We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not half as bad as the reviews on here suggest!”
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ala Mar Motel
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not half as bad as the reviews on here suggest!”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The hotel is certainly not luxurious, but it was clean, the staff were friendly and it is in an unbeatable llocation. Santa Barbara hotels are notoriously expensive, so we feel like we got a pretty good deal considering. We booked it before we looked at trip advisor, and, after reading the reviews on here we set our expectations low, but we ended up being pleasantly suprised!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinebubbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    33
    27
    56
See reviews for
30
72
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Recently, I was planning a trip to Santa Barbara with a friend. Because of the bad reviews on Trip Advisor, we booked another hotel. During our stay, we decided to visit Ala Mar and check out the accomodations first hand. The desk clerk, Armando, graciously allowed us to see one of the rooms. The is an older motel but the rooms were just fine and definitely a good value for the price. Also, very convenient to the pier and local restaurants. We will not hesitate to book a room at this motel the next time we go to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank kdrCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Staff were helpful but that is it... believe the negative reviews of this motel... it was dirty and dismal... room featured sticky old carpet, dirty bed clothes and general grime everywhere... the cleaners need sacking!! The shower was pretty powerful BUT afterwards the bathroom smelt of sewage.. the bathroom floors and walls were filthy... have they not heard of a damp cloth?!

When I asked if they had a pool the guy said that the hotel next door does and we might be able to use theirs... when I asked if I could buy a beer he directed me to... the hotel next door!! To be fair he went and got me the beer...

The internet didnt' work, the place didn't seem too secure and the terrace which did have a great view was dirty and covered in beer bottles...

Only redeeming feature of this place is the location which is great... My wife and kids wanted to sleep in the car!!! Book somewhere else... for your own sake...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miloKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

No parking, sleazy people hanging out during all hours of the night, room was dirty and needed maintenance, loud parties, no amenities. The reception area was the size of a closet and the receptionist was a grimy looking kid. Looked like some of the doors had been kicked in! Or maybe it was the guests clawing their way out to LEAVE THIS DUMP!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MosaicGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This had to be one of the worst stays of our life. Like another blog said, 'the only good reviews has to be from staff.' We were tired from traveling and took the first available,. We didn't know it was the worst available. The price was outragious for the experience. Any other room of this type would rent around $30-65. We stayed on the bottom floor and heard noises from the upper floor all night. Sounded like somebody messing around or little kids banging on the floor. Location is awesome, the rest was sleazy. I could go on infanitum. Avoid at all cost. Not to far around the corner there appears to be many other facilities which look to be a lot nicer with almost the same location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lee123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

One sentence sums it up :
Termite feces on the bed.

We thought this might be sawdust but when it appeared again the second night we looked into it online, and it seemed to be a match. A bit unnerving since it seemed to be coming from the ceilings onto the pillows which mean it was probably in our hair in the morning. The staff did switch our room. The free breakfast is good and cuts costs a little bit, but doesn't make up for the bad parts. Oh yeah, hot water is not constant so be prepared to take fast and uncomfortable showers. Bathrooms small, far from clean.

Its a shame cause if they fixed it up they would have a gold mine. My girlfriend is a real sport and didn't complain at all...love her...but we won't be going back there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pasdnous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

When we arrived no one was at the desk. Then a kid in a hotrod showed up with an out -of- control black pit bull whom he called "his son." He proposed to check us in. Just then the regular desk clerk showed up - a little bit older fellow- and took over for the kid. He too had a pit bull - a brown one. When we went to get our bags out of the car, the two pit bulls got into a ferocious fight right in front of us. The only thing missing was Michael Vick laying down bets. When we went upstairs to our room a hippie/homeless looking guy was sitting on the bench next to our door smoking a cigar sized joint. There is a constant throng of hangers-on at the front desk to keep the clerks from getting bored. They are all types of riffraff - hippies, muscled tattoo types, you name it.
In spite of all this, it was not too bad a place to stay if you don't mind roughing it a bit to save $100 and up from the surrounding competition.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 km away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
950 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
0.5 km away
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
#38 of 52 in Santa Barbara
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Rosa Inn
Villa Rosa Inn
#11 of 18 in Santa Barbara
261 reviews
0.3 km away
West Beach Inn
West Beach Inn
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Mar Motel

Property: Ala Mar Motel
Address: 102 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3505
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ala Mar Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location next to the beach and State St. We're a small boutique motel. Some rooms have private a jacuzzi. Most rooms have the beach view. We also have rooms with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ala Mar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Ala Mar Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing