We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,172 results
Traveller rating
906
143
75
32
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
143
75
32
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool heated floors beautiful property the pacific ocean valet parking valet staff the entire staff four seasons san ysidro ranch main building bungalow spa patio fireplace california renovation retreat
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,172 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

We loved our stay at this resort. The Restaurant and pool area and exercise room were excellent. We loved the free bikes and used them twice during our stay. Santa Barbara as a town was a tad of a disappointment after a lot of hype and fanfare. Thank you

Stayed: September 2018
Thank JohnJNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElEncantoSB, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much, JohnJNorris. This is so wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your visit to Belmond El Encanto. I'm so glad that you were able to use our amazingly fun pedal assist Faraday electric bikes a few times during your stay! They are amazing at getting you back up those steep hills after a day of cruising around town! And it sounds like you were really able to enjoy our beautiful zero-edge saline pool as well. Hopefully you indulged in a few of our specialty cocktails while you were floating around soaking up the sunshine! I'm so sorry to hear that you found the town of Santa Barbara to be a bit of a disappointment, feel free to swing by our concierge desk on your next visit so we can make sure we are introducing you to all of the hot spots of activities and dining! Thank you very much for taking the time to review your trip to our enchanted gardens, and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

This hotel is a gem. My husband and I unfortunately only had one night at this hotel. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect and we could tell this was a special hotel. It is located on top of a hill in Santa Barbara. The views are amazing. The hotel grounds were beautiful and the gardens are exceptional. We used the pool and the fitness centre while we were there. They have complimentary fitness classes everyday. The pool is lovely and the view is over the ocean. They have food and drink service at the pool. The rooms were beautiful and large. It was quiet while we were there so they upgraded us. There was a complimentary bottle of wine in our room. There is also a shuttle down to the waterfront! I would highly recommend this hotel. It is 5+ stars

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank krvandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElEncantoSB, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us at Belmond El Encato, krvandie! It is so delightful to hear how wonderful of an experience you had with us. It really sounds like you were able to fully relax and enjoy all of the amenities that we have to offer as well as our beautiful and historic grounds. It sounds like we could very well be welcoming you back again sometime in the near future, so we will certainly look forward to that! Thank you again for these wonderful words, and we will see you soon at our enchanted gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We stayed here for a weekend for a wedding and it was absolutely stunning. The pool had a fantastic view of the city and water. The food was excellent and the service exceptional. Our room was spacious and comfortable. It was one of the best nights sleep I've had in a while. The resort is located in the hills of Santa Barbara just a 15 min walk from the mission. Its quite and peaceful but still close to town where theres plenty of dining and shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brittain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElEncantoSB, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much, Brittain W! This is wonderful to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us. You are certainly right that our view cannot be beat, we marvel at it daily ourselves! I have passed along your compliments to our Executive Chef and culinary team for delighting you so. And it's so fantastic to read that you had such a great sleep, our beds are like magical clouds of comfort! We do hope that you will return sometime soon for another restful and relaxing visit with us, and we will be sure to take great care of you once again. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, we very much appreciate your kind words. We we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2018

Amazing views. Great pool area and, best of all, the restaurant beat our expectations. We had breakfast, lunch and even dinner at the hotel and all meals were cooked with the highest quality ingredients. Also great service. The gym was perhaps a bit small.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank nggustafson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElEncantoSB, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Yum! Your fantastic feedback regarding our amazing food and beverage team has our mouth watering! Thank you so much for your gracious feedback, it sounds as though you very much enjoyed your visit to our beautiful property. Thank you as well for recognizing the outstanding service you received. We do pride ourselves on being the only Forbes 5 star rated property in Santa Barbara, and all of our team members are incredibly enthusiastic about hospitality! It's wonderful to hear that it shows! I'm so sorry to read that you considered our gym less than satisfactory. Hopefully you also had a chance to enjoy our complimentary electric pedal assist Faraday bikes to cruise around the neighborhood and town? This is certainly our favorite way to enjoy a little cardio but still get that extra help with the daunting surrounding hills! We so very much appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts after your stay, and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

We had lunch on the patio overlooking the pool and Santa Barbara. Food was very good, imaginative, well prepared and tasty. Service was attentive and customer focused. Well done.
Wine selection was good as well.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElEncantoSB, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Eurotraveler280, we are so thankful that you have decided to share this feedback after your recent visit to our enchanted gardens! It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your time on our amazing Terrace at The Dining Room. It's certainly the best view in town, and I have thanked both the restaurant and culinary team for taking such great care of you! It sounds like you should stay a little longer next time around, please be sure to give us a call so we can review our latest reservation package options with you! We would love to have you as our guest once again. Thank you again for taking the time to recognize our outstanding staff and your wonderful visit, and we will look forward to your next opportunity to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews