We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fails to meet high expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Having spent a week in the Four Seasons in Kona, we chose the same brand for a two-night stay in Santa Barbara.
Research on the web suggested that the location was top notch - and it was indeed. At the border of the sea, it offers a fantastic view. The first impression usually is the most important, as we know, and this is probably why they have put the most friendliest and most competent people at the valet parking. Outstanding guys who deserve their tip.
Unfortunately it went from that level to good to bad and to worse.
The reception desk was staffed with two incompetent, arrogant females who just didn't have the sense how to deal with clients. The room was old style, old furniture, old bathrooms - not my style and definitely not reflecting the right price-value relation.
The bar has the aura and the level of liveliness of a cemetery and what was worst, was the breakfast: no buffet, non-inspired waitors and bad food.
Bottom line: too much money for a very mediocre experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank i-love-zermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,736 - 1,742 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Wonderful hotel in every way, the staff know exactly how to look after you. So relaxed and stylish in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stainlesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages in the rear of the property. It was very spacious, and the nice thing with the cottage style room is fewer walls were shared with other rooms. There was a nice soaking tub and a separate shower with a rainfall shower head. The room was very clean. The HVAC system worked very well and is one of the quietest systems I've ever experienced... pretty much absolute silence. Free water bottles when they make your room. Free fruits around the lobby area.

The property grounds are very nice, there's a small pool/hot tub directly on the property, and across the street you have access to a club that has a large pool. The beach across from the hotel looks nice enough and it's dog friendly. That's a good thing for dog owners, but bad for everyone else. I saw dogs peeing and pooing in the sand everywhere, not the most sanitary for you or your kids to be walking around barefoot in the sand.

Service was good, but nothing exceptional. We weren't able to check into our room until 20 min. after the official check in time of 3:00PM. Valet parking is $31/day and self park is $19/day if I remember correctly.

One word of warning, there is a railroad track that runs fairly close to the hotel, and it always blows its whistle/horn when it goes by... even in the middle of the night. On average, we heard it come by 2-3 times a night, and also throughout the day. The hotel does provide ear plugs, but good luck blocking out the sound of the train.

All in all, a good experience, but hard to justify spending $500+/night, especially when compared to other 5 star properties I've experienced...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank omnipred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a wonderfully unique property with the wonderful Four Seasons service we all expect. The grounds are beautiful and the restaurants are excellent! We stayed with a large group and were very happy with the level of service provided, even for all of us. The Spa was just wonderful also! Hope we get to go back....again & again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassypants01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Four Seasons Santa Barbara is a structurally beautiful hotel with lovely grounds. Coral Casino Club has seaside pool which is very kid-friendly... I attend an annual meeting here, and it's become our favorite weekend getaway spot. Kids talk about it all year. Not cheap but a good value compared to other hotels in this category. A train does run through the grounds... I've never had any issues with the noise, which is 'background' level and adds charm in my opinion, but we have friends who were troubled by it... if you are very noise-sensitive, this is something to ask about when you book, so that a sheltered room can be selected

Room Tip: Upgrades available off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttoVonBismark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Went for one night to see a concert. The hotel was full and the room they gave us on the first floor was the dullest, smallest, no view room I have every seen. Anyone walking by the door could look right in so you had to keep the curtains closed at all times. Since it was one night and I literally would probably be in the room awake for thess then a couple hours I didn't make my usual scene I make when given a below par room. The hotel itself was fine, the brunch acceptable but to give a room like this to a frequesnt four seasons customer is dumb.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank golfbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Four Seasons for our weekend getaway in celebration of our anniversary. Wow, what a wonderful experience it was. I can't imagine staying anywhere else if we ever go back to SB. Everything from the location, to the grounds, to the service was top notch. They made us feel very special and the extra touches in celebration of our anniversary, such as the complimentary champagne and strawberries delivered to our room, are something that we will never forget. If you are really looking for a great experience when it comes to where you stay during your trip to Santa Barbara, don't hesitate in reserving your room at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyinluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
5.5 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
6.2 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
6.2 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Californian
Hotel Californian
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $685 - $1,713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in California, with private bungalows and terraces that overlook the Pacific Ocean and Channel Islands. Set amongst 22-acres of lush jungle and tranquil gardens, Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara defines luxury living and service on the American Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing