We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine al fresco if you get the chance”

Il Davide Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 257 Restaurants in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd and 4th
Reviewed November 12, 2018

We've enjoyed eating at Il Davide for years, always good food and friendly wait staff. Sitting outside is always a treat if the weather permits. It can get quite noisy for inside especially if it's a full house, which it usually is between 6 and 9pm. The private room is very nice for parties though expensive to rent. It's our 'go-to' restaurant if we are seeing a show at the Rafael Theatre. Make sure to make reservations, whether for lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peggy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 235 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2018

It has some wonderful dishes and excellent service. It is quite noisy so for those with hearing issues try to get a table in the back. We made a reservation but people tend to stay longer than necessary but it was a Sat. night.

I liked that seafood pasta and the Ll Davide salad. My husband always orders the shrimp bruschetta which he really likes.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2018

We were on a whistle stop tour of San Rafael and spotted this restaurant and so glad we did, our waiter Cesar looked after us well and we had a simple, light, but very tasty lunch. My wife had the Lemon & Coconut tart which she described as one of the best ever!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

My friend and I came for a birthday lunch. We sat in the bar area as it is the least noisy part of the restaurant. We arrived at 1130 as we had plans to attend the art talk at 1300. The server did not know the “soup of the day “. The house salad was wilted and unappetizing. Her soup was overly salty. We were catching up on our lives and lost track of the time and I realized that it was 1230. I asked about our entrees, which were pasta and was told that they were “coming”. Our food finally arrived medium warm. The meal was a major disappointment. We got to the talk late.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Chris0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

This was an excellent restaurant. We choose it because wonderful reviews and reasonably close to SMART Train. The food is exceptional, and the staff very attentive. We will be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rubycat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Davide Restaurant also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Anselmo, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Il Davide Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing