We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to America”
Review of Hillsdale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillsdale Inn
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is lovely but maybe not for the snobs
Staff are so sweet and lovely Elton and breakfast is free ...they can do with some seating area in the bar and yes it does need a refurbishment but does the price it's well worth every penny xxx
Payal choudhary

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank payal3175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2016

We went there to save some sleeping costs for visiting San Francisco in high season. Motel is OK. Friendly people and clean room. Danny's in walk range. There is also bar in this property. Easy access from Highway.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kolczan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

We had to take our dad to the VA & needed a hotel. My boyfriend & I actually enjoyed our two night stay here. Our room was nothing like all these horror stories. It was very clean & tidy when we walked in. Our dad loved the stay also. We went to the bar both nights & played pool. The bartender Chris was a great guy. We are going back here in Dec & renting a room again because our experience was pleasant. We even met some of the regulars & it was nice that they remembered us from before. It was a very friendly & loving bar. Thank you so much for the wonderful stay & can't wait to come back. Mr. Howerton also said that the office was very polite & respectful.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this place as an alternative to downtown San Fran, wish I had payed the extra this was not a nice place.
They mix paying guests with long term residents, we had a young guy playing rap music so loud it made the building vibrate on one side and a couple arguing till all hours on the other.
It is dirty with a hint of urine throughout.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Murf63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

The motel was smelling of cigarette smoke. My friend's bottom bed sheet had a certain stain to it not sure whether it was urine or vomit. The only plus I would say would be the fridge, coffee machine facilities and power shower. TV was good as well but I think it just was not to my personal taste. Staff was friendly and helpful so thank you.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Worst Hotel/inn ever! You know when you see on the TV some sleazy motel with a dead body outline on the floor? Well this is that place. No lighting, no hot water tap working, no Internet, no food facilities at all. Dark Dungey Terrible.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We stayed her because we were catching a plane out of SFO the next morning. The Hotel is on the run down side and seems to have a lot of long term people staying there. They young lady at the front desk was very nice and check in was very simple. You do have your regular front door and also a glass patio door. If it's just for a night it's not so bad but anything longer then that I would look else where.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Likes2Getout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Mateo hotels
1.8 km away
Howard Johnson Express San Mateo
1.6 km away
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
0.4 km away
Los Prados Hotel
Los Prados Hotel
#9 of 12 in San Mateo
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale Inn

Address: 477 E Hillsdale Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94403-2899
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range: $137 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillsdale Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hillsdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing