We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific View, great service, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Berlin, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific View, great service, perfect location”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We checked in for a Girls Weekend trip and found many others just like us had come to get away from the guys! The front desk was beyond good and upgraded us and gave us a cot to make sure the three of us were comfortable. Close to the famed State Street where shopping is mecca we found lovely little cafes along the promonade as well as fabulous stores. This hotel was ideally suited for exercise as it was right across from the Pacific Ocean. While it wasn't beach weather we actually had rain we took a wine tour that picked us up at the hotel into the Santa Inez Valley and had a great day of wine tasting and picnic lunch as well. All in all this was a great weekend and only about a 2 hour drive from LA.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    1,009
    654
    322
    142
See reviews for
1,073
1,109
93
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
So. Calif.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Having never stayed at Fess Parker Double Tree, yet have visited SB many times, the hotel is very hard to find off East Cabrillo Street. The Hotel has no signage on Cabrillo, and looks like an office complex from the road. The outside appearance and quality is very nice, yet the rooms are extremely old and in need of a major overhaul. I am a Hilton Honors Gold member and was upgraded to a nicer room, yet for what I paid, was extremely disappointed in the common area hallways (smelled of urine very bad) and my room decor and condition was poor at best. I will not stay at this hotel again unless the rooms are upgraded.

Room Tip: My room was 377. Next to the stairwell where you must exit to get to your car. the urine smell was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indexbtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Augustine
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

First the pluses - we stayed for three nights in late March in an oceanfront room. The views are fantastic as they were on our prior visit. The common areas in this hotel are gorgeous. The breakfast, free as we are gold members, was good and in a lovely venue. Free water and cookies is also a plus. The beds are comfy and plenty of pillows.

Minuses - we stayed in the Fuchsia building, which had an awful smell in the hallway as well as in the rooms. The smell was very musty. The rooms are tired with damage to doors as well as peeling wallpaper. The minibar was empty. No robes in the room although they were provided upon request.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront room on the second floor so you have more privacy on your balcony. Be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceWSt_Augustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have stayed at this lovely location for many years. I returned last month with my family, and found it to be just as beautiful and peaceful as ever. It is .07 miles from the Amtrac Station, so we took a relaxing train ride from Fullerton, and walked to the hotel. Watching the sunset at the outdoor "bar" with its dancing fire pits was delightful. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. I always requst an ocean view room, but the garden rooms are nice as well. A pool/jacuzzi and spa are all available, or if you are more adventurous, there are many, many things to see and activities to enjoy in the immediate area (The Santa Barbara Mission, bike and surrey rentals, the beach, etc). Food and shopping are within walking distance; at the pier, the harbor and on State Street. A great, short walk down the beach to the south brings you to the Santa Barbara Bath House...a great place for an inexpensive beach front breakfast or lunch. (A shuttle to the Stare Street area is also available for those "non-walkers"). The food in the resturants is top quality, and staff members go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome......and did I mention you are treated to hot chocolate chip cookies upon your arrival, and again as you depart for your trip home!

Room Tip: The Ocean View "cottages" are my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandiBrea_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We just came back from a 2-night stay, and it was very nice. We were given bottled water and warm cookies upon check-in -- nice touch.

Our room was a good size, and it has a balcony with an ocean view. Linens were great, but the decor needs to be updated - carpet is old, and walls are paper thin. Rooms are dark, even with the double glass door. The in-room Wolfgang Puck coffee maker is nice and convenient, and it makes a really hot cup of joe.

The pool is nice, but probably not big enough for a resort this size in the summer. There are several eating places, but we only ate at the breakfast place and the lounge. Both were quite good. The breakfast buffet on Sundays has an omelette station, which is nice. They give free continental breakfast vouchers for Hilton gold members, but for a few extra bucks, you get the hot buffet, which is what we did.

The resort has bicycle rental onsite, so it's convenient. It is not in the heart of town, so if you want to be in the middle of everything, this is not it, but it is close enough.

Overall, it is a nice resort, and we will probably come back.

Room Tip: Avoid the bar area if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is a paradise all around. From the wonderful views of the ocean, beaches, and mountains to the lush landscaping. The pool area is very nice and roomy, the options abound. It is a great place to start your day from and there is lots to do a short walk away. Santa Barbara is a paradise in California. The staff makes sure that your stay is a pleasant and memorable one. Highly recommended. It may cost a little more but every dollar is money well spent.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room available. Mountain or beach views are best, but a garden or pool view is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100mileride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

Large resort with great staff and service but the size of the resort and grounds is really designed for a longer stay than what our family was planning.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank doug s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
2.4 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,050 reviews
0.8 km away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,403 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
138 reviews
2.1 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
3.4 km away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing