We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenienty located gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenienty located gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This bed and breakfast provides warm service and all the comforts of home. There are various healthy breakfast options including fruit, yogurt and warm oatmeal. The afternoon cheese and wine and evening milk and cookies are a nice touch but don't expect quality offerings here. Catered business lunch was just OK, but the fresh bread was exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bossymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    184
    67
    26
    11
See reviews for
69
331
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed in a cottage king with fireplace, 10 min walk to state street and milk and cookies at night. Loooooooove this place, will come again very soon!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawofkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This hotel, which is separate from the main building is very quiet and the sitting room is large and comfortable. The garden in the back is well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful; the breakfasts were large and delicious with an assortment of fresh fruit, granola, sweet breads, juices, coffee and teas. Our room was small but clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. This was our second time staying at the Country House, which I would recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jack j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergennes, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

The Upham is a warm and friendly inn, with a cozy atmosphere and comfortable. The Country House, which is affiliated with it, is a much different place. Guests to the Country House should be warned that they must check in first at the Upham, which the literature of the hotel does not make clear, so you have to walk back a block or tow. Guests should also know that there is no staff for much of the time. There was no tub in my room at The Country House, and in weather apparently unusual for Santa Barbara, there was driving rain and even hail. My room in the Country House was cold (the window was left open by their staff), and there was no heater in the room, though there was a fireplace (but with no paper to light it), so no way of warming up other than climbing in bed. Calls to management to complain went unreturned. If you can't get into the Upham, book somewhere else: the Country House isn't cheap, and it's not worth the money.

Room Tip: Choose the Upham, not The Country House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rux M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

It's always fun to visit Santa Barbara. We try to get up there at least once a year, and this year was no exception. The Upham has been one of our favorite B&Bs in the area for many reasons.

First of all, it’s centrally located to many of the more popular attractions in the area. State Street is only a few blocks away, where you can stroll among the many shops, or delight in some of the top culinary spots in town.

The Upham provides a charming backdrop for the weary traveler, with Serta beds that completely embrace you, and feather pillows that cradle you in comfort. We enjoyed the fireplace in our cottage, sporting opulent views of the tightly manicured grounds surrounding the property.

Kudos to General Manager Jan Martin Winn whose hospitality makes you feel like a long-lost friend. In this age of anonymous desk clerks, she and her staff go out of their way to accommodate your needs, and make you feel like your business is appreciated.

Wine and cheese is served in the afternoons, to punctuate your stay before dinner, and their morning breakfasts provide all the essentials; cereal, eggs, pastries, fruit, coffees, teas, etc

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

The hotel is a very attractive Victorian building. It's a fair walk from the town centre and restaurants. I think that is why they offer bed with breakfast which is of a continental style. The restaurant attached to the hotel (but under different ownership) is excellent. We found our room rather small and old fashioned. I supposed this has more appeal to the american market than to us Brits, however it was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also quaint but has very little space for putting your own toiletries.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were part of a large wedding party and we received excellent personalized service. The hotel is beautiful and historic, but had all the modern amenities. Large room with a nice large bathroom. Beautiful grounds with lots of private ares to relax. We enjoyed a nice walk to the shopping area along state street. We look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA-JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
2.2 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.1 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
2.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.5 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing