We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls' weekend trip to Santa Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This hotel was perfect, very close to the beach and the breakfast was exactly what we were looking for - fresh coffee, juice and make your own waffles. State Street is a very short walk away and we rented bicycles our first day in town. Samantha was very knowledgeable about whatever we were looking for, whether it was a sandwhich shop or a restaurant. We had a great time and would definitely stay here again. We had four ladies in the 2-queen bed room and it was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here on our final night in the US after a three-week road trip. Santa Barbara was the perfect place to end a fantastic holiday - it's such a chilled out town with lots of lively bars and restaurants. The hotel itself was a convenient 5-minute walk from the beach, and perhaps a 20-minute walk from downtown. The room was adequate, but of the 12 hotels we stayed in on the trip, was the smallest – this despite it being at the upper end of the price scale. The receptionist was also the most unfriendly we encountered on our journey. Upon checking in we found the door to our room open and the TV on, which was a little unusual, while there were soiled towels on the table. However, the pool area was large and the hot tub was fun, and the very early check-out was appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidjones533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel is located very close to Santa Barbara beach and all other amenities. I found the lady on the reception desk to be a little on the unfriendly side which wasn't the best start to our stay. Room was clean and an ok size. The hotel has wifi but I couldn't connect to it at all for the 2 days I stayed there. Breakfast was a bit of a crowded affair, lots of people and not enough tables, on day 2 we had no choice other than take our breakfast back to our room. Overall we were happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holmakerrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed here for one night on our trip down the coast. The hotel is located in an ideal location for what we wanted to do. We were able to walk down toward the beach within minutes. Santa Barbara is absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed just walking around and taking in the beach atmosphere.
The hotel is a little dated, but clean and well kept. We enjoyed a quick swim in the pool after a day of walking.
I would stay in the hotel again if ever in Santa Barbara. It's location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hjk131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel was one of our stop over points on a drive down the Pacific Coast Highway in September 2011. My wife & I really enjoyed Santa Barbara and the Avania Inn was fine for us as an overnight stop. The room was plenty big enough and very clean.The location is not too bad with the only slight downside being that State Street is 10-15 mins walk away. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TR_Travel_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed here with friends during my trip to California in September 2011. I found it to be more than adequate for our needs with a reasonably sized, clean room and welcoming staff. The complimentary breakfast is also very nice (especially the waffles!) and the hotel itself is situated in a very convenient location, both when arriving in Santa Barbara and also whilst staying in the town, as the US101, beach and State Street are all no more than 10 minutes walk. If I returned, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galbers1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

In Santa Barbara for Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. Rooms were spacious and clean, beds very comfortable. Great balcony, pool and jacuzzi. 1 1/2 block from the beach and across from a park. Samantha gave us great service and discount cards to several restaurants. Will gladly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 km away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#28 of 52 in Santa Barbara
405 reviews
2.6 km away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
899 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,020 reviews
0.1 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
797 reviews
6 km away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3810 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $160 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing