him?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bailing z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    8
    18
    10
    24
See reviews for
13
19
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

I don't understand what everyone is complaining about.

My brother and I stayed here last week and it was great. There were problems, as mentioned, but some people really need to lighten up. I had a good laugh reading someone's description of the Rodeway as a "third world experience". Pretty awesome. It was worth the price I paid and I had a very relaxing night there. Some people need to travel outside of "Amarricaaaa" for some real world context and perspective.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Expensive - over $100 with tax. Grungy! Holey drapes. Rough thin sheets. Thin pillows, and don't look under the pillowcase. Hard mattress. The blanket should have been thrown away years ago. Oddly, furniture looked new. Guests need nice bedding and mattress; cleanliness, Owners should sleep overnight in a room. It's a dump. Stay away! Choice Hotels should be ashamed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorCalBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Hurst,Texas.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

This hotel is located in one of the best part of Ca was horrible at its best. Nothing deserves more than one star or less. I will never recommend it to anyone. Poorly maintained, missing items in breakfast, clogged up sink and bath tub, dirty carpet, no one to answer service call except owners daughter, next day morning no one on desk to listen to my complain(just drop the key and get out).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sidnmshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Lousy value on a Cal Poly activity weekend. We booked 2 nites and left after one.

The room was simply dirty and had a foul smell, black smudges on the bathroom door, rust stains, cracked paint, filthy grout, mystery smears, and cigarette burns. Wife's pillow case was stenciled with "Cottage Hospital", blanket appeared to be WWII Russian surplus made of steel wool. Bare bulbs on a rusting base in bathroom, hook torn off door, shower curtain had mysterious drips and mildew, filthy window sills, hair stuck to walls. Thrift store furniture artfully disguised with dust and lint rolls, cracks and gaps in the ceiling plaster, and the front door would not consistently stay closed or unlock. Armchair had filthy upholstery and a staple on the back cut my finger.

Air conditioner worked well, HBO was so snowy it was unwatchable, and as soon as we accessed the free wifi we were attacked repeated with viruses. "Free Breakfast" was Svenhard Danish in cellophane, reconsistitued orange juice and coffee. You could see the remains of the pool poking through the gravel in a weed-choked lot next to the office.

Other than that it was nice!

Room Tip: Pick anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duartemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

First you're hit by the smell... our "non-smoking" room was probably converted right before we got there because the cloying scent of whatever they used to mask the smell gave us all headaches.

Then you notice the walls... dirty, tape coming off ceiling, dust, cracks, molding dusty, yuck!

Smoke detector doesn't have batteries- I am writing from the room and hope we make it out alive... and did I mention we paid $100 per nite plus tax because this is CalPoly open house?

You can hear every bed creak from the room above... ewww...

Beds are hard, bath towels are like hand towels heating system is noisy, and they don't even change the cheap soap or shampoo every day... plus, I swear my nice hairspray disappeared.

If we could find any place else we would, but we are trapped... don't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bugfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
179 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

This was the first hotel I got to after an eleven hour drive. Friendly and helpful lady on reception who gave me a discount. I wasn't expecting the Ritz but nor was I expecting a scene from CSI which is unfortunately what I got. I slept in my sleeping bag liner as the sheets had a funny smell. The front door felt loose so I put a chair up against it for security.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 10_Downing_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 km away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.7 km away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#28 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
San Luis Inn & Suites
San Luis Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 km away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.1 km away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly

Property: Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly
Address: 1001 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2361 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Obispo Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing