We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$260
US$198
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$179
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Motel(San Luis Obispo)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Cuesta Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$203
US$185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Luis Creek Lodge(San Luis Obispo)
US$239
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbeam Motel(San Luis Obispo)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Farm Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$319
US$309
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$149
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madonna Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
82
77
22
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
77
22
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect location to enjoymunicipal lotdelightful place to stayroom downstairsthursday nightfarmers marketwithin walking distanceedna valleyfirst floorquiet at nightthe entire staffno elevatorboutique hotelgreat roomwine tastingwaldendowntown
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 210 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2016

I read the recent negative reviews, and they are correct that this is not a truly upscale inn. However, our room was super clean (Field of Dreams) with great outdoor space nearby. We loved that area, but I can imagine a lack of privacy if the Inn were full. Paul served an amazing breakfast and was helpful in finding us appropriate surf spots nearby. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenStreetInn, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Street Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Thank you for your response. We do appreciate the positive feedback regarding the room and the breakfast. Please do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the "close to home" suite and it was very comfortable.
The hotel is very centrally located within walking distance to dome good restaurants and the main shopping street.
Breakfast was very nice ( pancakes , fruit , scrambled eggs and sausage),and we requested some toast as an addition, which were given very generously.
A very nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathrine2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenStreetInn, Front Office Manager at Garden Street Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

So glad that you enjoyed our central location and breakfast. We do have a wonderful staff. Please do come back and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2016

On the plus side, the location was in town within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Breakfast is included and was very good, the room was clean, and cookies were left at night tied to your doorknob.

However, the Garden Street Inn did not meet our expectations. I am stating our experience so that others will know what to expect in advance. The following negatives may not matter to you as they did to us. We had to pay $10/day for parking at an off-site public parking garage; if you stay more than one night, as we did, your room is not serviced (towels were left upon request); it was a tiny room for the price (we had to move some furniture to make room for luggage); no drawer space was provided; the bed was too soft for our taste; breakfast was included, but for the price of the room, we were surprised that tips were requested for the cook; when we arrived a young male employee stood by while my "senior" husband struggled to carry two large suitcases up the front steps; some amenities often provided by an upscale inn were not provided. Instead we were given plastic glasses, no coffee maker, no personal safe for valuables. Even though there was no ice bucket, I requested ice and was given some; however the innkeeper retired at 8:00pm so could not obtain any after that time. I realize some of these negatives, by themselves, are not major: but collectively they made our stay a disappointing one. We have stayed in many Inns and B&B's all over the world, and this one was definitely sub-par. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Valley of the Moon, in a corner on the first floor, is a tiny room
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ArbieEffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2016

We stayed here 3 years ago and stayed again this year, the hotel has had a change of manager, unfortunately we didn't enjoy our stay so much this time. We also had the room with the Jacuzzi bath, the room could do with a spring clean. The house is charming and in keeping with when it was built but the rooms could do with a desk or table big enough to take a laptop.No parking on site, cars are parked in public car park around the corner

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper-TRIP, Innkeeper at Garden Street Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as previously. Hopefully you will come back in the future and your stay will be as you have enjoyed in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2016

A beginning of a road trip around California and Nevada starting in the Garden Street Inn and I can definitely say that we could not have chosen better.
From the very friendly staff to the beautiful building everything was perfect. It's not the cheapest accommodation in SLO but in this case you definitely get what you pay for and more.
A huge thanks to one member of staff I cannot remember her name(was it Chris or Dawn?) but she was extremely helpful and went out of her way to provide us an Ordnance Survey Map free of charge too!
You will not regret staying here

Room Tip: No issues all rooms quiet and excellent
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews