We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
358
211
66
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
211
66
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home depot great hotel red robin foster city shopping and restaurants business trip lobby area easy access stayed one night business traveler half moon bay sfo airport definitely stay here again free parking great room convenient location free breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 678 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Stayed overnight because Half Moon Bay hotels are extremely expensive for low quality. THIS hotel was not far from our desired location, and was the cleanest, newest, quietest hotel I've ever stayed in! And you HAVE to take advantage of their free breakfast ticket. You get a full meal, and juice, coffee, etc included in your room rate. Better than most diner breakfasts!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Curly_5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Thanks for the nice review. I do want to clarify about the breakfast price. We sell packages that include breakfast with the room which is what you booked. If you plan on eating breakfast in the hotel then it makes the most sense to reserve the breakfast inclusive package as the price is less expensive than paying for it separately. Our regular breakfast price for our all you can eat buffet is $17.95 per person plus tax and gratuity. This includes eggs made to order, bacon, potatoes, coffee, juice, etc. so it's a very nice buffet.

Thanks again.

Derek Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We arrived very late due to delay at the SFO and originating flight, and Air Tran out of service after midnight. Thanks to remote check in one day prior and digital key, we got into our room without additional time added to a tiring trip. Our 5 day stay was enjoyable. The room was great and clean. The breakfast was superb and service excellent. We also used the hotel limited restaurant for dinner and thought the menu was fine and the food delicious. The location is convenient for going to Foster City, San Mateo, Burlingame, and even San Francisco. It is a short 5 min. drive to Seal Point Park for walk, biking or run. This Garden Inn will be on our list to return to when we need a hotel in the area.
The only problem we encountered was our digit key had problem starting day 2 and for some reason, it could not be resolved before we left. We just used the paper card key instead. It would also be nice to log in on internet once for the stay instead of every day.

Room tip: Choose one away from the elevator and service galley
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ResponsibleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Most HGI are nice... this one needs some repairs and better housekeeping... bed was great but there are several things that could be fixed and housekeeping needs to brush up on there work ethics.. I was able to wipe someone else’s make up off of the bathroom vanity... as well as the door had splitting panel coming off of it and there was a crack in the shower.. there was also what looks like a water line around the wallpaper in the bathroom.... Breakfast was $17.95....Pictures attached.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lovetotravel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Lovetotravel720,

I'm sorry to hear about the condition of your room. I will bring your comments to the attention of our housekeeping and maintenance staff so these items are corrected immediately.

Our all you can eat breakfast includes eggs made to order along with many other items plus Starbucks coffee and juice. Wages and housing prices in the area are very high compared with many other markets. Our breakfast is priced competitively for the area.

Thanks again for taking the time to relay your comments.

Sincerely,
Derek Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Overall not bad, the building and area was nice. The room was just okay and there was nothing special about the bathroom. The room felt like a normal hotel room. I did enjoy watching the jets fly down to the airport, but the window was dirty and needed to be cleaned from the outside. The breakfast was too expensive at $17.95, so we went offsite to eat.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Cruiser789712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Always hard to find a reasonable hotel on the Peninsula as the prices can be crazy. I am going to the area regularly for business right now and this hotel came up with a reasonable price. The location is relatively convenient in that it is close to the airport and close to freeways to get around. The hotel is a standard issue Hilton Garden Inn so if you have stayed in that chain you know exactly what to expect.

The breakfast in the restaurant was the standard fare. The staff were friendly and offered coffee refills promptly. The chef was prompt in cooking to order eggs and they were done well. I always order over medium eggs and these were done nicely (i.e. not over hard or over easy). I didn't try the restaurant for other than breakfast.

The room I was in was nice and felt relatively spacious. It was clean and modern. Everything worked and felt relatively new - not tired and over-used.

The Garden Inn formula is a good one and I like it. This one did it well.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaQi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews