We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms look nice, but have some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 June 2012

At a glance, the hotel and rooms overall look nice. The rooms are clean and large. However, when staying there, you'll notice some issues that a hotel like this should not have. First of all, the wifi is basically non-existent. It may be better if you're closer to the lobby, but from our room, the wifi was basically not usable at all. You needed to have a laptop plugged into an ethernet cord just to get a decent internet connection here. Also, the heater in the room didn't really work well. It was running the entire evening, night, and until the next morning. It didn't start actually heating up the room until about 6:00am. Finally, I had requested a late checkout (1:00pm) the day before, vs. their usual checkout time of 12:00 non. However, at 11:00am, housekeeping knocked and asked when we were leaving. When we said we had a late checking, housekeeping said, "so... you're checking out at noon?" Really, I don't like being rushed out of the hotel even before the checkout time. Still, the front desk staff gave us a huge room and the room still looked nice and clean, so I'll give the hotel 3 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipsyde112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear flipsyde112,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Great location if you are catching a flight at the SFO airport. It is convenient to shopping malls, restaurants, etc if you have your own car. Big rooms. Clean rooms and comfy beds. No adjoining rooms for families though as it is more of a business hotel. Be warned though as the commotion from the room above caused our window frames and ceiling to shake as if there was an earthquake...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

First time at this place. room was very clean and spacious. would stay here again if our proffered hotel is overbooked again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaMa6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Booked two rooms using priority club rewards on May 2nd, 2012. Never stayed here before, but they state that they have a shuttle to SFO airport. Returned my rental car early night before my departure so I would not have to deal with returning the rental car the moning of my flight out of SFO. The hotel was totally understaffed that day. One young woman who seemed pretty young had to manage the hotel that night. We made three calls to get the shuttle service from SFO to the hotel. Long story short, after almost an hour of waiting we ended up taking a taxi to the hotel. Once there I asked for a Manager and was told that the only person was the young lady holding up the fort. Still have not heard from the manager even though I left my cell phone. And by the way, I am a platinum priority club member. Would not recommended this hotel for business travelers or anyone needing to be close to the airport or shuttle service. You can do better with other Holidayinn brands. This was just not what I would expect. Never again at this hotel. Cost me more in the long run. And did I mention again that even as a platinum priority club member I have not heard from the general manager or anyone from the hotel. Take your business elsewhere.

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKandLSaintPaul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear MKandLSaintPaul_MN,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced concerning the shuttle service. Let me take this opportunity to inform you that this matter will be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Mateo.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed here the night before our early morning flight. The lobby is beautiful, the rooms look good for the most part. There was a seam in the wall paper that was coming loose. The worse part is that the room was very musty. I tried to ignore it. I'm not very sensitive to things like this. It was in the entire hallway as well. I thought of asking for a different room but I think it's the entire hotel. Maybe it's due to a bad air conditioning system... I won't stay here again because of this. Last time we stayed for an early morning flight we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. It's much nicer, though there was no restaurant. The restaurant, Hooligan's was ok The menus were sticky, the food was oily. I should take my own advice next time!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear pruth,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I'm glad you liked our lobby. On the other hand, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations. I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just wanted to say, the rooms are large and nice, parking is free, and breakfast in the restuarant (while not free) was good!. The manager (Rema Marans) helped us with an additional stay and Kara at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Spending 4 nights at this great hotel was really a pleasant surprise. We were given a free upgrade to a big on- bedroom suite (with a separate living area). The room is spacious, very clean, looks as if it has been newly renovated. The young lady at the reception who checked us in was new, not well informed regarding safety deposit boxes in the lobby, nevertheless she was friendly and helpful.
The pros are: windows are doubled glazed and can be opened, the airconditioning is excellent. Free parking and free internet.
The cons are: the supposedly "high speed" internet is actually very slow and sometimes no access at all which can be very disappointing. No free breakfast. These are the reasons why I just can rate this hotel "very good" instead of excellent.
We'll be staying in this hotel if we visit the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximilliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.3 km away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
3.1 km away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
4.3 km away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
3.6 km away
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Address: 330 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Mateo
#3 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range: $140 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites San Mateo / San Francisco SFO is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off US-101, we are situated among fine dining, world-renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities. Our prime location places you within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, East Bay, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and is a short drive from Napa and Sonoma Valley which hosts some of the finest vineyards in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
Quality Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing