We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in our room”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I took the kids to the Madonna Inn for one night on a stopover en route to San Francisco. The inn is certainly an iconic and unique place, well located along Highway 101. The over-the-top pink and fanciful decor is kind of cool in a kitschy sort of way. However, our room "Showboat" was nothing showy -- just a rather plain motel room, looking a bit old and tired. My daughter burned herself in the shower because the water was ridiculously hot. The chocolate cream pie was not so good, but breakfast was excellent. The cost was not a good value. We've "been there, done that" now but will select another option next time we are in the SLO area.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diverdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Front Office Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your previous stay with us. We appreciate all feedback. We apologize that the Showboat room didn’t fulfill all of your expectations, however, we have a wide variety of more elaborate and whimsical rooms to choose from the next time you join us. Even if you choose not to stay, we hope the next time you’re in town you will stop by and visit. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,656)
There are newer reviews for Madonna Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Coming from the UK, I was looking forward to booking a room at the Madonna Inn as a surprise for my wife during our California holiday in October. I sent an email to the Inn on 2 April asking if there were any packages I could choose to make the stay extra special and to get more info on certai rooms - no response (says on site to expect a response in 2-3 working days). I chased for a response on 4 April, nothing, and then noticed on 11 April that the manager was taking the time to respond to tripadvisor reviews so emailed again, this time to the general email address as well as reservations - again nothing.

I am extremely disappointed that the manager appears to be more concerned with thanking previous customers for their business rather than attracting new ones and I will now be staying at a standard motel rather than making San Luis Obispo a feature destination of our holiday.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Radyr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Everyone should see the Madonna Inn - a bit older and dated, yet funky and fun with lots of entertainment, a great pool & Spa, and a beautiful location. We stayed in two different rooms, one was fabulous, the other awaiting an update (no heated toilet seat).

Room Tip: building three to be closer to the pool; building two is surrounded by parking lots, building one is...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerrisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Front Office Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your previous stay with us. It is very common for many of our guests to switch rooms during their stay, so that can get the full Madonna Inn experience. We couldn’t be happier that you were able to do so. We appreciate all guests’ feedback, as this helps better improve our guest satisfaction. We do hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed overnight at the Madonna Inn overnight and had a great time. Every room has a different theme. We stayed in a standard room so ours was not one of the funner decorated theme rooms (those are the suites) but it was comfy, clean and had quite.

The spa and pool are great as well. We also ate breakfast in the restaurant before we left and it was delicious.

Room Tip: If you want one of the more elaborate theme rooms be sure to book a suite.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Front Office Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear all your expectations were exceeded. We do hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed at Madonna Inn again for a couple nights in January.

Of the 3 rooms we have stayed in, the Old World Suite is the best of the 3 (see previous review!)

Hideaway Room- 3 star
$219 a night
Has a rock shower but no waterfall.
The room is very dark... not much lighting.
It backs up to the parking lot so you pretty much have to keep the blinds closed most of the time.
Didn't really like the bathroom set up at all in this room.
The shower door is behind the bathroom door so it is kinda weird.
The shower is made of huge rocks and is NOT good for tall people.
If you are tall, you have to be careful to keep your head bent down the entire time to avoid banging it into the huge boulder rock that is sticking our directly above the shower!
Not a good shower for tall people!!

The bathroom also has one of those heated toilet seats with the water that will spray on your backside to clean you off and then an air dryer to dry you off.
It was interesting .......probably cool to have at home but in a hotel or a place with many people using it......... well that grossed me out!!!

Vintage Room- 3 stars
got a deal at $179 a night.

"Vintage" as in Wine, not as in retro!
This room seems to be one of the older, more standard type (and cheaper) rooms.
This one was decorated in wine type colors and had all tile floor.. .no carpet.
Also it had a back patio with nice fireplace which was cool....... only down side is that it is not private!

All 3 rooms I have stayed at here have been spotlessly clean!

If you are looking for a really 'fun' room... definitely get one with a rock shower and waterfall....... I recommend the Old World Suite.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcoastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Front Office Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your previous stay with us. It’s these comments that will better assist our staff with exceeding all our guests’ satisfaction. All you key comments have been forwarded on to the appropriate departments. Again, thank you for writing your review, and we hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We took this trip a couple of years ago; i took my 2 sons. The room was PURPLE(ok, lavender) and seemed OLD. I might call it quirky. It was just OK but seemed pricey.
We only stayed one night then drove to San Francisco where we stayed @ the OMNI for only ~$40 more ( a great deal from travelocity!). Madonna Inn couldn't possibly compare favorably to the OMNI. I would avoid Madonna Inn as old, tacky & overpriced. Try a nice bed & breakfast or a bigger chain suite-hotel (La Quinta is nice).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Front Office Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear valued guest. We appreciate your feedback, as all comments help better improve our guest satisfaction. Much has changed in the past few years since you joined us. We apologize that your expectations were not exceeded, but we look forward to seeing you again next time you pass through town, even if it’s just to stop by and do a little shopping or to have lunch in our café.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Madonna Inn is a quirky and fun hotel that has seen better days. Each room has an unusual theme, and I can imagine that it is worth visiting on a lark, but in my opinion it was just too expensive for the level of quality the accomodation offered.

We stayed in The Fox & Hound Room, which was rather gloomy, damp and cold. If their aim was to recreate the feeling of staying in an old pub somewhere on the countryside in England before central heating was invented, then they were successful. (Granted, it actually was a cold and rainy day in March in southern California.)

Naturally the room did have heating, which blew hot, dusty air out of a vent in the ceiling. The gas fireplace also made strange moaning noises, yet provided little warmth.

The whole place just gave the impression of desperately needing an overhaul, which is OK, but not at $300 a night, sorry, or $14 for a glass of wine at the bar. We didn't even bother trying the restaurant for fear of the prices. Instead, we went to iHop next door.

And on top of all that, it is directly on the freeway.

I think it is definitely a fun place to visit, if only the prices were a little more realistic.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia_wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Front Office Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We take all comments seriously and appreciate your honesty. All comments have been forwarded on the appropriate departments. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we hope the next time you pass through our area, you will stop by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.4 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,425 reviews
3.3 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
627 reviews
3.0 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,225 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
877 reviews
3.5 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $290 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing