We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful & Cute Bungalow with Great Downtown...”
other traveller has booked this property
Middle Unit Entrance with double french doors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Middle Unit Entrance with double french doors
Living room area with Open doors to patio Living Room to Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Middle Unit Entrance with double french doors
Living room area with Open doors to patio
Living Room to Bedroom
Granite Counters and Kitchen area
Double Pillow Top Bed
Natuzzi Double Recliner Leather Couch
Full Bathroom with nice tub
Outdoor Patio Area
Outdoor Patio Area seating
Beautiful Garden, Totem Pole and BBQ.
New Zen Garden Art to Admire
Lizzard Lounge seating area and fire pit
Private Front Door and Laundry Room
Happy Buddha Welcoming Committee
complimentary Laundry Room
Well lite for late arrival.
Very welcoming.
View into the living area.
View to the outside area from inside
French doors to outdoor area.
No bugs, leave the doors open.
Queen bed.
Great soaking tub.
View from bedroom to bathroom.
Great, calm bedroom.
Living area.
Very relaxing, colorful, full of amazing amenities.
Well acquainted space.
Very special garden with fairy lights.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Santa Barbara, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike J
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Wonderful & Cute Bungalow with Great Downtown Santa Barbara Location”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

My wife, our 10-week old daughter, and I stayed in Casitas de Colores 112A for 5 nights in January 2013. It was perfect. The property was exactly as advertised and in a great location. It is 2 blocks over from State street - the main drag with shops and restaurants, and it was about a 20 +/- minute walk from the beach/Amtrak station.

Caron and Doug, the owners, were great -- there if you needed something, but invisible if that is what we wanted. Caron was gracious enough to drive us to the airport, and she should be considered part of the charm and character of the place.

The bungalow is decorated wonderfully and the kitchen is very functional. Chocolate-chip cookies greeted us on arrival and the kitchen had some of the basics already there - olive oil, spices, zip lock bags, aluminum foil, etc. The small things that make life easy if you plan to cook. There is a grocery store a quick 5 blocks or so away.

There is a great little court yard that faces away from the street and is a great place to just to hang out and read book or chat over a glass of wine. There is a laundry room, detergent and all, with extra beach towels. While we were there, Caron was busy getting roses for a couple staying in there other rental house in front of ours. I have little doubt that Caron would help you out or point you in the right direction for anything you need.

We did stay with our 10-week old, and I saw a review that someone else stayed with a young toddler. We had no problems at all; however, I would be hesitant with a toddler to youngster. It really is not intended to be a place for families -- they do have house in front with a bit more room.

I think my wife said it best. We may have to visit Santa Barbara again just to stay here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2013
We loved your visit and your adorable little one. I had a private conversation with her and if she ever needs to run away from home, my casa is her casa! Thanks for your kind words, loved your visit. xoxxo Caron & Doug
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLyon778...
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Santa Barbara Stay”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

My husband, 1 year old daughter and I stayed at the Case De Colores over Thanksgiving. The house was perfect for our family. It was decorated beautifully and was very clean. The one bedroom was the perfect size for us and the pack n' play for our little girl. The kitchen was fully stocked and made it easy for us to have lunches and dinners while the little one slept. There were even freshly baked cookies waiting for us when we arrived.

The location of the house was perfect for our stay. It is walking distance to the wonderful shops and restaurants on State Street and downtown Santa Barbara. It was also a short drive to the zoo, which we highly recommend for little ones. The owners also provided us with a booklet of wonderful suggestions of things to do during our Santa Barbara stay. We greatly enjoyed wine tasting on the Urban Wine Trail in downtown Santa Barbara.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spending a wonderful weekend with my family in a wonderful house.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckyone6...
Petaluma, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adorable Property in Excellent Location”
Reviewed June 6, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This was the cutest, coziest place and felt very romantic. The location was close to the action and there were great restaurants and activities within walking distance. The owners live on the property too and were very helpful, friendly and accomodating. Caron took us on a great hike that we would have never found on our own. We LOVED their cute little dog, Bootsie, who went on the hike and was very entertaining. Overall, a great stay in Santa Barbara!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRPW
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“As charming, restful and colorful as it looks”
Reviewed April 11, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights last week in this fantastic (and quiet) cottage. The highlights: it was spotless, well-designed and fabulously decorated (with great bath products and comfy robes). We ended up cooking a bit and although the kitchen is small, it was just fine for the 2 of us. Now about Caron & Doug....they couldn't have been better hosts (their assistant Brittany was a real help also when they weren't there). They loaned us a large pot for cooking a very large crab and made themselves available without ever being intrusive. They invited us for wine/cheese on the patio one evening with their friends. All in all it was exactly what we were looking for. If we're back in Santa Barbara again, this is the 1st place I'd look for another stay. Thank you again Caron & Doug!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall comfort level and design of the cottage
Liked least: I can't think of a single thing!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTimbel
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“We loved the location, the owners and the place”
Reviewed April 1, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Married couple with 23 yr old son (we shipped our airbed ahead) stayed for a week. Everything worked (laundry, appliances, comfy beds ands eating, shower/bath) as if we were in our own home. The location proximity to upper State Street and Hwy 101 was ideal. Parking was easy with permit parking. Doug and Caron were ideal hosts - helpful, welcoming, generous. The garden - for a picnic lunch or reading a book with a glass of wine was an ideal place to unwind. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the location.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Reviewed March 4, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dcinwdc
Maui, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Caron & Doug's Casita Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed November 14, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

I stayed at the Casita for a week. The 1 br. apartment was the perfect size for me and would be great for a couple. Some highlights: a very deep bathtub, where you can really relax; the patio garden with its twinkling lights; the easy walk to downtown and car access to the rest of SB; and the firm bed. Also, only a 2 block walk to SB Yoga Studio, which has lots of classes. So .. great place. But there's more...Doug & Caron, the warm and helpful hosts. They connected me to Santa Barbara, so by the end of the week, I'd had a great massage, found a special yoga teacher, knew where to find groceries etc. Also no road noise.
*Used Mapquest for directions, so hosts did not need to provide. Very Clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The owners & the deep bath.
Liked least: I'm not great with tech. so took time to final contract
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing