We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montecito Inn
Nearby Hotels
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$309
US$297
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
US$374
US$304
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$695
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,144 results
Traveller rating
518
354
147
81
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
354
147
81
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharlie chaplintower suitebutterfly beachhonor barcharming hotelcoast village roadrooms are smallcontinental breakfastcomplimentary bikesmountain viewshops and restaurantsceiling fanthe santa barbara areastreet noiseshort walk to the beachbed was very comfortablethe main street
Filter
Updating list...
995 - 1,000 of 1,144 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Montecito Inn is a lovely small hotel at the main corner of Montecito which is adjacent to Santa Barbara. It is a reasonably priced hotel in a very expensive city. While the rooms are not large or resort-like, they are perfectly adequate. For those who have rooms in the back be prepared to hear the highway, but we find that we get used to that and it was not disturbing. All in all, we have now gone there a couple of times and would go back again.

The place was build by Charlie Chaplin and friends so it tries to capitalize on that a bit. I understand why they do that. It adds some history to the place but not much else. They offer a simple free breakfast at the adjoining Montecito Restaurant, which is good. Parking is only $8/night.

Room Tip: If you care, ask (and pay for) a room that does not border the back of the property so as to avoid the noise from Highway 101 behind it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DetroitLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our stay at the rustic Monticito inn was a huge dissappointment. We were in room #310, which is in the back of the hotel. It was way to noisey (101 freeway), in need of a remodel, and just basic maintenance. It was obvious the bathroom window had been repaired, as there were screws sticking out every direction, but it was off it's track and did'nt work. We can except how cramped it was because of the age, but not having hot water is unexceceptable and irritating. The sitting chairs were tatttered and the TV was a joke (old and grainy picture), the refrigerator was on the floor in the way, and the place needed some painting done. There were other issues like the weird fireplace and the elevator. The pool area and lobby areas are nice, it is in a great location and the service was very good.The owners need to have problems addressed, so customers can have a quality experience at this historic property. We would'nt stay another night and Omar gave us a 30% discount off our previous night. He referred us to the Hyatt down the road (also an older property, but nicely remodeled). THE RATE WAS INEXPENSIVE, BUT THE VALUE WAS POOR. I am not a complainer and can except some small problems with a hotel stay, but 3 other customers were in the lobby complaining of various problems with their rooms too! Good luck if you get the wrong room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are slightly quieter, no joke about the back and highway 101. Be prepared for hot water issues.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mediumbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed here because I was recommended by a friend who stayed. I thought it was be a nice place and love Charlie Chaplin so I liked that connection. My room was cute and spacious and had a beautiful view of the mountains. You could walk to many places and it was not far from the beach. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Book a mountain view!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimtravelgirl1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Great place to stay with great value. A bit of noise, but hey, the price is right and rooms perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathleenblurock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Montecito Inn was a very pleasant surprise. It is a small hotel located in upscale Montecito just south of Santa Barbara. The hotel is very old (built in 1928). As with any old hotel, it shows its age. I rented the Queen Mountain View room, which is a little bit bigger and has more windows than the regular queen room. It was an adequate size, but a little bit worn. They could use new bed covers and headboards. There was no airconditioning, but the fan proved to be enough for an October night. The windows were a bit hard to open and never could get the bathroom window closed again.
The biggest problem is that the hotel is located very near the 101 highway and on a busy intersection. So you hear traffic noise all night long.
If you are the type that can handle a little traffic noise and older hotel quirks, then I would definitely recommend the Montecito Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rugbyjello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews