We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a find near Hearst Castle!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We wanted to have a three night getaway in a quiet location on the beach, and we found it! This Best Western Plus was exceptionally clean and well-maintained. The hotel is right on the ocean with beautiful views. We stayed in Room 287 and could sit inside or outside on the deck and see the ocean and the surfers in a nearby cove. The grounds are so well kept and they think of everything a visitor might want, eg., there are small benches to be able to sit and read or relax and look out at the ocean; as well as their nighttime fire pits are nicely spaced so you and your friends can really relax and enjoy the night outdoors. The rooms were immaculate and featured a nice wetbar, a very comfortable, large, oval shape tub, an easy to light wood burning fireplace (housekeeping cleans it out and sets it up every day for you), very soft and comfortable bed and pillows, and a large flat screen TV. Whoever decorated the rooms did a beautiful job. It has everything you could think of to feel right at home. The staff was excellent and very friendly. We ate in their restaurant and had no problems. The food was nicely prepared and very fresh. It would be considered more of a "diner" environment, but it was good. If you want a larger dining selection, I would suggest driving about 4 miles south to the beautiful sea town of Cambria. Hearst Castle is up the road about three miles away, and the elephant seals take up residence on a beach about seven miles away. Best of all is this hotel takes dogs, but the rooms and the grounds are not "doggie" in their appearance or enjoyment for non-dog owners. This is also an excellent location to enjoy the ocean views and grounds if you are travelling with someone who is in a wheelchair or cannot walk too easily. The grounds are on a very gentle, grassy slope making it easy to get around. We will definitely be back to this property!

Room Tip: We stayed in the block of rooms overlooking the ocean, room 287, it was wonderful!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivetoTravel1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,779)
There are newer reviews for Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,997 - 2,003 of 2,779 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

Pay a little more and get one of the ocean view rooms with a balcony, you won't be sorry. The view of the ocean is magnificent! You can walk up and down the sandy beach which is easily accessible from the hotel. We stayed at this hotel a year ago and are happy to say the quality has not diminished. Rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay more for an ocean view room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2utahtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I come up here from Southern California at least once a year (twice if we find the time) and are always exceptionally happy with the rooms and the customer service from all of the staff. It's a perfect location right on the ocean and is exceptionally dog-friendly. We have a large yellow lab and it is by far his favorite vacation trip. There is a restaurant on site that also provides room service which is great since we don't have to leave the dog alone (We worry about the possible barking). There is a large grass area adjacent to the beach where the dogs can run and play and, of course, you can walk down to the water whenever you like. The location is 5 mikes south of Hearst Castle and 7 miles north of Cambria, which is a beautiful little piece of heaven with great restaurants, shops and wine tasting. I can't speak for those that had an unpleasant experience staying here, but we have stayed many times and will continue to return to our little Central Coast paradise.

Room Tip: Get the "Ocean view" room instead of the "Ocean Front" room. The rooms are exac...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reeddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Delightful! That sums up our San Simeon portion of our 2012 road trip & 2nd wedding anniversary. I elected to stay here because it seemed to have all the features of neighboring motels that were much more expensive. We were not disappointed! It was mostly a surprise for my wife. Here are the things that stood out:

Extremely friendly staff who seemed to sincerely enjoy there job and really understand what outstanding customer service means!

Immediately attentive to any requests.

Absolutely astonishing view! We got the end unit of King's Row, with a full ocean view, balcony & wood-burning fireplace in the room. The bathroom/bathtub was nothing fancy, but everything else was!

The mattress was DREAMY......soooooooo comfortable & with soft sheets, down comforter and at least 7 pillows.

Lots of name-brand soaps and personal items like swabs, cotton balls (wrapped) and a variety of lotions, facial wipes....even foot wipes!

I made reservations a few weeks early & our rate was about $80. less per night than the going rate that I checked when we were here.

The building & rooms have popcorn ceilings, but there is no smell, which is good. Most motels (even prior Best Western Plus) have an older smell, even if they have been remodeled.

We would stay here again without hesitation. It was very fancy and a good value (also very romantic). This is a DOG-FRIENDLY motel and a dog-friendly area! But it was very quiet and we heard almost no noise the entire 3 nights we were here, except the faint but steady sound of the ocean waves!

We ate at the restaurant twice for dinner and it was good. Try their Chicken Marsala! It was the best we've ever had! There are a lot of things to do around here and a lot of good places to eat, so ASK, Be sure to check out Hearst Castle, the elephant seal beach & both ends of quaint Cambria. We checked out Nitt Witt Ridge too!

Room Tip: Ask for King's Row upstairs, or if you have a pet - downstairs. If you want wireless internet...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmyjohn456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I've not spent too many nights at Best Westerns, but this one was a very pleasant surprise. Left the windows open at night to listen to the waves crashing on sure was definite plus. Very nicely updated, clean rooms, and a decent restaurant on site (which is good, as there aren't too too many options close by). Fire pits overlooking the beach were nice, and paths leading along and down to the beach. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yoga_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

First off, the location can't be beat. Consider that its yard, less than one minutes walk, is the beach. Sure, its a Central California beach (foggy mornings, cool afternoons for most of the year) but there's another reason why you're considering San Simeon, right?

We had no problem checking in and we received two parking passes, which I didn't realize until the last minute that we needed. The room itself was clean and simple enough, but in general it seemed much nicer than what I expected from a Best Western. The bed covers were pretty wrinkled when we first entered the room (see photo), but other than that I got a sense that they pay attention to details here, and make an effort to be a notch above your basic hotel/motel. In our room, we had a minibar (well stocked), an iron and ironing board, a view of the beach (we had the most basic room, #200 on top of the office), coffee maker with free coffee, and a bunch of sundries in the bathroom basket that I didn't expect (nail polish remover, wipes for your feet, bed bath & beyond shampoo/soaps).

It didn't have the technology or the touches of the Wynn, but it was more impressive to me because I expected so much less. The room size was more than adequate for a family of four (two queens). I would have loved to have given this place 5 stars and would have gladly but the one thing that upset me was that we got the worst room of the place when we were one of the first people to check in at 4pm. I went to the room, saw that it faced PCH (the highway) and asked for one that didn't, adn they told me I had to upgrade to get something else. When we walked to the beach later that night, we saw many available rooms, just like ours, as the windows were open and we clearly could see that they were unoccupied. Although the noise wasn't bad, it was also a Sunday night. Also, minus one for the wrinkled bed covers.

I apologize for the bad photos, but hopefully you'll get the idea.

Room Tip: Upgrade to beachfront...they sounded like they were worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarkHeineken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

They light fires on beach for sunset glass or two which is great for socialising

Cavalier restaurant at hotel is excellent.

Rooms have good facilities.

Cambria just down road for excellent little shops and restaurants. Well worth staying at San Simeon for few nights.

Room Tip: All good so any will be fine
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
4.7 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
4.1 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
426 reviews
0.4 km away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
865 reviews
5.1 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,982 reviews
5.3 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $201 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing