We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
5
6
6
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
6
6
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

There is a big difference with being cheap and being value for money. Regrettably this place is neither. The rooms are basic and look fine, as you would expect, but closer inspection shows how poorly maintained they are. Broken towel rails, small towels designed to take the top layer of your skin off, coffee pot still full from some previous guest (even at the end of the stay!)
There are many options for accommodation around SFO. This place shouldn’t be included on your list.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank DarreninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Mateo / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

DarreninHK,

Thank you for letting us know about the inconveniences that you encountered during your
recent stay at our hotel. This is certainly distressing to hear and we want you to know that we are addressing the issue
as guest service and satisfaction are our top priorities. We do hope that you'll change your mind about seeking out new accommodations in the area and withholding your valuable recommendation of our hotel to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

We arrived last night - due to flight delays we got in around 4AM. The room was large but after that it was all downhill.
To begin with there was an unpleasant smell in the room - definitely not a clean odor. The pole on which clothing could be hung, was detached from the wall on one end.
In the bathroom there was a large circular orange shape on the floor, under the sink - maybe rust? One side of the bed had a charging device: on the other side of the bed the nightstand had to be moved to locate the outlets.
The water in the bathroom sink didn't drain well at all. In the morning I took a shower in the coldest water imaginable. The water from the sink was also cold, regardless of the position of the faucet. I called the front desk and reported this problem. About an hour later, when my husband showered, the water was warm.
The message light on our phone kept blinking. The front desk told us to ignore it.
This morning I had laundry to do - when I opened the door to "guest laundry" I saw a washer and a dryer, both coin operated. No room to sit or to fold clothes or to hang them. What bothered me was how dirty both machines were and how filthy the floor was.
I went to the front desk to get change and asked if they had detergent and fabric softener. I got some coins and detergent. I was told they had no softener. However went I returned to the machines I saw a vending machine with detergent and fabric softener.
When I suggested to the front desk person that he direct guests to the vending machine, he told me it doesn't work. Also, he said the manager was aware of the problem, but he didn't know if the manager had called anyone to fix it. I simply had no energy to tell him he needed to put an, "Out of Order"sign on the vending machine.
Walking up to the second floor I hoped to use the handrails. They were entirely too sticky.
Basically this place is a PIT. But because every other nearby hotel costs well over $275 a night, this one is full - the cost here is $98.10 a night.
The old adage: "you get what you pay for" is so very true. It's shameful that $100 gets crap.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Mateo / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such an unusual circumstance and inconvenience during your most recent stay with us. We would like you to know that guest satisfaction is of extreme importance to us and your feedback has been forwarded to management. We truly thank you again for sharing your feedback and for your valuable business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018

Tv didn't work, called desk and he came right up to fix it so thats one of the good parts but other than that-Bed didn't have a bottom sheet attached plus stained and dirty. Shower curtain had blood or similar on it. Towels were dirty like they were never washed. Hot water took long to get hot, water stains under sink and in bath. Asked for another blanket and they didn't have extras. We were woken up at 8am by housekeeping knocking on our door. Breakfast was scarce, cereal, danishes and yogurt. Won't be coming back

Room Tip: Clean the walls, replace shower curtains, clean sheets and towels
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Mateo / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018



Thank you for letting us know about the inconveniences that you encountered during your recent stay at our hotel. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. We hope that you will change your mind about giving us a second chance and that you will someday return to be impressed by the changes we've made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2017

Rooms & bathroom were small but clean, fairly fresh, had all the expected tech (decent sized TV, mini fridge & microwave, iron & board, etc,) and plenty of plug-ins for computer, phone, and the like. Check-in was straightforward and professional. Parking was very tight in under-building parking. The major drawback is the location, which is in the middle of a sketchy apartment-Lt. industrial neighborhood adjacent to the freeway...and not near to restaurants, shops, or anything traveler related. Not good unless you have a car. Typical (minimal) "continental breakfast."

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LivingHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Mateo / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that our location was not to your liking. Best wishes, Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Looking for an inexpensive stay because we had an early flight and arrived late for check in. After reading the reviews we opted for this motel. Unfortunately, it was not as clean as was expected. We felt somewhat uncomfortable. For ex., the floors were not swept and were gritty. This I can put up with. But the bath room was a different story. The floors were dirty (hair), mold around tub and sink, the handle to the shower came off (stripped), the bottom of the door was peeling. For $99 it could have been better. We are familiar with pricing in the area so did not expect much, but!
In all fairness, the bed was comfortable and the linen clean. Unlike other properties, the air conditioner worked great. Being from a cold area, we like it cool. Based on the reviews, this room may be slated for improvements, I hope. The location is great and easy to get to and easy to exit from. Very close to airport.

Room Tip: No elevator that we saw. Ask for bottom floor if carrying luggage is difficult. Parking is tight.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FosterMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Mateo / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Dean guest, thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We try very hard to make our guests stays as pleasant as possible and it is always a disappointment when we learn one of them has left with a less than first-rate experience. We wish you had mentioned this to our team, we would have switched your rooms, which should have corrected most of these(specifically cleanliness) issues. Our room service team generally does a great job when it comes to preparing the room for guests, so it is strange that this had happened. We apologize for your inconvenience. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you that we are better than this.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews