We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
5
6
6
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
6
6
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 32 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Looking for an inexpensive stay because we had an early flight and arrived late for check in. After reading the reviews we opted for this motel. Unfortunately, it was not as clean as was expected. We felt somewhat uncomfortable. For ex., the floors were not swept and were gritty. This I can put up with. But the bath room was a different story. The floors were dirty (hair), mold around tub and sink, the handle to the shower came off (stripped), the bottom of the door was peeling. For $99 it could have been better. We are familiar with pricing in the area so did not expect much, but!
In all fairness, the bed was comfortable and the linen clean. Unlike other properties, the air conditioner worked great. Being from a cold area, we like it cool. Based on the reviews, this room may be slated for improvements, I hope. The location is great and easy to get to and easy to exit from. Very close to airport.

Room Tip: No elevator that we saw. Ask for bottom floor if carrying luggage is difficult. Parking is tight.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FosterMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Mateo / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Dean guest, thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We try very hard to make our guests stays as pleasant as possible and it is always a disappointment when we learn one of them has left with a less than first-rate experience. We wish you had mentioned this to our team, we would have switched your rooms, which should have corrected most of these(specifically cleanliness) issues. Our room service team generally does a great job when it comes to preparing the room for guests, so it is strange that this had happened. We apologize for your inconvenience. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you that we are better than this.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2016

Stayed here in October to close to the airport. Room was clean and reasonably priced compared to others in the area. Is it fancy? No. Is it functional , yes. If airport proximity is an issue I'd stay again.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank midwest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Mateo / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I understand first hand that while traveling location, cleanliness and service are of the top importance. I am pleased we were able to deliver on those accounts. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us in the future and should you ever need anything, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Best,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

I researched a lot of Hotels, motel's, etc before booking with America's Best Inn San Mateo, they had a nightly rate in our budget and the Hotel was quite decent. It's undergoing remodeling and it appears to be going well. My sister in law is blind and we had no problem getting a downstairs room that was easily accessible. The free breakfast was satisfying easily accessible. The room was clean , the bed comfortable and the staff friendly. We stayed 4 night's and I would recommend them to my friends and family. And the price couldn't be beat. For us it worked out beautifully, with day trips around the bay area easy to travel to.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Roberta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Mateo / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your wonderful review, Roberta. We are delighted that you and sister in law enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that you were not too inconvenienced by our renovations. We are really excited about getting the work done, and we can't wait for all of our guests to experience our new, improved product. We hope to welcome you back to stay when we're all shiny and new!

Best,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Truthfully, no complaints. Everything was right within expectations for this style of Inn. The check-in process was easy, service was friendly, the rooms were clean, the AC worked and the room had a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Certainly the towels and amenities aren't high end, but they work just fine and meet expectations. Good location, easy walk (or cheap Uber) to stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Mateo / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Jeanette, thank you for your review! We love to hear comments like yours - many people have this experience when they stay with us but don't take the time to leave a review, so thank you! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was to your liking. We'd love to welcome you back when you're next in the area.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Staff is very professional, super friendly and very accomodating. Facilities are very clean, and very conveniently located. Parking is available at no additional cost, and Continental breakfast served daily. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank meliel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelingJon7, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Mateo / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

We are delighted that you had such a comfortable stay with us, and that you found your room so clean - providing a clean, comfortable room is our number one priority. Thank you for your comment about our staff, we get this type of feedback a lot, and we just love to get it, our staff is our greatest asset. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews