We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location just steps to everything!”
Review of Garden Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2017

First time at a bed and breakfast. The hotel was charming. The staff was pleasant. Parking is off-site at $10 per night. This is one of the best located places to stay to be within walking distance of the shops and restaurants of SLO. Breakfast (eggs benedict on our stay) was as good as any restaurant. "Our Town" room is at the front of the building on the second floor within earshot of drunks cussing as they pass by around 2am (entertaining).

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BillyRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

The Garden Street Inn is such a rare and wonderful find. A beautifully restored Victorian in the city center, GSI goes to extra lengths to make sure your stay with them is very comfortable and you receive the personalized attention you would get if you were visiting a long time friend in the city. Staff are well-versed on all SLO events...The cookies are the best surprise!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Roya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

All the staff were very accommodating and informative about the changes in S.L.O. The breakfasts were varied and delicious. The cookies, every night, were a nice touch. I would recommend Garden Street Inn to anyone who plans to visit the area.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria-Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Being right in the heart of old San Luis Obispo allowed for the freedom to park the car and walk around historic downtown. Literally only a 5 minute walk to the old Mission, shops, restaurants and the creekside paths. Fresh breakfast every morning, cookies at night, and a super comfy bed/room. Staff was friendly and service was top notch.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank xRobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenStreetInn, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

So glad your stay was enjoyable. We do hope that you will come back to visit us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We have been looking at this B&B for many a years while visiting here in SLO. We went to Cal Poly and have returned to visit the area many a times for over 30 years. This past October we finally bit the bullet and stayed here for one night on our way to LA. We stayed on a Thursday, which is the night for the "famous" Farmers Market in downtown. Great location for this, as it is really only a block away from downtown, so you can partake in all the local fun without driving etc. A major plus. We stayed in the Sunset Room (I believe the only room downstairs) and were not disappointed. Breakfast was awesome and specially prepared by the chef. The only bummer was the parking. We parked about two blocks away in a residential area for free. They do have a garage nearby but for $10/night.
We will sat here again....with Farmers Market in mind again!

Room Tip: There is only one room downstairs I think. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Husting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenStreetInn, Front Office Manager at Garden Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you for staying with us and so glad that you enjoyed the farmer's market. We are in a wonderful location to be able to walk to the downtown area. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I read the recent negative reviews, and they are correct that this is not a truly upscale inn. However, our room was super clean (Field of Dreams) with great outdoor space nearby. We loved that area, but I can imagine a lack of privacy if the Inn were full. Paul served an amazing breakfast and was helpful in finding us appropriate surf spots nearby. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenStreetInn, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you for your response. We do appreciate the positive feedback regarding the room and the breakfast. Please do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the "close to home" suite and it was very comfortable.
The hotel is very centrally located within walking distance to dome good restaurants and the main shopping street.
Breakfast was very nice ( pancakes , fruit , scrambled eggs and sausage),and we requested some toast as an addition, which were given very generously.
A very nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathrine2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenStreetInn, Front Office Manager at Garden Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

So glad that you enjoyed our central location and breakfast. We do have a wonderful staff. Please do come back and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.7 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
652 reviews
1.8 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,476 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,708 reviews
1.8 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
409 reviews
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#9 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Street Inn

Address: 1212 Garden St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3914
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: C$198 - C$275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo on the Central California Coast, The Garden Street Inn is just steps from all the sights, sounds, shopping and history of vintage San Luis Obispo. This nostalgic college town surrounded by the natural beauty of the rolling hills and coastal valleys is a short drive from Avila and Morro Bay, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and artistic Cambria. Golf, tennis, biking and hiking opportunities abound. The myriad local tourist attractions including world renowned vineyards and wineries, California Missions, Museums and Beaches, make SLO a wonderful choice for a vacation getaway.Classic decor reflects Victorian charm in the 9 guest rooms and 4 suites of this San Luis Obispo Boutique Hotel - all with private baths, appointed with antiques, some with jacuzzi tubs and historical, cultural and personal memorabilia. The staff at the inn prepares a delicious breakfast each morning which is served in the McCaffrey Morning Room surrounded by original stained-glass windows.With spacious outside decks, a well-stocked Goldtree Library and well appointed accommodations, our San Luis Obispo staff in residence is proud to host your romantic interlude or a relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Garden Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Street Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing