We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
165
161
38
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
161
38
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews state street great location quiet hours historic hotel historic elevator heart of downtown boutique style within walking distance continental breakfast beautiful lobby valet parking is central location shops and restaurants an older hotel comfortable hotel valet service the main street
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 386 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2018

We loved this hotel from the minute we set foot into it. It felt as though it had a long history and we discovered it did, from looking at the wonderful array of photos which line the hotel corridors. It has an olde-worlde elegance to it and our room was classic and stately. The location was perfect for our needs, with shopping and restaurants and the sea within easy walking distance. Valet parking is available behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Dear Fourevans, thank you for your 5 star review of Hotel Santa Barbara. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the history and charm of the property and our central downtown location. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thank You,
Jennie Jacobs
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights on arrival we were given a small disappointing room and as I was staying for a number of days I returned to reception stating I was unhappy with the room as we had stayed there before and the room allocated did not compare the receptionist checked the system gave us another room without it being a issue this room lived up to all my expectations and we enjoyed a wonderful stay my only suggestion would be for an hotel with your rating you should provide shower/bath wash +shower caps as standard the lift being old and quirky became quite a good way of breaking the ice with our fellow Guests.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Dear Pauline,
Thank you for your continued visits to Hotel Santa Barbara. We love our repeat guests. Thank you for expressing interest in a larger room with the front desk - we take pride and making sure our guests are taken care of here and we are glad that we were able to accommodate you in a larger room. All of our rooms are unique in size and orientation. I will also be sure to share your feedback regarding body wash and shower caps with our housekeeping department.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Thank You,
Jennie Jacobs
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2018

We stayed at the hotel for three nights from 7th June and it fulfilled our every requirement. We were on a road trip, so it was good to have the car park behind the hotel (valet parking). The room we had was spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. Everything was clean and the room was well attended each day.
The lift probably dates back to the 20's, but contrary to another reviewer's comments, it was not problematic for us in its use and not overly slow. After all, there are only about three or four floors in the building and who rushes on holiday anyway?
The complimentary continental breakfast was ideal and I had cereal each morning with fresh croissants and muffins also available, along with fruit, yogurt and toast.
The staff were all very friendly and easily sorted out an issue I had when i booked the wrong dates. It was my mistake, but they readily altered them, when they could easily have taken my pre-payment.
We would have no hesitation about staying here again.
The hotel has no pool or bar, but it would be wromg to rate it down because of these omissions. I think the rating should relate to your experience and since we knew the facilities before we booked, we were extremely happy with the hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear David,
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are overjoyed to hear you positively address so many great things about our locally owned, independent property. We take great pride in providing our guests with the best experience during every stay here at Hotel Santa Barbara and are thrilled to hear that we made the mark with you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Santa Barbara again in the future. Please contact me directly next time you would like to book and I will make sure you are given the best rate and taken care of.

Happy Travels,
Jennie Jacobs, Director of Sales and Marketing
(805) 957-9303.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

We arrived on Friday June 15th in the evening from Florida. Room for 3 nights was $300 +/- per night. They refused to provide a cot to the room for our daughter. They suggested to sleep on the floor with blankets in closet!!
There is no restaurant or pool for this price. Breakfast is very minimal and if you like fruit and muffins very ok.
State street has great places to eat and great wine tasting bars but hotel is expensive and provides no amenities. Clean room but getting to upper floors so slow and difficult.

Room Tip: All the same. back allies or State Street
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank barrywharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Hi Barry,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests. It looks like you were in a Queen room at the rate of $289/$239 during your stay. The queen room you were in is a great size for 2 people, but not recommended for three. We apologize that we were not able to accommodate the request for the cot, but for safety reasons, rollaway beds do not fit in that room you were in. We would love to welcome you back to experience Hotel Santa Barbara in it's best light and put you in one of our larger room types such as a King or Deluxe queen. Please contact me directly and I will make sure you are taken care of.

Thank You,
Jennie Jacobs
Director of Sales and Marketing
805-957-9300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018

It's old, it's in the centre of town -all the things I like but it lacks too much.
The room was way too small and the price way too large -a chat with front of house soon had us moved to a more spacious spot. But the only lift was an ancient and problematic affair. There was no bar nor a dining room. Breakfast was a catered affair in the lobby. Not bad but only just one degree separation from a Hilton Garden Inn.
Sadly this is not an hotel in the traditional sense and for that reason it fails.

Room Tip: Check the other hotels in town
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Andrew,
Thank you for your review. We are surprised to see only 2 stars, but appreciate the opportunity to learn from your feedback and provide a better experience in the future. I am glad to see that the front desk was able to move you to a larger room. We do invite you to return and if you call the hotel directly I would be happy to provide you with a complimentary upgrade to a larger room.

Thank You,
Jennie Jacobs
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews