We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Top of the Market - San Mateo
Reserve with OpenTable
Top of the Market - San Mateo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 449 Restaurants in San Mateo
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fashion Is. Blvd.
Transit: Public transit stops at South Norfolk directly in front of the restaurant.
Description: Although a Peninsula landmark since 1982, Top of the Market in San Mateo is almost a secret discovery above the bustling Fish Market downstairs. This intimate restaurant overlooking a quiet lagoon evokes the sophisticated charm of the classic, timeless bay area fish house. The seasonal American menu features the finest seafood, meats and local produce complimented by an exceptional wine list.
Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

This place is great! I could hardly choose the seafood meal that I wanted to order since there were so many awesome selections available. I highly recommend this place!!!!

Thank FunTravelingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2014

With such few places to select from in Foster City, I highly recommend the Top of the Market. It overlooks a little river & perfect for lunch meetings. The food focus is California cuisine and fish/seafood.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emiliamd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2014

Had a great meal at the Fish Market , San Mateo to top off our stay .
Good food , nice atmosphere on the water.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank F9056HGandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2014

If you are in staying near the San Francisco airport, we can highly recommend Top of the Market restaurant in San Mateo. My husband and I had a great dinner tonight. He had the Canadian Petrale Sole and I had the Northeast Haddock fish & chips - both were excellent. The fish is fresh as well as the side dishes. The restaurant is upstairs in the same building as The Fish Market. Top of the Market is a more upscale and diffidently quieter than The Fish Market. So if you are looking for excellent fish dishes, great service in a quiet relaxed atmosphere, and are in the San Mateo area Top of the Market is your place.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank N2O2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and definitely a few steps up from downstairs. Completely worth the extra $$. Sitting at the bar is fun because you can watch as your food is being prepared.

Thank RILKEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top of the Market - San Mateo also viewed

 
San Mateo, CA
 

Been to Top of the Market - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing