We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, rooms, nice details” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms, nice details”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

First off, the location can't be beat. Consider that its yard, less than one minutes walk, is the beach. Sure, its a Central California beach (foggy mornings, cool afternoons for most of the year) but there's another reason why you're considering San Simeon, right?

We had no problem checking in and we received two parking passes, which I didn't realize until the last minute that we needed. The room itself was clean and simple enough, but in general it seemed much nicer than what I expected from a Best Western. The bed covers were pretty wrinkled when we first entered the room (see photo), but other than that I got a sense that they pay attention to details here, and make an effort to be a notch above your basic hotel/motel. In our room, we had a minibar (well stocked), an iron and ironing board, a view of the beach (we had the most basic room, #200 on top of the office), coffee maker with free coffee, and a bunch of sundries in the bathroom basket that I didn't expect (nail polish remover, wipes for your feet, bed bath & beyond shampoo/soaps).

It didn't have the technology or the touches of the Wynn, but it was more impressive to me because I expected so much less. The room size was more than adequate for a family of four (two queens). I would have loved to have given this place 5 stars and would have gladly but the one thing that upset me was that we got the worst room of the place when we were one of the first people to check in at 4pm. I went to the room, saw that it faced PCH (the highway) and asked for one that didn't, adn they told me I had to upgrade to get something else. When we walked to the beach later that night, we saw many available rooms, just like ours, as the windows were open and we clearly could see that they were unoccupied. Although the noise wasn't bad, it was also a Sunday night. Also, minus one for the wrinkled bed covers.

I apologize for the bad photos, but hopefully you'll get the idea.

Room Tip: Upgrade to beachfront...they sounded like they were worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkHeineken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,494
    779
    202
    78
    20
See reviews for
600
1,430
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

They light fires on beach for sunset glass or two which is great for socialising

Cavalier restaurant at hotel is excellent.

Rooms have good facilities.

Cambria just down road for excellent little shops and restaurants. Well worth staying at San Simeon for few nights.

Room Tip: All good so any will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, F.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is a real find. As others have observed, it is right on the ocean. It is very clean and the staff is very attentive. The fire pits (lit in the evening) add to the scene and romance. My wife and I had intended to go to the Hearst Castle, but we went to see the elephant seals first and were captivated. Just a 3 mile drive up the coast from the hotel is a rookery for elephant seals and the volunteer docents are just wonderful. We learned all about these very interesting sea creatures. Anyway, we spent so much time with the seals that we had no time for the Castle. Oh, well, next time
Back to the hotel, most all of the rooms have an ocean view so there is little need to "over spend" to get a "view".
We had dinner and breakfast at the attached restaurant and both meals were very good and not expensive. We observed a fair number of locals in the restaurant.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay at thes property again (and we will when we return to see the Hearst Castle next year).

Room Tip: the inexpensive rooms on the second floor (south side) virtually all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunCitySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Hook
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

This hotel has two strengths: first, it sits on the ocean and secondly it is minutes away from Hearst Castle. My family was driving down Highway 1 and we needed a close place to stay to Hearst Castle as we arrived later in the day to do an evening tour and were leaving the next day. Most of the hotels in the area seemed very average and this one was probably the best of the lot. The hotel was clean and we had a large balcony that offered a great view of the ocean (ask for ocean front, we had an ocean view, which was placed further back from oceans front). The next morning I enjoyed a great walk on the rocky beach.

This hotel is not luxurious, and we would have preferred something a little more upscale - but that did not seem to exist so close to the castle. For the night, it served its purpose and it offered a comfortable place to settle for the night. It did offer free Internet access.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank EPB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This Best Western is on the beach, and we stayed here for New Years Eve 2008. The staff provided each of the rooms a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, hats, noisemakers and the like. We dined at the onsite restaurant (I had butternut squash ravioli, believe my wife had salmon - both delicious). They kept fires lit throughout the night on the beach for guests to huddle around and enjoy the starlit night with a glass of wine. Excellent visit, and will definitely be back for another special occasion.

Helpful?
Thank savonwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Nice hotel, well-run, wonderful location, balcony room overlooking sea comfortable with fantastic views. Ate breakfast and supper on the private balcony, delivered from the hotel restaurant. Dinner at sunset was great, then went down to sit by the fire pits on the lawn.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with king bed, fireplace, overlooking the sea are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keliautojai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed in two King's Row rooms in March 2012. Highly recommend getting a room in that section as they all face the ocean directly and have private balconies. Slept with a small window open all night to hear the ocean. So relaxing. The beds were very, very comfy. Kids, parents and grandparents all had a great time. Our only complaint would be that no continental breakfast is provided. Otherwise, a great place to stay (doesn't seem like a Best Western at all, which is a great compliment!).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DellaDidDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.4 km away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
4.7 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
4.1 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
5.1 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
4.8 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing