We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“just for stop over” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Breeze Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Dubai
Level Contributor
228 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“just for stop over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

It is ok for a stop over during the pacific coastal highway trip , but on it's own or as a stay -over for weekend etc... it will definetely be poor... If you want to stay one night to crash somewhere safe and clean, it will work for you.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DORDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    203
    125
    28
    21
See reviews for
118
234
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Country
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

First let me say, we were trying to find a budget friendly place to sleep for 2 nights during our visit for myself, husband and 7 year old child The rooms were small, walls were filthy - it appeared as if someone smeared stuff all over the walls. There were plumbing issues, when the room above us flushed their toilet, our bath tub would fill up with water. The bathtub didn't drain well at all, and the walls were very thin. We could hear the couple above us "rolling in the hay" so to speak...Our rooms was at the end on the bottom floor. If the rooms had a good cleaning and the plumbing issues and sound resolved, it would be a OK place to stay in a pinch.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Mamabirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

What a wonderful stop over for my grand daughter and myself, for our stopover at Hearst Castle. They were extremely nice and helpful with directions. The rooms were great, with nice firm beds. All rooms have widows that open to the ocean (in the distance). We went to sleep listening to the waves. The continental breakfast was fine... rolls, juice and coffee, just what one would expect. Thanks for the warm welcome and nice stay.
Tom Conway
Westlake Village, CA

Room Tip: I prefer upstairs so i do not hear foot steps at night. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thetraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

While traveling down California Highway 1 we decided to stop in San Simeon to see Hearst Castle. Needing a place to spend the night I reserved a room at the Sea Breeze Inn. Frankly I was looking for a hotel that was as inexpensive as possible. I didn't expect much. I was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a King room on the second floor (sorry but there was no elevator). The room was spacious and very well appointed. It was clean and well maintained. An excellent value for the price. I would recommend the Sea Breeze to any friends passing this way.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs be sure to ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMB351C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I booked the reservation at Sea Breeze Inn after looking at many hotels online in the area. There were 4 of us - all seniors. We went for the weekend. We loved the view, the short walk down to the beach and the short walk to some great restaurants. The price was great as well! The manager was so friendly and helpful - (she always greeted us with a big smile). She said we could bring our wine to the hotel patio and just kick back, relax and enjoy the ocean breeze. Wonderful!! The rooms were clean and comfortable. All four of us will recommend the Sea Breeze Inn to our friends and family.

Room Tip: I only saw the room we were in, but I believe all of them are probably just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christio51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

I'm of the belief that if you don't have something nice to say, don't say anything at all. But Sea Breeze management really needs to step up their game because the rooms are not cheap but the experience certainly is. Rooms are dilapidated and not maintained, towels are like sand-paper, walls and ceiling are paper thin, and hospitality was sorely lacking.

Look, I'm willing to forgo comfort to save a buck but the rate was WAY too high for this sad hotel. I hate to say it but you should look elsewhere until this hotel can get it together.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RadRobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We were only staying the night from midnight until morning to go to Hearst Castle.

The room looked good, but it still had a slight dingy feel to it. But it wasn't dirty, The bathroom was clean. The wifi didnt work for us.

The walls are super thin, you can hear your neighbor flush the toilet and shower. We were also awaken by a hippo upstairs walking around. When we heard him leave and go down the stairs (heard him in the stairs) he wasn't that big.

Looking at the parking lot, it didn't seem packed. So I wonder why they put all the guests in rooms adjacent to each other if you could afford to spread them out? I wish I had asked for a room not connected.

The breakfast was the usual continental breakfast. There isn't much to do around there or even in Cambria next door. But there is book of local restaurants menu to browse through to find a one in your price range.The book is in the lobby and they let you bring it to your room.

It's super close to Hearst Castle and since we spent less than 9 hours in the room, I'm not complaining. ALthough I wouldn't do a longterm stay here.

They have a pool that isnt heated and unkept.

Room Tip: ask to not have neighbors if you can,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monsternina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.4 km away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
0.1 km away
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
0.5 km away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.7 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 km away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn

Property: Sea Breeze Inn
Address: 9065 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9723
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Breeze Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel San Simeon
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing