We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not that great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn San Marcos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn San Marcos
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

FIRST, the ice machine didn't work, and when I asked front desk, the said they would have to reset it, and it would take 30 minutes. I came back 2 hrs later and it still didn't work. Clerk said he didn't know why it wasn't working at this point. The next day, same issue with ice machine. The clerk didn't seem interested in doing anything to resolve this issue. He said the ice machine was reported to his manager, and this has been going on for some time now. I never did get any ice from that machine. It was the only ice machine at the hotel.

Second, the internet wasn't working either, and the clerk didn't know about why it wasn't working. He really didn't care if you ask me.

I WOULD NOT STAY THERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scbvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    83
    97
    64
    63
See reviews for
144
64
59
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a BUDGET motel! THe place is very run down and there isn't anything nice about it. If you are on a budget and this is all you can afford then go for it. There is a very small pool and no jacuzzi. The rooms are TINY!!! Crammed with furniture. The bed was actually pretty comfy. The free breakfast was cereal and waffles. No protein. Chicos mexican restaurant right next door had great food. The place itself is run down and falling apart. You can drive North 1 exit and there is a great shopping area with tons of places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahruthc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Marcos hotels

San Marcos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

This place is nasty run down, the electrical outlets wiggle and things you plug in don't work unless you get it just right. The bed springs were broken and the whole room smells bad of smoke/dirt. Then they still ask as much as some higher class hotels. This place should be torn down.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I am an expectant mother of a three year old and a wife. We booked in advance and paid fifty five bucks a night with 10% tax on top of that. It is a budget hotel and we stayed in a room with a King sized bed on the second floor. Parking seemed a little tight at times and it seems that a tow truck was constantly lingering. Our stay was great and the breakfast was wonderful each morning. I LOVED the fresh waffles every morning. We ate at Tony Roma's in Restaurant Row and had a delightful three course dinner for 12.99 that included salad, half slab of ribs, and dessert-you just had to order it before 6:00pm.
Only a pregnant woman would share this one, but I loved their Sugared Citrus soaps and shampoos!!! They were amazing.
Pros-amazing value with breakfast included, clean rooms (no bugs), great location, not alot of traffic, fantastic restaurants all around,
Cons-the ice machine was broken for our two night stay, so we had to get ice from the office, the pool is clean, but looks like it needs remodeling and is not heated, close to expressway so some units may hear traffic noise-we did not

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzyq76bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Look, you get what you pay for. It's not a glorious place. The rooms kind of smell like smoke. You're surrounded by highway. However, it's cheap and serviceable. No gym. No good running around there either.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stalkingsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I liked my stay at the Ramada Limited. I needed a hotel halfway between L.A. and San Diego. The price was right and the location looked safe and convenient. The Ramada Limited was a pleasurable stay.

I asked for a room on the top floor, away from the street and I got one. My room was a good size, though the TV is very close to the edge of the bed, and the bathroom is a touch small. But the room was perfectly good for me. My neighbor was blaring his TV from the hallway but once I closed my door, I couldn't hear it at all, which is a good sign of their walls.

The room is no frills but clean. You get the usual shampoo, lotion, soap kit and there is a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

Even though the motel is close to the freeway, you can't really hear the street noise. The motel is also very close to lots of shops and restaurants.

The parking lot is big and ample parking. The buildings can be a little confusing to navigate as there aren't a lot of signs pointing you to where you need to go, but it's not a big deal.

WiFi was free and good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilMissTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Room faced away from freeway with large television, desk, hairdryer, refrig and microwave. Friendly desk clerk was helpful in offerring services such as wi-fi,parking, and free breakfast. Our only problem was rush hour traffic exiting San Diego to get here! We were greatly delayed because the San Diego Airport commuter terminal is ignored by Thrifty car rental pick up service. Do not rent from Thrifty in San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vitreous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 4 in San Marcos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.7 km away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
7.9 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown in Escondido
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
7.2 km away
Comfort Inn Escondido
Comfort Inn Escondido
#8 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
6.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Marcos

Property: Days Inn San Marcos
Address: 517 W San Marcos Blvd, San Marcos, CA 92069-2721 (Formerly Ramada Limited San Marcos)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
Ramada San Marcos
San Marcos Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing