We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quaint stay”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Had arranged to stay at one of the cottages but were graciously transferred to the main hotel due to irrigation issues earlier in the day. The room was clean and newly updated. Martinelli apple cider and chocolate awaited us and was a lovely touch. At 7pm, in the main reception area are complimentary cookies fresh out of the oven. Various selections like chocolate chip with cranberries or an English toffee. The cookie size is generous and delicious. Get there quick as samples go fast.

The location is central and would be a great place to stay a few nights as your main location and explore the out-lying areas of wineries and other local interests. Sadly, we only stayed one night. The price was very reasonable for such a lovely room.

There is a hot tub and heated outdoor pool that was clean and enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I am glad you were able to try our cookies. They are a favorite of many of our guests. We hope you will have the chance to come back and stay with us for more than one night. We have multiple packages that include touring and tasting throughout this area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    395
    115
    49
    27
See reviews for
333
675
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have stayed at the Apple Farm at least once a year for close to 8 years. As other hotels updated their rooms the Apple Farm lagged behind but we continued to forgive them as the hotel was cozy and predictable. Over the past few years they have updated some of their rooms to "speciality" rooms and increased the prices a bit. Really not much changed. The quilts are bright and new but the sheets are thin and the pillows are flat foam and the shower heads have no water pressure. The TV's are still still the old standard version with a poor picture and the best they can do is some HBO. Not to say we won't be back but we would continue to look for those special low season rates otherwise they are overpriced.

Room Tip: If you have a room you like you can call ahead and request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaandMike8-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. I am sorry that you did not feel the specialty room you stayed in was adequately renovated. Every room in our Inn is unique, so some rooms may seem less updated because they have been kept more traditional. Last year we started adding new flat screen TVs and mini refrigerators to the renovated rooms and we are always happy to place you in one of these rooms if you request it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We originally made hotel reservations through Hotels.com because we found a deal for $99/night! Our Vacation was delayed a day because one of us came down with the stomach flu and we missed the first day of our reservation. However, Apple Farm was more then accommodating to our situation and helped us rearrange our reservations last minute without any penalty. The rooms were beautifully decorated with turn-of-the-century cottage style appeal.

We had a large room with a King size bed and a seating area, windows looking out toward the back of the property where the creek runs. The bath room was clean and very spacious. There were cozy robes waiting in the closet with a fridge and coffee maker tucked away in the closet. Nice large flat screen TV with lots of free channels. They also had complimentary Martinelli's Apple Cider and Hershey's kisses chocolates waiting for you..(NICE TOUCH!)

The ENTIRE Apple Farm staff was extremely friendly, the front desk always had a smile and were extremely welcoming, the staff at the Apple Farm Restaurant and Bakery were just as welcoming. TRY THE SCONES <-----!!!! They also have a wine reception from 3:30 (?) till 5:30 and the gentlemen that was pouring the wines had one rule: If you leave the reception, you must leave with a full glass to take back to your room. (SIGN ME UP!)

One of the BEST weekend get-aways you could have starts at the Apple Farm

Room Tip: Check out the Wine reception and don't forget to grab a cookie every night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am sorry to hear about the stomach flu but I am glad our staff was able to make some changes that accommodated your needs. We strive to make sure every guest has an exceptional experience with us. It is wonderful that the staff you interacted with made your trip so special. We hope you will spend many more weekend getaways with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the Apple Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Since my last review we have stayed at The Apple Farm twice more - each time in an updated room. The updated rooms have mini fridges! The new decor is very elegant - but still feels like The Apple Farm. As always everything was neat and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushi4soup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thanking your for reviewing our property. It is great to hear that you have gotten the chance to stay in our renovated rooms! We have been adding new TVs and mini fridges to each room as we finish them which is an added perk. Our main goal throughout the renovation is to keep the same Apple Farm feel and I am glad you felt that way during your visit. We look forward to you next trip to the Apple Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thousand oaks,ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

my wife and i have been going here regulary for many years. always fine. staff has always been the best. great restaurant on premises so no need to drive all over town looking for a place to eat. just make sure you get of hwy 101 at the monterey off ramp or its a long ways up over the hill.

Room Tip: any rear room in main building. good insulation so no noise except A/C in summer in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazeltineav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you taking the time to review the Apple Farm. It is great to hear that you have been staying with us for many years! I am glad our staff has continued to make your trips special. You are right, because we are the last exit in town it can take a while to turn back around if you miss it! Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to your next trip to the Apple Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Just spent a couple of nights at Apple Farm during a business trip. This inn is the true definition of country! It is very cute and nicely decorated with a ton of, albeit not my style, country style antiques. I had a large room that backed to a the creek. It was very soothing to hear the creek over night.

The bakery is great, the restaurant ok. Not the best food in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanAndAssana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay! I am glad you were able to get some work done and relax at the same time. The sounds of the creek can be very soothing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is the perfect place for an all-girl weekend! Went with my sister and daugher (age 12); she switched on what she thought was the light - and it turned out to be the switch for the in-room, working fireplace. Wow!

The decor is pure girly: everything is dried flowers, pretty prints, ye olde furniture. Comfy, pretty, but slightly over the top.

Lovely coffee, hot cider and cookies available in the lobby.

The location is good: just a minute outside San Luis Obispo, and right in the middle of California wine country.

Price is reasonable, service is good, and there's a connected restaurant and bakery that's a bit pricey but quite good.

Room Tip: You can choose a room in the "waterwheel house" which sounds like it'd be very nice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaJCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm! It sounds like you had a great girl's weekend! I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the fireplace, it certainly adds a nice ambiance to the room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
3.4 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
4.0 km away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
5.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing