We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I Love This Place”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I proposed to my wife at this place almost 18 years ago. The rooms in "Kings Row" are, in my opinion, superior to the ocean-front rooms. The rooms are large and comfortable, the amenities are wonderful, the service is excellent, and there is no better place to put up your feet, drink some wine, and watch the sun set.

The "attached" restaurant leaves a little for improvement but it IS getting better over the years.

Room Tip: Get a "Kings Row" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh_taylor_henderso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,586
    830
    222
    82
    27
See reviews for
643
1,540
68
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Loved the ocean view! Watched the firepits going till late at nite and listened to the roaring surf, all the while eating our ice cream in the comfort of the room and had our room fireplace going! It was a VERY relaxing experience. Pluses - room service with no extra fee, a MOST comfortable bed, very clean, great breakfast at the Cavalier. So wonderful, we wished we had planned 2 nites. Did I forget to mention the snuggly, cushy pillows (4!) and wonderful fluffy comforter?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YippeeHippee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We traveled as family along Route 1 last spring and ended at the Best Western Cavalier Oceanfront Resort. The hotel was more than we expected, and the view from our oceanfront room was spectacular. Our room was clean, spacious, and we were given a complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival! In the evening, we enjoyed the fire by the beach and mingling with other travelers. I used the gym both mornings, and although it was small, it served my needs perfectly. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Overall, this hotel offers a good value and a restful night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler29556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Nicely appointed and cosy rooms with fireplaces and a partial ocean view. Dog friendly! A bit pricey, but worth it compared to the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel after a fantastic afternoon visit to Hearst Castle. Whilst a little older in style and decor, it was incredibly clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, giving us tips on what to see in the area (including the elephant seals, amazing!) and good guidance for our further drive on to San Francisco as the highway was closed at Big Sur.

We enjoyed a great value meal in the restaurant and it was such a treat to go to sleep to the sound of the waves on the beach.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the ocean so that you can sit out and watch the sunset over the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castaic, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Beautiful location and very friendly staff. This hotel is pet friendly and the staff seem to adore their canine guests. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. Each evening the three woodburning chimney fire places are lit on the bluff overlooking the ocean. Wonderful to sit, enjoy the sunset and listen to the waves at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kbarber2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

realy nice clean room good on site resturant . we loved the sunsets and the fire pits . we stayed 1 night on a trip down hwy 1 this is a great place to stop and stay take a bottle of wine and enjoy the sunset.

Room Tip: we just had a standard room and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
4.7 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 km away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
906 reviews
4.1 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
861 reviews
5.1 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,930 reviews
0.1 km away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing