We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, but take earplugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Luis Inn & Suites
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value, but take earplugs!”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Close to freeway, clean pool, easy pleasant walk into town. Great downtown with excellent food - we suggest you buy some for breakfast as the Continental breakfast is either OJ or coffee + 1/4 of a muffin! A bit run down and tatty, but clean and comfortable. No plug for bath, obviously showers are intended. No kettle or courtesy tea/coffee, fridge & microwave, but no cutlery or crockery...Not at all pleased to be woken at 0450 hrs by the owner filling up 3 chilly bins with ice, using a metal frying pan for the biggest noise effect, from the communal ice machine 5 yards away from our door.when asked to stop, he continued 3 minutes after I had returned to bed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    25
    42
    17
    27
See reviews for
38
41
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Checked in late evening after searching for a hotel room. Have to agree that this place needs a little love, but the staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean. Its not the Ritz but then i didnt pay the price for the Ritz.
If I needed an inexpensive clean room then i would definitely stay here again.
Good location, close to restaurants and downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagdish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

First of all this place is just a motel. There are no suites, it's a dirty, nasty motel. There was a lot of activity at night, so I suspect people stay for a few hours...if you know what I mean. We stayed here because it was close to my daughter's college. It's not worth the price. It is terrible!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ldwilliamsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

paint was peeling and door casing moulding was rotting away in bath room we left after 7:00 am and office was still closed , hence no cont. b- fast. bed bugs won't even stay here .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jbenpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

when we walked into the room the smell was so bad I wanted to vomit, I booked this room because it looked so nice from the outside (THE POOL),I didn't read the reviews because we made reservation to take the train and I wanted to stay over night so I needed to get a room asap. the toilet didn't work,no tub,didn't look clean! because I booked online I couldn't get my money back,WE DID NOT STAY THERE !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: go to days inn best room and rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank badtrip1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed in this hotel because it was the cheapest in the area. Plus the hotel gave us a discounted rate (we haggled for the discount with the owner). This is a very old, tired, run down motel. It desperately needs refurbishing! Old beds, bedding, towels (we decided to use our own), carpet, walls, the list is long. We saw the room before we paid for it so it wasn't a surprise to us! Like i said, we picked this place because of the cheap rate. Free wifi included and grab & go breakfast, which was a disgrace (old quartered muffins and watery tepid coffee). Parking is outside directly outside of the motel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JDWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

There is not way this hotel has 2 stars! We stayed here with our daughter who attends Cal Poly and our 10 year old son back in August, 2010 and it was disgusting. We would not even consider sleeping under the bedspread for the two nights we were here as scared. The toilet in the bathroom would move on the floor, mold in the shower and the flooring was coming up. We spent almost $130 a night for this? No way would I ever spend another night in a dump like this again but we had no choice as everything else was booked up. I am not sure where the Suite was in this place but it is a joke. I would rather sleep in my car than stay in this place again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.0 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
691 reviews
1.3 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
375 reviews
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
263 reviews
1.3 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
596 reviews
1.3 km away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Inn & Suites

Property: San Luis Inn & Suites
Address: 404 Santa Rosa St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2440
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Luis Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Luis Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing