We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lost then Found” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Chino Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lost then Found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We frequently stay here twice a month as of early 2010 and We have yet to be dissapointed, Maintenance is quick to respond, Cleaning services are quick and efficient, Employees are always very humble, The Gym is great, Complimentary breakfast is GREAT! We just recently stayed 3/3/12 and someone in our group misplaced a diamond ring we called back a week later once we noticed it was gone, not really expecting much but sure enough they called back the next buisness day early in the morning to let us know their cleaning crew turned it in! THATS FANTASTIC!!!!! how many genuine people do you know that would do that these days , not knowing the person it belongs to, we are very greatfull and at our next visit we will be meeting the employee and giving her compensation! A Good Deed Never Goes Unnoticed!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for ”noticing our good deed” and for taking the time to post your experience with our hotel on Tripadvisor. We have very good and honest associates here at the Quality Suites. I was pleased to read about your experience with our associates and how they got the lost ring back to your group.

We look forward to seeing you again on you next visit to San Luis Obispo.
George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    202
    51
    13
    6
See reviews for
276
188
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, British Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were so pleasantly surprised by this hotel/motel. We had a king suite on the ground floor (a word of warning - if you are noise sensitive you'd be better to book on the top floor), however the room was huge with a separate bedroom area with lots of counter space. The lighting was good and the amenities were superb. The pool and hot tub area are lovely and the included breakfast is served in a large dining room poolside or you can load up a tray and sit by the pool or take it back to your room. Free drinks are served in the bar from 5-7 (yes, free!) and a poolside barbeque for guests if available where prices range from $2 for a smokie to the high of $6 for a steak sandwich - all meals including salad. Sit in the bar with your free drinks, order up your barbequed dinner and enjoy your stay! Walking distance to downtown. The only complaint was that the front desk staff person we spoke to wasn't well informed and told us there were no hikes in the nearby mountains when we asked (there are lots).

Room Tip: If noise sensitive ask for a top floor room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bicycle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay while visiting our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the many amenities we offer. Many of our guests choose to walk downtown however; we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to downtown as well. One option a lot of our guest choose is to walk downtown and then called for the shuttle to be picked up. You are correct, there are many great hikes very close to the hotel. I have done many of them myself and I will inform the front desk on the hikes that I would recommend.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here one night with our 3 teenage boys on our way from San Francisco to Los Angeles and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms were clean and comfortable and while the boys made use of the pool and spa, we enjoyed the complimentary happy hour wine and beer. We stayed on for the hotel bbq - it was cheap and pretty basic but was perfect for us after a long day in the car. The hot breakfast the next morning was one of the best we had in our month away! I'd definitely recommend the hotel to any families needing accommodation in SLO.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay at our hotel. It is always great to hear how we helped a family enjoy their time together. Thank you for providing your recommendation to other families needing accommodations in San Luis Obispo. We provide the barbecue to our guests that prefer a good, quick, and inexpensive meal with the convenience of staying on the hotel property. It was good read that the barbecue worked out well for you and your family.

We hope to see you and your family again the next time you're able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

There are some negative points about this hotel but they're relatively insignificant when compared with the excellent service provided when we left some items behind, hence my 5/5 rating.

We were travelling across the US for two months and when we realised we'd left our (brand new) jackets behind, housekeeping was kind enough to forward them to our San Francisco hotel. The items were duly waiting when we arrived, saving us from the hassle of finding suitable replacements and the disappointment of losing them.

Yes, the decor is dated, yes the bathroom is small. But it's clean, very spacious and good value. There are nice extras I wouldn't necessarily expect from a motel, such as a pool and a happy hour. Breakfast was decent and fresh because it's cooked to order. It is on the edge of town but the walk is not too far and perfectly pleasant.

I wouldn't stay for a week but it's a perfectly good motel for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderluster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our hotel on tripadvisor. We are fortunate to have a very good housekeeping department. It was great to hear that they "went above and beyond" to get your items back to you quickly and efficiently. Nice to see that you rated us five out of five. We have a very good staff and they will appreciate knowing that you think highly of our hotel.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This is a great hotel! When I arrived, I was a bit disappointed because I thought it looked like a central casting motel. However, before I could even get to my room, I was sold. I asked the fellow checking me in if he knew where the firm I was visiting was located. Without a word, the gal working at the other end of the desk looked it up and gave me hand written directions.

The room was spacious and clean, had everything one could ask for. Breakfast was terrific, and Enrique was kind enough to open fifteen minutes early to accommodate my early schedule. Whipped up an omelet at 6:15. Sweet man.

Once again the front desk came through by recommending Blue for dinner. Wow. I skipped the happy hour and bbq, but walked by and it looked great.

This staff could work at the Four Seasons. Really. Thank you so much for such a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sistahsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. It was great to read that both the front desk staff and the café staff helped you out with your needs while you were here. I will let in Enrique know that I appreciate his extra effort in opening early so he could make up your omelet for breakfast. We have a very good staff and it is nice to know that they responded well to your needs. I appreciate hearing about the details of your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again next time business or pleasure brings you to San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have stayed at the Quality Suites in SLO twice now on business, and it is one of my favourite hotels. The rooms are huge, equipped with a flat screen TV in both the lounge and bedroom plus everything else you would expect in terms of amenities. The staff are fantastic - really friendly and accommodating. There is a free shuttle car that can get you around SLO, and free drinks in the bar every evening. Oh, and free cookies! The breakfast is also pretty good. Free wifi too. A winner!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Not to sound snobby, but we are resort people. We visit family in SLO and we always stay here. We love it. They do a geat job! Rooms are comfy and and the breakfast is great. Nice firepits in the eve. Everything is clean and well maintained. Front desk is helpful and they even have a shuttle untill 10 pm.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our hotel on tripadvisor. It was nice to read that you are “resort people” and “loved” our hotel. We do our best to provide a great experience for everyone from seasoned travelers to families taking their fist vacation.

Our associates will appreciate knowing that “they do a great job”.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.5 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
3.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
0.5 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
5.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing