We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“come here to find snobs”
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“come here to find snobs”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I tried to book two rooms for 6 people, I person heard this over the phone just hang up the phone immediately. I guess he was assuming I was saving money to jam more people into one room.

I called back 3 times, they either don't answer or put me on hold.

Avoid this place of pathetic snobs at all cost.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryL33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Copus, Director of Sales at Montecito Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Our hotel greatly values group bookings and has the accommodations to meet the needs of this reviewer. There is no reason we would have just hung up the phone and not booked his reservations. We would never disrespect any potential guests. We wish to welcome everyone to our hotel and provide them with the best service and accommodations any traveler can expect from a luxury hotel. The call must have lost connection and when he called back, our staff was busy and he was put on hold. However, we do apologize for the inconvenience this reviewer experienced. We pride ourselves in our professionalism and friendly service. Guests continue to come back because they know they can expect attentive service and to be taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    294
    123
    60
    35
See reviews for
201
444
33
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great inn, super cute, comfortable with every amenity desired. the perfect location to walk around town and enjoy the Montecito community. Rooms are lovely, queen bed, sitting area, Nice TV, adequate bathroom, bright, highly functional. Price is very reasonable for the area, out the door $165.Daily parking is free, overnight $8. 24 hour coffee bar and tea, as well as continental breakfast provided with stay. Gym was excellent, plenty of cardio equipment, weights, stretching area, Television. the location and the area is one of the cutest I have seen in the country. Restaurants were excellent, Lucky's, and Tre Luna were excellent, a little pricey but high quality.

Room Tip: I chose Mountain view and close to the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel was recommended by family but it was not what we expected. The rooms are small and I did not like the furnishings. While the bathroom was tremendous and nice. No real views from the hotel. It was walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Next time I'd stay at the canary or by the water.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giddynola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We celebrated my birthday by heading up to Santa Barbara for the weekend. My spouse had stayed at the Montecito Inn a couple of years ago while there on business. We so enjoyed this quaint hotel which is conveniently located to just about everything in the Santa Barbara area. The staff are great and very helpful!

Our room included the continental breakfast, but we generally prefer a more substantial breakfast and opted to walk down to Little Jeanine's Bakery. Jeanine's is awesome and have excellent options for breakfast.

Room Tip: We had rooms 208 and 209 which are on the second floor near the rear of the hotel. Our room 209 over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lorderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This old hotel with its rickety elevator and Charlie Chaplin décor exudes charm. We took advantage of off season rates and stayed in a suite. The suite was apparently created from two small rooms, as it had an entrance and a bathroom at either end. It’s a real treat not to have to share a hotel bathroom, but it was a little noisy at night and in the morning.

The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The free continental breakfast was adequate, but not as good as in prior years.

The hotel is located in the heart of Montecito Village, which hosts a plethora of interesting restaurants and beautiful offices.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alswed44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Montecito Inn is a lovely small hotel at the main corner of Montecito which is adjacent to Santa Barbara. It is a reasonably priced hotel in a very expensive city. While the rooms are not large or resort-like, they are perfectly adequate. For those who have rooms in the back be prepared to hear the highway, but we find that we get used to that and it was not disturbing. All in all, we have now gone there a couple of times and would go back again.

The place was build by Charlie Chaplin and friends so it tries to capitalize on that a bit. I understand why they do that. It adds some history to the place but not much else. They offer a simple free breakfast at the adjoining Montecito Restaurant, which is good. Parking is only $8/night.

Room Tip: If you care, ask (and pay for) a room that does not border the back of the property so as to avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DetroitLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our stay at the rustic Monticito inn was a huge dissappointment. We were in room #310, which is in the back of the hotel. It was way to noisey (101 freeway), in need of a remodel, and just basic maintenance. It was obvious the bathroom window had been repaired, as there were screws sticking out every direction, but it was off it's track and did'nt work. We can except how cramped it was because of the age, but not having hot water is unexceceptable and irritating. The sitting chairs were tatttered and the TV was a joke (old and grainy picture), the refrigerator was on the floor in the way, and the place needed some painting done. There were other issues like the weird fireplace and the elevator. The pool area and lobby areas are nice, it is in a great location and the service was very good.The owners need to have problems addressed, so customers can have a quality experience at this historic property. We would'nt stay another night and Omar gave us a 30% discount off our previous night. He referred us to the Hyatt down the road (also an older property, but nicely remodeled). THE RATE WAS INEXPENSIVE, BUT THE VALUE WAS POOR. I am not a complainer and can except some small problems with a hotel stay, but 3 other customers were in the lobby complaining of various problems with their rooms too! Good luck if you get the wrong room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are slightly quieter, no joke about the back and highway 101. Be prepared f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mediumbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
5.7 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
3.0 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
111 reviews
4.7 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
328 reviews
5.3 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,220 reviews
2.7 km away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Property: Montecito Inn
Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing