We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
85
78
22
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
78
22
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect location to enjoymunicipal lotdelightful place to stayroom downstairsmarket nightthe ground floorfarmers marketfirst floorno elevatorboutique hotelbed was very comfortablegreat roomwaldendowntownslothursdaytrappings
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 214 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

The Garden Street Inn is such a rare and wonderful find. A beautifully restored Victorian in the city center, GSI goes to extra lengths to make sure your stay with them is very comfortable and you receive the personalized attention you would get if you were visiting a long time friend in the city. Staff are well-versed on all SLO events...The cookies are the best surprise!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Roya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2016

All the staff were very accommodating and informative about the changes in S.L.O. The breakfasts were varied and delicious. The cookies, every night, were a nice touch. I would recommend Garden Street Inn to anyone who plans to visit the area.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria-Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

Being right in the heart of old San Luis Obispo allowed for the freedom to park the car and walk around historic downtown. Literally only a 5 minute walk to the old Mission, shops, restaurants and the creekside paths. Fresh breakfast every morning, cookies at night, and a super comfy bed/room. Staff was friendly and service was top notch.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank xRobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenStreetInn, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Street Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

So glad your stay was enjoyable. We do hope that you will come back to visit us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We have been looking at this B&B for many a years while visiting here in SLO. We went to Cal Poly and have returned to visit the area many a times for over 30 years. This past October we finally bit the bullet and stayed here for one night on our way to LA. We stayed on a Thursday, which is the night for the "famous" Farmers Market in downtown. Great location for this, as it is really only a block away from downtown, so you can partake in all the local fun without driving etc. A major plus. We stayed in the Sunset Room (I believe the only room downstairs) and were not disappointed. Breakfast was awesome and specially prepared by the chef. The only bummer was the parking. We parked about two blocks away in a residential area for free. They do have a garage nearby but for $10/night.
We will sat here again....with Farmers Market in mind again!

Room Tip: There is only one room downstairs I think. Very quiet!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Husting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenStreetInn, Front Office Manager at Garden Street Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Thank you for staying with us and so glad that you enjoyed the farmer's market. We are in a wonderful location to be able to walk to the downtown area. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2016

I read the recent negative reviews, and they are correct that this is not a truly upscale inn. However, our room was super clean (Field of Dreams) with great outdoor space nearby. We loved that area, but I can imagine a lack of privacy if the Inn were full. Paul served an amazing breakfast and was helpful in finding us appropriate surf spots nearby. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenStreetInn, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Street Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Thank you for your response. We do appreciate the positive feedback regarding the room and the breakfast. Please do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews