We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
70
148
89
39
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
148
89
39
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast across the street quiche east beach view room budget hotel heated pool location is great an older hotel state street nice pool mini fridge yogurt ocean cabrillo sb wharf
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 385 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2014

Difficult to say much about this place apart from everything about it was pretty average.
The best thing was it was near the beach and a pleasant walk into town. It had a small supermarket nearbye that sold all kinds of delicious things.It had a pool and breakfast with lots of delicious sweet things.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2014

The Cabrillo Inn is a lovely resort nestled between the majestic mountains and the gorgeous beaches of Santa Barbara. I had a lovely room on the sundeck that overlooked the Ocean. The rooms were clean. Remember to ask for a hair dryer/ironing board; they are available upon request. Please note, though, that you will not be able to print your boarding passes from this location so be sure to plan accordingly.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and comments. Yes the Cabrillo Inn at the Beach's Oceanfront "East Beach" location is pristine and the views of the local majestic mountains and Channel Islands/Pacific Ocean are spectacular. Our Ocean view sundeck rooms do have great views and are larger than our standard or limited view rooms. Yes we do not have hairdryers in the rooms but we do have them at the front desk. We use a very high quality stand alone hair dryer than the ones that you buy and screw to the wall. Our front desk staff inform guests at check in that we do not have them in the room but they are available at the front desk if needed. If they failed to inform you we apologize and I have instructed my staff again to inform all guests about hair dryers. And we will always deliver them to your room if you need them from 7am to 11pm, our office hours. Based on your comments I have informed my front desk staff that it is ok to print guest boarding passes for domestic flights only, at the front desk computer which we use for reservations. Prior to your stay we have been in discussion with a company to provide internet access with printer (separate connection) in our office area and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Yes the Cabrillo Inn at the Beach's location and moderate rates have been providing the traveling guest with exceptional value for over 38 years at this family owned and operated Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2014

This hotel was booked on-line and upon arrival and seeing the hotel, it was obvious that it is not a place to stay due to the safety, health and cleanness problem. Therefore, I spoke to the manager on duty and never checked-in due to the circumstances of the hazardous elevator, stairs and walkways that were closed off. Upon seeing the room, I found that the bathroom was not clean and the bedding and carpet held unhealthy concerns for overnight stays. This hotel needs to be inspected by the City for health and safety purposes.

Room tip: This hotel was booked on-line and upon arrival and seeing the hotel, it was obvious that it is not a place to stay due to the safety, health and cleanness problem. Therefore, I spoke to the manager on duty and never checked-in due to the circumstances of the hazardous elevator, stairs and walkways that were closed off. Upon seeing the room, I found that the bathroom was not clean and the bedding and carpet held unhealthy concerns for overnight stays. This hotel needs to be inspected by the City for health and safety purposes.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Here are the facts concerning this negative review: A male guest made the reservation online and checked into the Inn on July 16, 2014. Guest registered and paid bill with his Master card and was issued 2 keys to his full ocean view room with one king bed with a private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. He then left our office. The guest was in one of our 3 rooms with private balconies and this specific room is our most requested room. Approximately 30-45 minutes later the guest informed the front desk that they felt "claustrophobic" in room. Our front desk agent offered to move them to another larger room but this was declined. Our front desk agent informed the guest that we would need to resell their room nights since we were extremely busy and only had a couple of rooms in the premium ocean view king bed category available. They requested to leave and not stay or move and have us call them if and when we resold their 2 rooms nights. We put their 2 room nights back into our online inventory and attempted to resell. We did not resell their rooms nights since this was last minute availability that was not resold due to market conditions at the time. 2 months later the guest filed a credit card dispute requesting credit and we were charged back on September 12, 2014 for both nights. We responded to the charge back notice on September 19, 2014 and informed the credit card processor that we would mitigate the situation and issue a credit for the second night not resold but the first night was guaranteed. The processor reversed the charge back in full on September 29, 2014 for both nights and stated that the case is being sent back to the issuing bank for further investigation.

When the guest was informed about all of the above notifications and reversal of the charge back he became upset and on October 6, 2014 did the negative review. All of the guests comments concerning that the Inn is not safe, is not clean with health concerns is simply false. Our elevator is not hazardous and is inspected yearly by the State of CA. If walkways or stairs were closed off they were for maintenance reasons and are usually opened back up by the end of the day. Comments about unhealthy bedding, carpet and bathroom conditions are simply not true and all of the above guest comments were never mentioned to us when they told us the room was too small. Based on these series of events I will be responding to Trip Advisor to have this review removed due to review statements that are false, incorrect and fraudulent in nature. We have been operating this family owned and operated Inn for over 38 years with many satisfied new and returning guests enjoying our pristine Oceanfront "East Beach" Santa Barbara Beach location. Our goal is to always make each and every guests' Santa Barbara experience as enjoyable and memorable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2014

Across from the beach where there are plenty of benches to sit and watch the waves roll in. Hotel is older but well maintained; pool was well maintained and clean; continental breakfast in lounge was typical with a good variety and breakfast lounge was kept very clean. Room was very clean. No air conditioning was disappointing but many other places we stayed on the California coast had no air conditioning as well, which was a surprise to Southern Ontario travellers. Overall value for the money is great.

Room tip: Rated service as 3 due to lack of air conditioning. Room 226 is designated as a King No View but it is on ground floor and has a fabulous view of the ocean, but no little bistro set outside the room to sit at. However, we paid a lot less than ocean view rooms and still got the view. We toured all day anyway.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and comments. We appreciate your comments about your room cleanliness and will pass this on to our housekeeping staff and also your comment about no air conditioning. There are a few days in the year when it can get warmer than normal and is why we supply fans for cooling especially when the cool ocean air breeze comes off the ocean later in the day and into the night. We do our best to cool unoccupied rooms off at night by blowing the cool air into the room so the room is as comfortable as possibly when guests arrive. We have many interior room renovation plans with the addition of a single unit for both heat and air conditioning in the near future. In summary we do believe we offer a good value for oceanfront accommodations along Santa Barbara's beautiful "East Beach" as compared to the larger adjacent hotels in the surrounding area. In general for most of the year the air conditioning issue rarely comes up and if it does we do our best to accommodate the guest by either moving them or re-selling their room if they do not want to occupy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2014

They motel was great older but nice. Rooms older but clean and very comfortable beds. Very quiet and we really enjoyed are stay . The one thing I wish they did have was Air conditioning in the rooms. It was a little stuffy if you didn't keep fan running. But all and all I would stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greaaaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and kind comments. Yes there are a handful of days when abnormal temps show up and it can get warm in the 77-85 degree range along the beachfront and even warmer inland. Our normal average temps in the summer and fall months range from about 69-75 degrees with nights much cooler as we get the breeze off the ocean at night. We provide fans for cooling for these types of abnormal temps. We have interior renovation plans which will include replacing our existing heaters with a unit that is both heat and air conditioning and will require substantial electrical re-runs and exterior building openings. We will do this project along with a complete room renovation including the bathrooms in the near future. Our oceanfront location and close proximity to downtown State Street coupled with our moderate rates continues to give our guest a great value for oceanfront accommodations. Even when we complete our renovation projects we will still be considered as the Los Angeles Times has stated in their Sunday Travel Section in the past "The lowest rates you will find along Santa Barbara's pristine beachfront". We are pleased you will be a returning guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews