We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
51
11
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
11
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews body lotion great wifi newer hotel front desk morning breakfast easy access long weekend bottled water high floor other hotels clean hotel fresh fruit great hotel room service free parking recommend this hotel robot
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 66 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We have stayed at this property twice in the past 8 months. It's convenient to our final destination for family gatherings.

I'm impressed by the cleanliness of the room(s). Our first stay was in a room that had a separate seating area and it was welcomed as we had arrived late and had to pick up some dinner on the way there. The area allowed for comfortably being able to set up our food and enjoy our meal.

I find the location convenient to the freeway and at a good price.

The staff attends well to the breakfast area; constantly observing and refreshing what needs to be.

I will always use this property whenever I have to travel to this area.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PADinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briana A, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Hello PADinSoCal,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Thank you for being a return guest with our property as we always enjoy seeing a familiar face. Our hotel is specifically made for the traveler on the go; as you mentioned our extra dining area allows our guests to sit in peace to enjoy a meal or get business done.

We are located right next to the 78 freeway for easy access to San Diego, the beaches and more; thank you for mentioning this. San Marcos is centrally located around many different restaurants, shopping , the mall , etc.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I were attending a function at Cal State San Marcos and this hotel was very close to the university. The front desk staff were very polite and the King room that we booked was clean and had plenty of room. The one negative was that the tub did not drain well. Even so, if I needed to be in the area I would likely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briana A, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Hello Lynn F,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear that you would like to stay with us again! Being close to Cal State San Marcos brings in many different travelers and families to our hotel. Thank you for mentioning our front desk team, as we try our best to accommodate all guests. We would lastly like to apologize for the inconvenience with your tub drain and can ensure you we do keep up with our enginerring team for all situations as syuch.

We hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We stayed here at a great rate. We are locals displaced for one night so we close to stay close. Welcoming staff at check in. Walked across street for dinner at Pizza Nova. Drove 1 1/2 miles to listen to great live jazz at Northern Spirits ( 7-11 pm) (check first).
Comfortable rooms, Very quiet. Very clean and new. View to south of hills and university. One block from the 78 freeway. ok breakfast with pretty good variety, esp. fresh fruit offerings. Got a tad crowded at 10:30 am.

Room Tip: ask for room facing south away from San Marcos Blvd.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterwoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas K, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay, Waterwoman1!
Our hotel is very grateful for the feedback from travelers near and far. As a local resident, it's nice to know you've had the opportunity to experience our lodging facility and the amenities offered. The guest service robot is a real treat, and we hope you enjoyed the delivery. There are many departments that make the hotel run smoothly, and we will be sure to let Breakfast, Housekeeping and the Front Office team how much you enjoyed your stay. Pizza Nova is a great restaurant to have within walking distance!
Thank you for the suggestion on live music, that's great information to relay to visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

This place is pretty new so the accommodations are modern and reasonably spacious.
The staff was relatively new and eager to help. There were 4 small group of us and all were complementary of the experience.
They were particularly helpful by allowing us to move some valuable plants from our pickup to one of their meeting rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas K, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Hello Jim F,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We were happy to assist yourself and your group. Thank you for mentioning our new property and also our modern accommodations. Our brand, Fairfield, is designed for a business travelers and is made for an easy stay overnight ! If you are ever in the San Marcos area again, please come stay with us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

We have stayed here now twice when visiting my in-laws in San Marcos. The hotel is clean and everyone we meet is very friendly. I enjoy the fact we can get in and out easy. We always like staying at Fairfield Inn's but this one seems to be my favorite. Thank you to the staff for making our visit so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scruz5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas K, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Thank you for continually choosing our hotel property, Scruz5454! We strive to create an experience during your stay that creates the desire to come back each time routine travelers are in town. It's so nice to know that when you're here to visit family, you've come to know exactly what you will get here. Our entire team is here to welcome guests and treat all travelers with special attention. The ease of our location is definitely helpful for visitors, and we look forward to the growth and new businesses (to come) around us! Looking forward to welcoming you back next time you're in San Marcos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews