We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service/ so so hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
“Great Service/ so so hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel is a little run down, but the service was great. I recommend one a bit further from the airport (if location isn't an issue) for a nicer H.I

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessieriboli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Jessieriboli,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was sorry to hear some aspects did not meet your expectations. I am pleased that our staff was able to off set this displeasure with great service. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    88
    62
    23
    12
See reviews for
66
44
21
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed teh night closer to the airport to catch an early flight. It is close enough to the airport but not noisy at all. The rooms were very clean. So, the only thing I did was checkin, sleep and took the shuttle early morning. It all worked out very well. Will do it again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I couldn't get online to do work from 9 pm to 11:30 pm. I complained and they said the internet usually goes down when they get busy.
Very rude attendant at their way overpriced breakfast restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaBusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Pros:
1) Hotel is great. New, big and super clean. Probably the nicest Holiday Inn I have stayed.
2) Good area

Cons:
1) Staff is not very friendly. I waited for 5+ minutes when I first arrived because the front desk lady was on the phone.
2) No free breakfast
3) I was charged $2.00+ for a bottle of water
4) Checked out early and nobody at the desk for a long time. Didnt get receipt.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComebackShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

During my recent stay at the San Mateo Holiday Inn I locked my keys in my rental car. I rented the car 200 miles away so there was no way to go get a second key. I had just arrived and my suitcase and briefcase were still in the car. I did not even have my glasses. I went to the front desk and admitted to what I had done. I was so embarassed. I asked for a coat hanger and I went outside to try and break into my rental car. After about ten minutes as I was still trying get into my car a locksmith pulled up. The clerks at the front desk were so nice and had called Rema Marans the Sales Manager, who unknown to me immediately called a locksmith. The locksmith opened the car in 2 minutes. Rema Marans took care of the locksmith charges. I can not thank Rema, the frfont desk staff at the Holiday Inn San Mateo including the maintenance man who found me a wire coat hanger enough for their help and assistance. While this was not a earth shattering problem, their helpful attitude was greatly appreciated. I will definately stay there my next visit. It was very clean and my room was vedry nice.
Mike Thomas

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I switched to this hotel from a larger, seemingly more upscale hotel based on the great reviews this one had compared to the other, and the inclusion of complimentary parking and wi-fi in the reasonable rate. I was expecting basic clean accomodations convenient to the airport and my work nearby on the peninsula. I got all that plus an unexpected level of pleasantness from the dutiful staff. The only way I can explain it is that they greeted me like I was there to stay in their home rather than a hotel by the side of the highway...and that vibe continued with everyone I met working in the hotel during my 4 day stay. The location was very convenient, though not a pedestrian area..no restaurants or anything you'd walk to aside from the restaurant and bar located in the hotel. I did not try the restaurant and opted instead for some good local restaurants in downtown San Mateo a few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA1NTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel is general its ok , they have large clean rooms , the only thing I dind´t like was the pillows.
the location is convenient if you have a car,because there are no restaurants or shops nearby, but there is downtown san mateo 5 minutes driving.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syympa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.3 km away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
3.6 km away
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel
3.1 km away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
4.5 km away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Property: Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Address: 330 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Mateo
#3 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites San Mateo / San Francisco SFO is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off US-101, we are situated among fine dining, world-renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities. Our prime location places you within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, East Bay, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and is a short drive from Napa and Sonoma Valley which hosts some of the finest vineyards in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
Quality Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing