We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Diego, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the place”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed in that hotel for business (7 weeks), Monday through Friday. It's an older hotel, but very clean, with friendly staff, free parking, free WI-Fi, delicious BBQ, coffee and apples in the lobby. Easy access to freeway, close to shopping and the restaurant -Margie's diner-next door .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    120
    78
    49
    46
See reviews for
150
106
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Everything is great. They no longer serve the bread basket for breakfast as advertized but they give a discount certificate to the restaurant next door Margie's Diner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Vangie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

After reading the negative reviews about the Rose Garden I was definitely concerned that I was staying at a Motel 6 style property with transients and hookers roaming around everywhere. What I found upon check in was a very cute older hotel with beautiful grounds, a super friendly staff, clean modern rooms with the most comfortable bed's I have ever slept in, including my tempurpedic at home. At checkin the young lady at the desk greeted us with a huge smile and offered us some cookies that she had just taken out of the oven. We ended up checking in and chatting with her for over an hour about local attractions, never once did we feel like she was annoyed by us or our questions, which is more than I can say for most hotel clerks! When we got to the room we were greeted by a fresh rose which was obviously picked from their gorgeous rose garden (Hence the name of the hotel) a very homey newly renovated room with a nice plush king bed, docking station for my iphone, huge flat screen tv and dvd player and a small patio which overlooked the pool. The room was one of the cleanest I have seen, and yes I looked everywhere. The maids in the hallsways smiled every time I walked by and the front desk girl even called to ask if we needed anything before she went home. All in all this was the best value I have ever received and I have to say judging a hotel based on 70 reviews is hardly a large enough sample size to judge a hotel so call the hotel and chat with the staff to get a better feel, im so glad that I did. We were thrilled with the Rose Garden Inn and know anyone else looking for a good value while traveling will too. Not to mention most hotels in SLO are upwards of $150 per night... Yikes I think we paid that for two nights at the ROse Garden!

Room Tip: Stay in the renovated wing it is much nicer and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sac delta
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I never have stayed at such a horrible place before. Looks incredible on line, but don't be fooled. The only thing on their web site that is true, is Free Parking. Check-in was unpleasant. We payed for the "upgraded" rooms. Furniture was done by Goodwill. The room was dusty, found an empty water bottle on the floor in the corner and the room was sprayed with somesort of bug spray. When we turned on the wall a/c unit, you can see nothing but dust blowing out. I didn't go complain because I didn't want to have to deal with the front desk again. There is a Motel 6 and Marriott next door. We should have stayed there. I rely on other members comments when looking for hotels etc. and they are usually right but the last couple of comments for this hotel are way off.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlcroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Santa Barbara
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I enjoy driving often to San Luis Obispo as a weekend getaway, so I searched the area for a hotel with the above-mentioned requirements. I looked at a few places before I found the Rose Garden Inn. By now I've stayed three times and each visit has been great. In October I made the trip with my two grandsons, aged 12 and15, to celebrate their birthdays. The rates are affordable, so they enjoyed sharing their own room across the hall from mine. The swimming pool was a hit. We all liked being close to the new shopping malls a couple of blocks away. Rose Garden Inn is the ideal getaway for me!

Room Tip: There are two wings, one of which has been upgraded and costs slightly more per night. I took rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santa-Faye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My family and I loved this place. It was reasonably priced, close to the freeway (but quiet), close to a restaurant (Margie's Diner), and the grounds were very well manicured. It really felt as though we were in a "rose garden." We would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaL186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachfrontinAvila, Public Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for your positive comment about the Rose Garden Inn. We do take pride in our beautiful rose gardens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We enjoy the Rose Garden because it is not too expensive (altho price seems to vary a lot from trip to trip). The cleaned up rooms are nice, altho the arm chair in our room was very stinky and dusty. The sliding windows are especially nice, since my husband needs a very cool room. And altho noisy, the air conditioner works well. The front desk people are wonderful. Very helpful, carry things for you, give information. It was a good experience.

Room Tip: The 100 rooms are the best. Close to parking and we like the larger double queen rooms. The whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseannaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
5.6 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
5.9 km away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
269 reviews
6.0 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
5.9 km away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
353 reviews
5.9 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing